We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 2964 - Copacabana | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000 , Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 218 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brasilia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Pestana rio atlantica is one of the most ideally located hotels on copacabana rio de janeiro. I stayed here for one week and my stay was one of the most comfortable stay i gave ever had in rio. The hotels roof top restaurant is awesome. The rooms are comfy and ideal for a business trip. I recommend this hotel to everyone planning to stay in rio

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mr. Flagman2011

Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, and for sharing your feedback with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

We pledge to provide the finest personal service and facilities for our guests who will always enjoy a warm and relaxed ambient and consequently turn your stay into Memorable Moments.

I would like to personally take care of your next stay and due to that, I would kindly request you to contact our Hotel Rooms Division Manager, Mr. Gefferson Alves via e-mail: Gefferson.alves@pestana.com and we will prepare a very special suite in order to indulge you into a breathtaking view of Copacabana beach.

We also encourage you to check out Hotel Site at Pestana.com to check the best rates available. There are also great offers only available on it!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Paulo Dias
Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    349
    97
    49
    22
See reviews for
254
287
50
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Beautiful view, nice pool, entertainment area and location, but reception service is still a problem, since main of the receptionists were very rude. Also, one of our rooms was not tidy enough and we had to ask for another.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mrs. Gabriela F,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us.

Your information regarding our levels of service were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions will be taken to improve our guest experience!

The information’s on your comments are of our high interest and I would appreciate if you could contact our Rooms Division Manager, Mr. Gefferson Alves, on his e-mail: Gefferson.alves@pestana.com as we are really would like to better understand how was your stay.

Pestana Hotel Rio Atlantica is a place where the genuine care and comfort of our guests is our highest mission.

Looking forward in hearing from you at your earliest convenience,

Kind regards,

Paulo Dias

Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I live in Rio and I can say this: Pestana Rio is a very nice hotel in Copacabana Beach. But it is expensive compared to good hotels overseas.

I have found the same or better service and rooms in 4 stars hotels around Europe and The US. The 5 stars are probably because of the Spa and the Superior Rooms. But for me, a 5 Star hotel should be so to every room. I stayed at a Deluxe Room that's good. But not memorable.

To those who have never been to Rio:

LOCATION: the most appreciated quarters in Rio (for people from Rio) are Leblon, Ipanema and Arpoador. Pestana is at Copacabana Beach: the oldest beach in town and the most visited by tourists. It's near every place you want to visit. In 10 minutes or less by Car, you can enjoy Lapa, Ipanema, Leblon,Arpoador, Lagoa and the Sightseens.

BEACH: Copacabana is the city's oldest quarter. If you're young and want to see younger people, take a taxi and in 5-10 minutes you can enjoy Ipanema beach by day and Lapa by night.

ROOM: clean and modern. The bed could be more confortable. The wi-fi works ok. TV has few internacional channels.

SERVICE: Brazil is a nightmare when it comes to service. I'm brazilian, have always lived in Rio and I can say this: Do not expect excepcional service. To brazilians, if there's no big problem, the service is good. Pestana is good. No problems so far...

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Gerente geral at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mrs. KfmCardoso,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for taking the time to send us your detailed and valuable comments.

It´s always gratifying to receive feedbacks, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks.

We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you back at our Hotel in order to enjoy a warm and relaxed ambient.

Thank you again for having shared your experience with us and looking forward in receiving your new reservation request!

Cordially,

Paulo Dias
Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hi guys, I recommend you guys that if you looking for excellent services and a want to experience a good holiday while staying on Copacabana beach , this hotel will be good choice for you.

You will never forget this experience. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Mr. thekamran10

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.

I am so glad to read your comments in which I appreciate your information’s.
It´s always gratifying to receive feedbacks, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks.

We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you back at one of our Hotels & Resorts;

Thank you again for having shared your experience with us and looking forward in receiving your new reservation request!

Cordially,

Paulo Dias
Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The luxurious hotel is perfectly located at Copacabana Beach in Rio, close to the city center, the sightseeing top spots like Corcovado and Sugar Loaf (Pao d'Azucar) and the other great beaches as Ipanema and Leblon.

The view from the roof top terrace with a bar, pool and sunchairs all over Copacabana beach is amazing. The atmosphere is very relaxing. With soft lounge music, good drinks and food and the view on the ocean you feel close to the beach life without the hustle of the vibrant city. Easily you will forget time and spend there the whole day.

The breakfast is served until 10.30 am, fresh, delicious and manifold. At night the roof top terrace turns into a decent bar and is in my opinion one of the nicest locations in town to have a drink.

I was already the second time in this hotel and would always book it again! Every time I enjoyed a fantastic service throughout the whole hotel, from the front desk, the restaurants and bars to the chamber maid. Everybody was so kind and tried to make my stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible! Especially Gefferson, Luciana and Mara were so helpful and kind that I really felt warmly welcome!

I really can recommend this hotel! You won't gonna miss anything!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Carsten H,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.

I am so glad to read your comments in which I appreciate your information’s.

It´s always gratifying to receive feedbacks, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks.

We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you back at one of our Hotels & Resorts;

Thank you again for having shared your experience with us and looking forward in receiving your new reservation request!

Cordially,

Paulo Dias
Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice place to stay, everything was great!
Nice place to stay, everything was great!
Nice place to stay, everything was great!
Nice place to stay, everything was great!
Nice place to stay, everything was great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Chede_Net,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.

I am so glad to read your comments in which I appreciate your information’s.

It´s always gratifying to receive feedbacks, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks.
In regards to our Fitness Center, we are also working on it and soon all the equipment’s will be substituted.

We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you back at one of our Hotels & Resorts;

Thank you again for having shared your experience with us and looking forward in receiving your new reservation request!

Cordially,

Paulo Dias
Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Deck bar is the hotel highlight.. Great atmosphere, good food and drinks, stunning view, and outstanding service. The hotel Location is perfect. Deluxe room is not very spacious but Ok. Check in and check out were the main issues. At least 20min spent on both..

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, General Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Mrs. Jakeline N,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments.

I am so glad to read your comments in which I appreciate your information’s.
It´s always gratifying to receive feedbacks, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks.

In regards to the timing spent in your Check In and Check Out, please accept our apologies and we will double check if in the period you stayed here anything special happened as this is not usual at our Hotel.

We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you back at one of our Hotels & Resorts;

Thank you again for having shared your experience with us and looking forward in receiving your new reservation request!

Cordially,

Paulo Dias
Director of Operations
Pestana Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2964 - Copacabana | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000 , Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Pestana Rio Atlantica De Janeiro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.