We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Copa Sul Nasty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Copa Sul Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copa Sul Hotel to your Saves list
Copa Sul Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. N. S. Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-010, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
North Richland Hills, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Copa Sul Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

275 day a year travel pro. Booked into this dump by a group coordinator. Sold out city so I had to stay. Only rooms left were on the street side and the trash trucks with guys with whistles at 3am was just the beginning. Loud traffic noise. Street is filthy and stinks. Room was dirty, bed was broken down to the point I put the mattress on the floor because the box springs resembled a hammock. Was charged to use the hotel safe, 22 years on the road, never happened before. A/c was a moldy window unit that would not keep the room below 78. Asked multiple times for a different room and was told they had none. Asked for a different bed, got same answer. One person in our group was at the Ipanema Plaza hotel and had to go home early. I took the room for only a few dollars more than this hazard. I checked out and then they suddenly had a room away from the street with a new bed they wanted to show me...PASS! The only saving grace was the Eclipse 24 hour restaurant a block away that has good food. The front desk staff must get an earful regularly because the could care less about customers.....DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Go to the Ipanema Plaza Hotel off The beach 2 blocks. Nice area, restaurants, not as noisy. Big roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    187
    112
    21
    6
See reviews for
72
141
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anna Bay, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The only redemption that saves this place for a zero rating is the decent breakfast it served.
We were there early and check- in were not till 2pm. Staff was extremely slow and would not budge to help to provide a room for a quick shower or change. So we sat around till our number was called.
Our request was for a double bed, ended up with two single beds pushed together.
The air-conditioner was so loud it was hard to sleep. If you opened the windows you will hear the noises of the other air conditioners working hard.
The bathroom lacked ventilation; the wooden toilet door was damaged and the towels were treading- bare grey.
Communication with housekeeping ended up with my clothes being ironed, when all I wanted was an iron to do the chore myself.

Room Tip: Demand a room with a working quiet air-conditioner .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

At US$ 200 per night one would expect nice and sanitary rooms, but this was unfortunately not the case. The air-conditioner was so loud it was hard to sleep, but it could be unplugged in the wall. The bathroom lacked proper ventilation; especially the wooden toilet door was damaged probably due to many years of moist without sufficient ventilation. Otherwise the room was neat and tidy, although everything looked old and somewhat outdated. The lobby and breakfast was great, much like an expensive 4-stars hotel, but the standard rooms looked like a rather cheap 2-stars hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

All hotels in Rio are terrible expensive, we stayed at Copa Sul on October 2012, our room was the 1604 so we didn't have any problems at all with noise and we even got a little bit of ocean view. The room was recently refurbished, the TV, the Beds, the furniture and the decoration were completelly new and although they were nice if you look them as a group something didn't match. The Front Desk service was poor and apparently they were all the time in a bad mood. Don't trust the Bell Boys, they would give high prices for tours and rides and will try to locate you with their partner taxis. Breakfast was ok, nothing spectacular. Location is excellent, couldn't be better.

Room Tip: As high as possible. Not facing to the front street. Try to get a room in the 16th floor and you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

There is ONE positive aspect - location is very good (one block from Copacabana Beach and 5 minutes walking to Ipanema).
Apart from that, value is not good. Rio hotels are all expensive for what they offer, but Copa Sul is really not worth it. Service in general and check-in are slow, the room decoration is very spartan and tacky (looks like a cheap motel), beds are too soft, no extra pillows, AC is very noisy and has no control options (you have to plug it off if you don't want it), bathroom has a good shower, but the sink's fawcet is terrible. Breakfast has some variety, but poor quality ingredients and fruits. Noise, mentioned in other reviews, was not a problem as we were on the 13th floor.
Overall I believe you can do better elsewhere, across the street in Portinari Design Hotel or Copacabana Rio Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor as street noise can be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Aussie
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

In my dimly lit room my pillow looked grey. Stains from under the case were showing through I called housekeeping 5 times. I got 5 dirty pillows which I took to reception as they thought I was being difficult and asked them if they would like to travel to Australia and sleep on a pillow like the ones I had been provided. They were germ infected and a health hazard. I was told they had no more till I mentioned trip advisor!!!!!!! Need I say any more I was then given two purest white clean pillows!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

One street from the beach and near the shops this hotel has a good position. We had a problem sleeping because of the noice of the traffic. The rooms are not big. The service was good and everybody can speak english.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copa Sul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copa Sul Hotel

Address: Av. N. S. Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Copa Sul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copa Sul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Copa Sul
Copa Sul Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copa Sul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.