We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Copacabana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis Copacabana to your Saves list
Atlantis Copacabana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Bulhoes De Carvalho, 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081000, Brazil (Lagoa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

As a hotel, this is a pretty bare bones operation. The rooms range from tiny closet-sized to barely acceptable. There is no carpeting in any of the rooms so it's very cold looking. If your neighbor has the TV on or is having a conversation you'll hear it. If you're on the front side of the hotel you'll hear the street noise all night. The elevators occasionally stop working, which happened twice during our stay. They charge $5 for a small bucket of ice, and speaking of ice that pretty much describes the warmth of the front desk staff. But that's not the worst of it. We had to change our booking, consolidating two bookings into one. Booking.com negotiated with the hotel. When we returned home we realized we had been charged for an extra night. To make a long story short, Booking.com blamed the Hotel and the Hotel blamed Booking.com and I'm out $175 for absolutely nothing. I'm done with the both of them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    507
    202
    35
    28
See reviews for
187
362
56
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Sent couple of emails asking for early check in and airport transfer but got no reply from the hotel. Arriving on an early flight, the staff at desk was rude when asked about the chance of an early check in. I sit down on the reception area for over 3 hours and nobody approached me to offer not even a glass of water. There is no sense of hospitality and poor service seems to be the norm!

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a standard beach hotel with an excellent location. Rates in all Rio are very high but the one that we got on this hotel was pretty fair.

The room was very clean, the bathroom was decent and the staff at the lobby was helpful.

The A/A was deficient and the WiFi signal on the rooms was almost a joke.

Again, the location was great and the experience was good. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: Don’t choose the last floor is near the roof pool and its probably going to be noisy all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot-- it was very fancy from the outside with the doorman waiting to help every time we came back. The people were really nice and the breakfasts were delicious. Lots of food to choose from. Our view wasn't that great (just a city view) but I heard that on the left side of the building the views are really nice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here because we wanted to be close to the beaches...and that's what we got! It was also close to restaurants, supermarkets, a church, etc. The room was fine- 4 beds and a bathroom was all we needed. The breakfast was fantastic! Great selection and variety every day! The other reviewer was right about the WiFi...very spotty and often didn't work. And yes, the street noise was quite loud in the morning. But the staff was very cordial- often asking if we needed anything and helped to arrange for taxis.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Boy, there seems to be a lot of whining about this hotel by people who should probably have just stayed home. In the course of a 3 week vacation to Brazil we stayed in 2 moderately priced hotels (under US $200), 1 five-star hotel and 2 pousadas (B&Bs). It is clear after this experience - and talking with other travelers - that Brazil's standards for hotel accommodations are quite different than those for the US or other more developed countries. So keep in mind you have traveled to a foreign place ... this is not Chicago, it's Rio ... remember that 10 hour flight? If you can't live without hand lotion a hair dryer and a room designed by some pricey gay guy stay in Cleveland and go to the nearest Holiday Inn Express. Yes, the five-star hotel, run by Orient Express, was as good a hotel as I have ever stayed in (and cost US $500 per night) but the other four places were what a Brazilian expects in a Brazilian hotel. We payed about $175 per night to stay in a deluxe, ocean-view room for 5 nights at the Atlantis. No the room was not deluxe but it was fairly large and yes, sparse ... like a very basic motel room in the US. The room had tiled floors with basic furnishings and an ugly CFL light on the ceiling. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and everything worked. The shower was hot with good pressure and amazingly, the wifi worked great. What was deluxe, was the view from the 8th floor window ... and it actually opened. They had upgraded the air conditioner to the type where the compressor is separate from the fan and is located outside the building with the fan located in the room. It worked great and was very quiet. The breakfast was excellent with tons of choices - it put a Holiday Inn Express to shame. All hotels in Brazil offer breakfast and it seems Brazilians will judge a hotel much more on the quality of the breakfast than anything else. The staff, while not particularly friendly, were amazingly responsive and there was an English speaking person at the front desk at all hours of the day and night. The location was also deluxe, very safe, near everything you could want: beaches, stores, restaurants and transportation. We stayed in a nearby hotel - the Arpoador Inn - later in our trip and it was about US $125 more per night and while it was right on the beach, otherwise, it really wasn't that much nicer. Hotels in Rio are expensive ... and rather plain ... but you're in Rio! Possibly the most beautiful city on the planet. So stop the whining and go have a nice cold caipirinha!

Room Tip: I think the deluxe sea view rooms are worth the extra bucks. They are much larger, are on the highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Due to a conference I was in town and stayed for nine days in this hotel which was suggested by the local organizers. The first impression was very good. Arriving by taxi there was already a page waiting taking care of my luggage. The check in was also no problem at 10 PM, everything was in order. The elevator and the page brought me to my room on the sixth floor. As I opened the door I was a little bit disappointed, because I only saw a couch, a table and two chairs. However, the room was of course much bigger and I had my desired large bed, fridge, a small safe and air conditioning, although I never could get it to work. Probably my fault. The bed was very comfortable, the fridge and safe worked perfectly. Nothing to complain there. The bathroom was small but reasonable with a good shower in my opinion. Sometimes you have the problem that the pressure in the showers on higher floors is decreasing but not here. The windows aren't really soundproof, i.e. sometimes the garbage is picked up very late so you can hear it quite clearly. The breakfast was very good in my opinion. One has the choice between 4 different juices, bread, cereals, fresh fruits, sweet buns and much more. I was quite happy since the selection changed every day. The hotel also provides free wifi on the rooms. However, it was very unstable and worked basically only when no one else was using it and one was sitting next to the router. That was a little disappointing.
Another disappointing thing was the so called pool on the roof. Beside the splendid view one admittedly has the pool is more like a large bath tub with a maximal depth of 1.30 m and a size of 4 square meter.
Another advantage of this hotel is really that it is close to the General Osorio Metro station which allows a fast travel into the city center. In addition, there is a super market close by and of course both famous beaches, Copacabana and Ipanema which are really worthwhile.
In sum, it is a decent hotel which is still rather expensive but apparently all hotels in that area have these kind of prices.
Would I stay here again? I honestly don't know. In principle, there is nothing seriously wrong with this hotel but it also wasn't superb or extrordinary

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Copacabana

Address: Rua Bulhoes De Carvalho, 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Lagoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Atlantis Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Atlantis Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.