We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Olinda Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Olinda Rio Hotel to your Saves list
Olinda Rio Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Atlantica, 2230, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil (Formerly Olinda Othon Classic) (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

Apart fron the location, this hotel is awfull. The carpet in all the rooms is dirty, the a/c does not work and the outside windows probably date from the 20's. To continue, the staff doesn't speak any language except potughese is mostly unhelpfull and lacks any training whatsoever. All this for nearly 300 euros/ night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    228
    71
    27
    8
See reviews for
108
146
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Rupert, BC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The Olinda Rio Hotel is an old hotel right on Copacabana Beach. We stayed two nights and loved being in the centre of the action. The hotel is a little tired and needs some TLC, but the $255 per night was cheap compared to lots of the other hotels on this stretch of beach. Hopefully the new owners will do something about the restaurant, which is used to serve the included continental breakfast, but lacks any imagination, culinary skill - or when we were thre customers. They had only one menu. Good thing my husband and I were the only people in the restaurant all three times we ate there. The people at the desk spoke English but the bar and restaurant staff were strickly Portugese speaking which was a challenge for us.

Room Tip: If you don't have an ocean view don't bother staying here. That's the only great thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012 via mobile

The very friendly staff and good breakfast spread make this place. The rooms were comfortable, although very plain with a rather dated decor and old. Great location, close to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

I just got back from a 4 days stay at the hotel and thought I should review it, since I choose to stay there thanks to other people who did the same. Olinda is placed at the heart of Copacabana, right in front of the beach, just some blocks away from Copacabana Palace. I was lucky enough to get a room with a sea view and it was amazing. On the other hand, you are facing Av. Atlântica, so have in mind that you are going to hear traffic and music coming from the street. I was concerned about it at first, but I wasn't bothered not even once.
The hotel is in great shape, clean and holds some of the 1940's splendor. My room was big, bright and had a wonderful and huge bed. Breakfast was very, very good, with lots of options of fruit, bread, jam, cereals, etc. I loved it, because you could have a great meal that could hold you until late afternoon - so you cold spend more time at the beach or sightseeing withut having to bother to stop for a snack.
Room service was also very good and fast and the staff was always kind and friendly. I highly reccomend and will surley be coming back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Having read some of the recent reviews of this hotel prior to my trip, I was a bit concerned as to what I might discover upon my arrival. But, since my room was prepaid via the internet, I was stuck with whatever that may be.

The front desk staff was efficient at check in. The spoke a bit of English. I spoke a bit of Portugese. The process was flawless.

For a very reasonable rate, I was given a front beach room on the noisy Avenida Atlantica, Rio is a noisy place. But, each night, things quieted down so that one could sleep adequately. If you have an expectation that Rio is a quiet place, you need to adjust that expectation.

This is, as others have noted, a "classic" hotel meaning that it is older and less modern than others you may find in Rio, To me. classic means architecturally interesting while comfortable. The Olinda Rio certainly met those expectations.

When one steps in the lobby, one is harkened back to what Rio must have been like in the 1940s and 1950s- a spacious lobby with well designed comfortable, classic furniture where the weary beachcomber might relax with a nice drink from the beautiful antique bar, served by well mannered lobby waiters each afternoon. The lobby has the modern amenity of wifi, As others have noted, the rooms do not though they all have internet access via a hard line. Wifi in the guest rooms is certainly one improvement that could be made at a minimal cost to hotel management.

My room was a spacious king- classic and comfortable- none of those two single beds pushed together kings like you find in many Brazilian hotels- but a real king bed instead. The furnishings in my room were a bit worn. But, the room was still quite comfortable. There was, as others have noted, still some signs of mildew on the room's window curtains. But, it appeared to have been a past issue that had been treated. There was no odor in my room.

The bath was a beautiful classic tiled bath with a full tub, shower, commode and bidet,

Housekeeping was efficient and friendly though it operated on the Brazilian standard of timeliness with my room being cleaned late each day.

I found the staff quite accomodating and helpful. Everyone of them had a big smile and seemed eager to make my stay a good one.

I would certainly stay here again when in Rio.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I had stayed at this hotel when it was the Olinda Othon hotel, in October 2011 it was sold and it is now under new name, Olinda Rio Hotel. The hotel is terrible, I stayed here in early December 2011. My room had a te rrible smell of urine, it had mold and mildew growing on the walls (black mold). The internet is free but it does not work unless you are at the lobby. The staff is horrible, the hotel has a great location but you are better off staying at the Orla Copacabana (at comparable price). This really is a shame, too bad Othon is no longer running it. The breakfast was singularly terrible. I have never written a trip advisor review before but this was such a terrible stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Holland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

First, please note that this hotel has been renamed Olinda Rio Hotel. It seems management is aware of its flaws given their reactions on previous reviews and are working to solve it. The biggest issue really is the outside noise but staff tell me that a replacement program for the windows is on its way. We were in a deluxe room which means more space, a bigger (very comfortable) bed and beach views. Location is great in middle of Copacabana beach. The bathroom is a bit old-style just like the rest of the hotel, but I actually like that it is trying to keep its own charm rather than looking just like any other American chain hotel. Shower and amenities were good though. My tip would be to introduce an environment program for the towels, which are now unnecessarily replaced on a daily basis. Breakfast is decent (to hotel: please make sure to boil your hot water for the tea + perhaps you could introduce a bread toaster so not to be dependent on your busy staff). Wireless in the lobby was quick and free. Lobby service could also be improved, I could only find a restaurant card, nothing on drinks/snacks. I ended up ordering a tea but it came in a miniscule teapot serving one cup only rather than 2 and it was almost cold (see my earlier tip). Staff was generally nice, although some of the receptionists seem to think that to be professional is to be stern and serious (and their black suits with a tie isnt helping that). Door staff were really nice though.

If you're looking for a place to buy water go right out the door and right again in the first street and you will find several super markets. During the day we felt very safe outside and even used the metro further down the street to go to Centro and the bus another day to Corcovado (nr 583). Of course we had dressed down and had no jewellery or other fancy items on us.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Olinda Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olinda Rio Hotel

Address: Av. Atlantica, 2230, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil (Formerly Olinda Othon Classic)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#42 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olinda Rio Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most privileged location with a wonderful view of all Copacabana beach because it is at the beach. The Olinda Rio Hotel is housed in a noble building with classic architectural style built in 1949 on which retains the charm and glamor of that era. Guests of Olinda Rio Hotel can enjoy the Brazilian or French cuisine at Venezia Restaurant in a European setting, with Italian marble floors, crystal chandeliers, a cozy wooden bar with crystals and stunning ocean views. Luxury apartments, Luxury Executive Suite with Balcony and the Olinda Rio Hotel have panoramic views of the beach. All accommodations have soft colors with wooden furniture. All apartments have air conditioning, cable TV, minibar, electronic safe, minibar and free internet wi-fi. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast quality with varieties of breads, croissants, fruit, cakes, meats, juices, dairy products, cereals, still having the option to request personal service. The closest hotel is the metro station Siqueira Campos, besides the availability of several bus lines to various parts of the city. The hotel is approximately 23 km far from Galeao airport for international flights, domestic flights 12km from Santos Dumont Airport and 14 km from the Novo Rio Bus In Olinda Rio Hotel guest finds the speed, total discretion in customer service and a service room spotless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Olinda Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olinda Othon Classic Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olinda Rio Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.