We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Hotel at a Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Praia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copacabana Praia Hotel to your Saves list
Copacabana Praia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Francisco Otaviano 30 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080040, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tired Hotel at a Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The first impression was not impressive. The hotel lobby can do much better with the space by replacing those very cheap 3rd hand looking furniture, and a bit of green plants. The check in guy (an elder guy with grey hair who spoke no English) was not welcoming at all.

The room was ok. It was overlooking some sky and ocean with a small balcony. Bathroom very old style. Beds were the most decent bit. We stayed there for 4 nights and from the 3rd night there was a crockroach hanging around the bathroom.

The best part of the hotel was a guy named Alex at the front desk. His is middle aged and speaks good English and very helpful. They should get more good staff like him!

The location is excellent. It's about 50 meters from the Airport Shuttle stop (from the domestic airport) and it's right between Ipanema and Copacabana. There are some popular bars down the road and you can walk to supermarkets, restaurants and shops easily and safely.

I wanted to move to Atlantis Copacabana which was 3 minutes around the corner but they were full and I could tell why. The lobby was much newer and more pleasant looking and the reception was cheerful and spoke good English. Obviously it's a much better valued option!

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor above 10/F will get some ocean view if it's facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    67
    58
    19
    15
See reviews for
26
69
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

the hotel excellent, staff very polite, location best in rio near a lovely beach, rooms outstanding, the owner is a wonderfull man he showed me the new floor its all made of white marmol beautiful he even took me to a ride in his bote i realy recomend it

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Staff tries to help but the owner is so greedy that you would get nowhere if you stay there.
To avoid absolutely. NOT HELPFULL; NOT NICE, YOU ARE NOT WELCOME HERE.
I was there and got sick and no one would call me a doctor. Then you would not accept to give a late check out even if you are thrwoing up at reception, they kick you out of the place.
I ordered a room service, they agreed. 1 hour after as nothing came up they realised that there was no room service available!!!!!!!! So, here I am, sick in my room, starving!!!! But if you are ready to overpay for anything, ask the owner!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

First of all, I want to say that all of the staff at the hotel were very nice except the older gentleman, I think his name was Mr. Martin. Martin may be his first name...Checked in about 6:30pm...paid for a Superior Room...was given room 305 by Mr. Marin...Mr Martin said there were no other rooms higher up when asked...Now it gets very interesting...

Bell Guy about 23 years old helped us to the room, we were very disappointed as it looked 70 years old and looked dirty...we said we wanted to check out another room please...he said wait a minute and came back with 2 keys for room on the fifth floor...We were going to settle for one of those rooms when the Bell Guy once again to wait a minute...he gets us a room on the 8th floor...we tipped him..but if it weren't for him we would be stuck in room 305 without a view and without the nice bathroom..

Ask for a room above the 6th floor to get a water view...not a head on view but both beaches can be seen from your balcony if you get one...Breakfast was very good...one wait staff guy couldn't stop smiling...

Overall I would stay again but would have to find a way to see all rooms available at check in...803 was really good for us...higher would have been even better...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Copacabana Praia for five nights over NYE (Reveillion) 2008. We were hesitant to book it, as it had no English reviews on tripadvisor, but they had available rooms and while it was expensive, they were not charging a fortune (US$250 per night). That was back in April, and yet I find this hotel still has no english reviews.

We were very happy with the Praia. Its location is excellent - a two minute walk to the sands of southern Copacabana, and a five minute walk to Ipanema. It is also a street which all taxi drivers know.

The hotel foyer is relatively small and somewhat dated, reminiscent of 1980s style. At check-in, the receptionist was nice, but the porter was extremely helpful and spoke quite good English. When we arrived at our room and found it had twin beds, we asked if it was possible to move to one with a Queen - the hotel was booked solid, so it was not, but he immediately got the maid to push the beds together and remake them. In general, the staff are helpful and trustworthy.

Our room (#310) had an outlook into an open lightwell, and no street view, which was somewhat disappointing. Though it was good because of the quietness. The bed was comfortable, and so were the pillows. The air conditioner was very effective. There is a small minibar in the room. The bathroom had just been remodeled and was clean - though they chose style over substance and the basin was ludicrously shallow. The shower provided hot water most of the time, though was erratic. Cleaners always seemed to clean our room when we first went out that day, even though we kept irregular hours and were not always out for long, which was excellent. In general the room was clean, though we had a few ants from time to time.

Eating breakfast on one of the days was an experience - there were no free tables, coffee pots were dry, no clean plates, bowls, cups or cutlery. Staff were worked off their feet trying to deal with a full hotel on NYE. Otherwise, breakfast was good, and the fresh mango every day is excellent. When we were there the pool reopened from a remodel, which is on the rooftop. It has nice views and a sundeck, though the pool itself is very small. The hotel also provides free wireless internet.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel for budget travellers to Rio. The rooms are nothing special, though they are relatively spacious and comfortable, and the location is very good. It is an excellent choice for those coming to Rio for New Years Eve.

  • Liked — The location in between Copacabana and Impanema
  • Disliked — The lack of view from our room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copacabana Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Praia Hotel

Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano 30 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Praia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copacabana Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Praia Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Praia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.