We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to pay extra for a clean room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of California Othon Classic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added California Othon Classic to your Saves list
California Othon Classic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 2616, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041001, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Had to pay extra for a clean room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Old hotel with a bit of character - Foyer and reception area is nice. Location is excellent on the seafront.
Problem was that when we got to our room it had not been cleaned. Went downstairs and asked for a different room (one that had been cleaned). We were shown another room (again not clean). Another room (not clean). Shown 4 rooms - none were cleaned - dirt and hairs in bathroom and rooms.
Understand that the rooms were old and furniture etc. not in great condition but at least you expect the rooms to be cleaned.
Finally we were shown a room that had been cleaned. It was on the seafront and was also a better quality room, still old, cracked tiles, damaged furniture etc. but clean!!! They would not let us have the room unless we paid an extra Rs300. for the room.

I asked for a room that had been cleaned like this one but was not any more expensive. "We don't have any".

Unfortunately we had paid in advance so were in no position to negotiate. We had to pay extra for a clean room!!

I am a non-Brazilian but I was travelling with 3 Brazilians. They were pretty disgusted by the attitude. This put a bit of a downer on my trip to Rio.

My advice. Do not pay in advance or do not stay here.

Concierge was the only person who was helpful. The staff behind the desk talked well but were not interested in helping. "I am sorry my manager is not here so I have to charge you extra"

This is a FIFA recommended hotel for next year. I will be writing to them to tell how they ripped us off. I have also contacted my company about Othon and told them of the experience. We have significant presence in Brazil with many staff visiting on business. I have highlighted in our internal review site of my poor experience with Othon hotels and suggested my staff and colleagues use other hotel chains where possible. I don't imagine it will have any significant impact but I felt I had to do something.
Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not pay in advance as you may have to pay extra to get a room that has been cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCali, General Manager at California Othon Classic, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. The experience described is unacceptable, I am deeply sorry that we did not speak personally during your stay. We have investigated thoroughly this incident and have already acted accordingly. Your personal input is very much appreciated, please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you have any further request or information.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    118
    151
    74
    75
See reviews for
144
129
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel room is very old and dirty. The bathroom seems like you are in a motel. The service at the bar is not good as well as the food is not that good. The only good thing is the location, in front of the beach and near bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCali, General Manager at California Othon Classic, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your opinion. Since, according to your profile, you live here in Rio de Janeiro, please com by our hotel so we can speak personally. It would be a pleasure to hear your concerns and better understand what happened.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Any hotel which fronts Copacabana beach is a must. Be sure to book a deluxe sea view room BUT specify a balcony and higher than the 5th floor, or you will see nothing of the sea view only the tree out front. Staff are very helpful, elevators are very slow but the place has real character. The breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful. Just remember to specify that balcony or you will be disappointed. Book this before anywhere else in Rio de Janerio

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCali, General Manager at California Othon Classic, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments and for such helpful tips to our fellow travelers. I have to agree that our hotel has real character, an authentic Copacabana hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

It is a bit like travelling in time as the hotel is old and needs some serious refurbishing. But the location on the ocean front of Copacabana makes it up for the condition of the rooms.
Be careful though as the lower-level rooms view is impeded by the trees along the avenue of Copacabana, but the rooms above them have a really fantastic view.
Otherwise the service is excellent, staff is very diligent, smiling and constantly offering help or advice.
The breakfast is also more than decent.

Room Tip: Choose rooms above level 4 and facing the ocean for the view (even if the room are less quiet as als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCali, General Manager at California Othon Classic, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for posting your comments and valuable tips. Be sure that we will forward your compliments to all our staff.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

As one of the most expensive hotels that we have ever stayed in , we could not beleive how bad it was.From the gloomy depressing foyer, only one lift working for ten floors. The room was musty & looked like it had not been touched since 1930.The bathroom was horrendous, mouldy & disgusting with grey hard towels.The only good thing about this hotel is it's great location, also lovely buffet breakfast which is spoiled by the filthy carpet in the dining room. There are lot's of far nicer hotels in Copacabana.

Room Tip: Move next door to Marriott.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCali, General Manager at California Othon Classic, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that we were unable to fulfill your expectations. Be sure that we have read your comments and are acting accordingly. We were able to identify the room you stayed in and we have already removed it from availability until we understand and correct the issues that caused your complaints. We would like to reaffirm that your experience with our hotel is in direct conflict with everything we work for. We have received great compliments on our staff, cleanliness, breakfast, location and the beauty of our foyer, which contains exclusive pieces of classical furniture perfectly conserved. Our price range is also very competitive within our location.

Please do not hesitate to call us if you have any further issues to discuss.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If the hotel wasn't in the center of Copacabana, my rating will be lower. The old style is nice in the lobby and the breakfast / restaurant room, but not in the rooms, especially in the bathroom, that really needs an update. Anyway, the place is clean and the staff very helpful and the safety is good and reliable (something to be taken into account in Rio, but without hysteria). Clerks will always recommend you to get one of their drivers, much expensive than the current taxis. We took more than 10 current taxis and had no problem at all.
I'd like to mention the help from the staff at the reception. They made everything easy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCali, General Manager at California Othon Classic, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments regarding our services and location. We have, indeed, a very beautiful lobby and restaurant. We work diligently to assure that all our rooms are perfectly clean and comfortable. Our staff will always be available with a personal touch to help you have a perfect stay.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The lobby and staff are wonderful! We stayed here for WYD 2013 and it is literally across the street from the beach. The staff were diligent in protecting their guests during the height of the craziness and were very welcoming. The breakfast was delicious and the kitchen staff diligent in ensuring the food was at the proper temperature. Rooms and elevator left something to be desired, but overall not bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaCali, General Manager at California Othon Classic, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments to our team. We are very happy that you enjoyed our excellent breakfast, as we were very proud to host the WYD 2013 in our neighborhood. Please note that we have very competitive rates but they are naturally higher during major events.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to California Othon Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Othon Classic

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2616, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — California Othon Classic 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your California Othon Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Othon Classic Hotel Rio De Janeiro
California Othon Classic Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Othon Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.