We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but isolated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Niemeyer 121 - Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22450220, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Vail, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice but isolated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Decent property. Typical Sheraton level aesthetics and quality. Big, corporate feeling. Great views if you get ocean view room...if not then road is busy and loud. Biggest issue is the hotel is isolated from the core of leblon and ipanema. You can walk, but after one or two times it's a bit long. They are building a new bike path along the road into town. If the hotel rents bikes after this is done this will mitigate the isolation problem. Has a nice little beach that feels private. Pool area is ok. Hot tubs are crappy residential grade, above found type. Location becomes shaded before ipanema due to mountains. Was a big convention in the hotel when we were there - overran the place was loud and clogged all the elevators - had to take stairs - probably just bad timing in this regard.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear agun21,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel as your destination during your recent trip to Rio. We were honored to have you as guests and we truly appreciate your time taken on this review.

We apologize for not exceeding your expectations regarding our location and we would like to inform you that we provide free shuttle service that goes until the Rio Sul mall and can take our guests to main beaches. Also, we reinforce that we are the only property located right on the beach with access directly.

As you have told, the city hall is building a path on the Hotel´s Avenue and we are really planning to have bikes for rental after that.

Once again, thank you for your preference and we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    177
    40
    22
    7
See reviews for
110
128
24
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our 1st visit to Rio and our stay was amazing in part to this amazing hotel. Just few mins drive to the beach, but still feels somewhat secluded and private from the hecticness of the main strip.

The beach downstairs is great, the gym, breakfast buffet was good. The staff were friendly, resourceful and professional. The SPG concierge made my bday super special with complimentary champagne and cake delivered to our room.

Had an amazing time relaxing at the properly taking in the view and falling asleep to the sounds of the waves crashing. We'll be back.

only down side of the property if the traffic when returning to the hotel from the main strip because of construction, otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear giligirl,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your experience with us. It was an honor to welcome you here and we hope to see you back in a near future!

We feel extremely happy with your feedback and know that we were able to surprise you on your birthday with cake and champagne! It is certainly our main goal provide our guests with those special moments!

Please, make sure you contact us in advance before your next stays in our hotel. It will be a great pleasure to take care of the details to guarantee that your expectations will be exceeded again.

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for just one night....... beautiful to stay in. 3 mins taxi drive to Leblon and Ipanema beach. It has two or three restaurants....all good but expensive.
No breakfast included in rate......breakfast buffet is superb but expensive as well...
will stayed at the Sheraton again for sure but not more than 2 nights. The semi private beach and pool area is absolutely amazing.
WIFI is free only at selected areas and in my case it didnt work. It worked at my room where is paid wifi only.

Room Tip: higher floors has better views. that´s all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Leandro T,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor and also for choosing us as your destination in Rio.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and would come back. It is certainly is a huge motivation for us.

Regarding the breakfast and internet fees, I would like to clarify and advise you to always search on our website for rates and promotions. For example, if you are already a SPG member, our loyalty program, and book through our web channels, your internet will be included as well in your room.

Once again, we thank you for your time taken! We really appreciate this feedback from our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future and, once again, provide you with a Sheraton experience.

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is the noisiest, tackiest hotel I have ever been to. There are loud parties almost every night - total noise from 10am until midnight, horrible very loud tacky music, I cannot believe it is even legal to play music that loud in a hotel... The food is very average and I would say pretty bad in most of the bars and restaurants in the actual hotel. The beach is filthy full of sewage smells and dirty sand, there is dog poop, plastic and left over crisp and cookie wraps everywhere. The hotel's sewage pipe sticks out from the back of the hotel and goes straight into the water! It is mental! I cannot believe this over priced, rip off, tacky, awful, noisy place is actually still going! Without a doubt the worst hotel I have ever been to in my life, in the world so far, bar none! AVOID AND BE CAREFUL NOT TO CATCH SOMETHING ON THE BEACH IF YOU DO GO...

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Patricia L,

Thank you for staying with us and also for taking your valuable time on this helpful feedback about your experience here.

Unfortunately it is clear that we did not achieve your satisfaction and could not overcome your expectations and we are really sad to know that.

We have had one day convention that did produce some noise during specific times and ended up with a party at pool area. We understand that it may have disturbed you and would like to deeply apologize for that.

Regarding the beach cleanliness, we would like to clarify that all beaches in Brazil are public areas and so we are not responsible, and have no control, about any residue being discarded over there. We assure you that are doing our best in order to pressure the government to fix it.

Our company, Starwood, and our hotel, Sheraton Rio, are very concerned about environmental issues and have been working in many different projects to support our community and reduce water and energy consumption.

We are truly sorry about not being able to provide you with a nice experience and put our team at your disposal if you wish to contact us directly. It will be a pleasure to have a chance to apologize and try to change your impressions about our property.

Once again, on behalf of our entire family, I would like to thank you for your constructive criticism and apologize for any inconvenience experienced.

Wish a lovely weekend!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Back again after a few years away and it still has its charm.
Not so many cats or monkeys in the gardens but still a superb pizza from the poolside bar.
Rooms are comfortable and quiet but you can let in the sounds of the ocean if you wish.
The Internet can be a little random but works ok most of the time.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Stigroadie,

Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to know that you came back to stay with us after some years and we were able to show you improvements on our facility.

We are flattered with your compliments to our pizza and comfort from our rooms.

We truly wish to welcome you back in a near future and remain at your disposal for any further assistance.

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have spent many weeks at this hotel over the last several years while working on a project in Rio. It is a comfortable place to stay with a nice beach and pool area. There are several restaurants there as well as room service. The seabreeze is really nice if you open your sliding door.

The location is nice, especially on weekends. The only problem with the location is getting back to the hotel in the evening because of traffic. Avenida Neimeyer backs up in the early evening and the congestion can be bad on occasion.

Room Tip: Rooms on the northeast side have a better view than the ones on the southwest. However, if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Zechariah,

We are very happy with your review and to know that you spent some time with us while working in a project in Rio.

Thank you for having us as your destination and for taking your precious time writing your impressions about our hotel.

I am so sorry for the inconvenience regarding the traffic in the Av. Niemeyer, but we must explain that the entire city is full of work right now to be ready for the Olympic Games next year.

We hope to welcome you back soon and looking forward for your next stays.

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The bedrooms were very good, but afraid was dissapointed in the dinner I had, I orderd a pasta dish and it was swimming in oil, un-eatable. But the views were overlooking Hippanema Beach and amazing rock formation out at sea but looking to the left of our room absoute shanty town layered up the hilltop. Such poverty do not wear any jewelry when out of any hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel S, Quality Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Dawn M,

First of all, thank you so much for taking your time sharing with us your opinion about your experience with us. It was an honor to have you as a guest and we hope to welcome you back a in near future!

We are glad to know that you found our bedroom very good and also enjoyed the views from our hotel.

I am sorry about the issue with your dinner. We will work together with our Executive Chef to make sure that actions will be taken to guarantee that the food is being delivery consistently in accordance with our 5 stars standards.

Please, let me know if you need any further assistance and we will be happy to assist you.

Wish you a pleasant weekend!

Cordially yours,
Isabel Soares dos Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort

Address: Avenida Niemeyer 121 - Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22450220, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#24 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 539
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rio Hotel And Resort
Sheraton Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Sheraton Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sheraton
Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.