We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Niemeyer 121 - Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22450220 , Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #45 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It was a good Sheraton hotel with a balcony in every room. The pool is nice and big. They even have a "private" beach.
The food can be improved but the price is decent.
Here is the bad point : it's far from Downtown Rio de Janeiro or Copacabana.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo M, General Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Rio as your destination in Rio de Janeiro.

We are proud to know that you enjoyed our Hotel, the view from the balcony, the poo area and the beach near us.
Be sure that we'll forward your message to our Food & Beverage Director so we'll be able to improve the food offered.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again.

Sincerely,
Marcelo Moretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    489
    253
    103
    72
See reviews for
230
365
81
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It is a classical hotel in Rio. I remember when I was a kid - 40 years ago, and just the top guys in Rio stayed at this hotel. The view from the rooms are breathtaking - restaurants nice and chic, the swimming pool amazing. There is also a "private" beach, and is very well located. The only issue here is the neighborhood - the hotel was right in front of one biggest slums in Rio (Vidigal) - never happed anything with myself since I visited there and never heard about something inside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo M, General Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Rodrigo,

Thank you for taking your time to post a comment about your experience with us!

We are glad to know that we could achieve our most importante goal, that's your satisfaction. We are also happy to know that you remember Sheraton Rio since you were a child. It's a huge pleasure to welcome you.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again for more great times in the Marvelous City.

Sincerely,
Marcelo Moretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Unfortunately the hotel is a bit removed from the Ipanema or Copacabana beaches. Also, they are doing a bunch of construction on the lower floors so it's not so "pretty" right now. I think this is good place for a family but not for someone traveling solo and hoping to experience the city at all times. Also, the gym has been relocated as well and I thought it wasn't as nice as I would have expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo M, General Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Cristian,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your comment is very important for us to check and improve our service.

I'm sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as you expected. We are under a complete renovation, which will upgrade all the Hotel, becoming even more sophisticated and modern. Because of the refurbishment, we had to relocate the gym while the new one isn't finished. I'm really sorry that it wasn't as you expected.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again in a completly renovated Sheraton Rio.

Sincerely,
Marcelo Moretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hospitality was great at this Sheraton. The staff were very fluent in English at the front desk and very helpful and patient with the guests. I must say this for all the staff that I encountered, including the room-maids as well as the bell-hops.

Room Tip: The two rooms that I stayed in were on the 17th and 12th floors and both had great view of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo M, General Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Wellington,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us!

We are happy to know that we could achieve our most importante goal, that is your satisfaction. We're also glad to know that our staff could meet your expectations. Be sure that we'll congratulate them for their great work.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again for more great times in the Marvelous City.

Sincerely,
Marcelo Moretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doral, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good, the only hotel on the ocean side. Food was very good, and the service outstanding. There is a police substation just outside the hotel area. The rooms are very clean and comfortable beds helps for a good sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo M, General Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort as your destination in Rio de Janeiro.

We are glad to know that we could achieve our most importante goal, that is your satisfaction. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the beach near us, the rooms, food and service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again for more great times.

Sincerely,
Marcelo Moretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a week during the FIFA Confederation Cup. It was awesome because the hotel was part of FIFA's authorized accommodation and some of the international soccer team stayed there. Beside that the view is incredible, the service superior and the staff very friendly. Can wait to stay there again next year for the FIFA world cup.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo M, General Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our Hotel during the Confederations Cup. In addition, we're happy to know that our staff, service and view could meet your expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at the next World Cup.

Sincerely,
Marcelo Moretti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is slightly away from the hustle and bustle of it all but with spectacular views and still within easy walking distance of Leblon and Ipanema beach. Amenities are really poor, there is no free internet and staff at reception was disappointing. We arrived at 7.30 and as our travel agent made a mistake (not the fault of the hotel) there was no early check in available. We were told we could get the room at that time for full price or wait until 9 and get it for half price. Although I fully understand the need for rules and processes, the room was ready, the hotel not at maximum capacity so this just inflexible behaviour which I think is a shame.

Would I stay here again? Potentially yes. As said, the view and location amke up for a lot!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo M, General Manager at Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Sacha,

Thank you for taking you time to share your experience with us! Your comments are really helpfull and will show us the areas which needs na improvement.

We are excited to know that our view was one of the best part of your trip.

We are sorry to know that you faced some issues during your stay. Be sure that our Front Desk Manager was warned about your comments and we'll take care of your situation.

We're looking forward to welcoming you once again so you'll be able to have more great moments and stunning views.

Sincerely,
Marcelo Moretti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort

Address: Avenida Niemeyer 121 - Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22450220 , Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#37 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Sheraton Rio Hotel And Resort
Sheraton Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sheraton
Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Rio Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.