We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive hotel with no pool, fitness room and free wi-fi.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Leme Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Leme Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Leme Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Atlantica, 656, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-000, Brazil (Leme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expensive hotel with no pool, fitness room and free wi-fi.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed for a week last november. Despite paying for at least a partial sea view, we had a standard room with no sea view at all and a lot of street noise. The air conditioner was old and very noisy, we stayed all the time and sleeped with windows open. Luckily, the weather was not so hot!
In our room, the wardrobe has no drawers, only a single shelf, making difficult to keep T-shirts.
The breakfast was nice, a lot of fruits, breads and hot options.
But the hotel has no pool at all and, for exercise yourself, you must cross the street, cause the fitness academy is on the neighborhood, not in the hotel.
Also, the housekeeping was terrible, no one came to clean if you don't request!
The shower box has no door, only a plastic curtain and, obviously, all the bathroom floor was wet after taking a bath.
Finally, nowadays is preposterous not having free wi-fi at rooms, or at least downstairs. They charge you a lot!
Be carefull when you are making check-in or check-out, sometimes it takes a lot!

Room Tip: Rooms with no sea view are very noisy! Ask for a quiet A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    184
    73
    21
    10
See reviews for
100
98
15
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

In the two nights I recently spent at this hotel I was impressed. All the staff are very helpful throughout your stay.
Rooms are clean and roomy with plenty of space to spread out. Bathroom / shower also very clean.
Free wifi in the lobby area. Perhaps this should be extended to all the rooms in this day and age??
Breakfast room quite small for the size of the hotel. But all seems to work well and there wasn't any waiting for a table during my stay. Also a nice point.......it looks out over the sea.

Would I stay again?........absolutely!

Room Tip: Sea view request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is the place I usually stay when I stay in Rio as the city is very noisy and this is probably the only quiet place in Rio. Marcus at the reception speaks French an is very kind. I always feel welcomed in this hotel they are extremely nice and the rooms have been renovated recently. The breakfast is one of the best we had in Brazil. The proximity of the beach is great too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerencialeme, Gerente at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

Denise Reinoso
( General Manager )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Aside from being beach front, this is a very very ugly, dirty, old, moldy hotel.
The rooms cost a fortune and are very small with a horrendouse bed and the bathroom is smelly and old.
They rate themselves a 4 star but much more like a 2 star. Avoid this place.. Rio has much better options for the same money..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerencialeme, Gerente at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

I would like in the first instance to convey our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences and disappointment that you have encountered during your last stay at our Hotel.

It is only through comments from customers like you, that we realize we were not able to exceed your expectations.

We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity of changing the less positive impression with which you have left our Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rio de Janeiro in the near future.


Best regards

Denise Reinoso
( General Manager )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Nice hotel with large rooms right on the beach front at the quieter Leme end of Copacabana.
Good breakfast. Found the price quite high for at seaview room. High service level. poor Wifi inside the room had to sit at the floor at the door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here while on a business trip to Rio de Janeiro, and I agree with the other reviews that it is a very good hotel, located at the far end of Copacabana beach. While the hotel is not exactly beach front -- you do have to cross a busy street to get to the beach -- the beach is only a few yards away. Car traffic/beach noise is very noticeable, so if you're thinking of a getting a nice quiet room with a beach front view, stay somewhere else. A very good breakfast buffet was included in the price of the room. If you stay here, be prepared for long walks along the beach, or to take a taxi, to explore Rio, or to get to Ipanema beach (and see Sugar Loaf). Do ask for a room with a beachfront view, and request an uncarpeted room. The room I had was carpeted, and the carpet had acquired a musty smell due the proximity of moist sea air that never allows anything to dry out. Since I was only there for 2 nights, and was out of the room quite a bit, the smell didn't put me off very much. Plus, the ocean view was spectacular. Do sign up for the frequent visitor plan, it's free to join, and one of the perks you get is free daily WiFi. If you don't join, you'll be charged 15 Reales/day for internet use in your room (the Lobby area has free Internet access).

Room Tip: Request an uncarpeted room, with a beachfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It's all about the location, right on the Leme Beach. Lavanderias, restaurants, supermarkets, and pharmacys were all within walking distance. The rooms were clean, with a nice high pressure shower. There were tiny ants in our room on the first night, however we found this at every place we stayed at in Brazil. The staff was very quick to respond and even left behind a can of bug spray and after that, we had no further problems. The staff was very friendly, responsive and full of suggestions.

There was a good selection at breakfast, however something there didn't agree with my stomach - no one else in my party had this problem, so maybe it was just my system. Overall, it was a good 3* hotel by US standards. Not exactly worth it's 5* price tag, but by Brazil standards, it was overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerencialeme, Gerente geral at Windsor Leme Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for choosing Leme Othon Palace during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, and for sharing your views about our facilities in the web Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that our products and services met your expectations. Certainly that your words are very important to us, we truly hope to welcome you during your next stay in the city.

Best regards.

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Leme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Leme Hotel

Address: Av. Atlantica, 656, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#31 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#57 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Leme Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Leme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leme Othon Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Othon Palace Leme Hotel
Windsor Leme Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Leme Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.