We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - no complaints at all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Florida Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Florida Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Florida Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ferreira Viana 81 | Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210040, Brazil (Botafogo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - no complaints at all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We reached at 9 am and they tried to accommodate an early check-in which they did around 11 am. It turned out okay since we spent the time having their breakfast buffet. The buffet has a lot of variety, but the selections remained the same for the 4 days that I stayed there. We had the triple-bed room so it was spacious with a clean bathroom. The front desk was helpful too and they always had at least one person who could speak English. Grocery stores, restaurants and banks are within 1-2 mins walk.

This hotel is just 5 mins walk from Largo do Machado station which is a huge advantage since you can catch a van to Corcovado from outside the station. The van takes you directly to the top and is very convenient. The hotel terrace has a view of the Christ statue so it's a good check point to see if there is any cloud cover before heading to Corcovado.

Since we traveled only by taxi, here are the taxi fares (one-way) in Dec. 2013 from the hotel to various attractions:
To Ipanema beach: 27 reals
To Copacabana beach: 18 reals
To Leblon beach: 32 reals
To Centro: 17 reals
To Sugarloaf: 15 reals

Hope you enjoy Rio.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulo p, Gerente geral at Windsor Florida Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Dukkar D,

Thank you very much for choosen the Windsor Flórida Hotel during your stay in our city and also for taking your time to post your reviews about our structure and services.
We are very glad to see that you had a pleasant stay here and we look forward to have you back as our guest again as soon as possible.
Merry Christmas and a happy 2014!!


Best regards,

José Luís Pilar
General Manager in Charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    231
    61
    12
    2
See reviews for
77
68
15
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Arrived on long flight at about 7.30am and asked for early checkin. Told that we could checkin but must pay otherwise had to wait till 2pm to checkin.After checkin we read service directory in room which stated that subject to availability we could checkin earlier.When we raised with front desk we were told told to show directory.We then took matter up with manager who said directory was not updated and in any case did not say that we could checkin earlier free.
Ended up with us paying twice for our checkin on 12th Oct ! Suffice to say we felt cheated.
We were told that we would be given a bigger room with jaccuzi but instead given a standard room.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I've spent just one night at the hotel with my two daughters but wish we had had more time to enjoy it. The triple room was very comfortable and spacious although basic furnished. The rooftop pool was a delight to the girls who spent hours enjoying the sunny winter afternoon. The staff was warm and competent, they sent me sewing supplies and extra towels within minutes of my request and got us an "very" early check in. The restaurant was very good, with a "all you can eat" buffet for lunch, unfortunately a little pricey, especially if you are with kids who don't eat very much. The included breakfast was filled with a wide range of tasty food. The subway station is only a 5 minutes walk away and it was very easy to hail a cab anytime.
I am looking forward to another opportunity to stay longer at Windsor Florida.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Clean, comfortable and basic room. There is construction but I didn't notice until the last day. Front desk staff were helpful with good English. Breakfast was same, same but fruit options are really nice. Top floor with small pool and basic fitness center, and patios has nice views and was relaxing place to have a beer. Internet is included and while not blazing fast, it was adequate. Very close to Metro with easy access to some of the tourist destinations, although hotel is not located in tourist area.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our trip for World Youth Day. The staff was professional despite rudeness of our group. The room was clean, and the bathrooms had walk-in showers covered in granite. The roof-top bar with views of Rio at night was great. Meals in the hotel restaurant were equivalent or better to food you get at buffet restaurants in Rio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

You wouldn't know you were in Brazil and it has a very corporate atmosphere but the upside is that you get great service, English spoken on reception, helpful bell staff etc.
Even though we arrived early, they managed to get us a room within half an hour.
The rooftop views and swimming pool are a bonus.
Breakfast was very loud and busy - but great food. As ever, plenty of fresh tropical fruit and fresh fruit juice.
The sound insulation between bedrooms was not enough to keep out the noise of the very loud family next door at 8.30am.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo,Brazil
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was in Rio for the final match of Copa das Confederações, so I stayed at Windsor Florida for 02 nights. Everything went really smooth with check-in.
Rooms were clean and spacious for 02 people, nice shower, hairdryer, in-room safe and confy good-sized bed!
Breakfast was terrific with lots of options, from fruits to pastries and all sorts of bread. Service was pretty good at the restaurant as well.
Location is nice. Not perfect like Copacabana, but it is an amazing cost/benefit relation as you pay much less and have a subway station only 02 minutes away.
Since the hotel has been recently renovated, you will notice how new everything is. From the floor to the sheets, towels, etc.
I recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Florida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Florida Hotel

Address: Rua Ferreira Viana 81 | Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Florida Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Florida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Florida
Windsor Florida Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Florida Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.