We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop pool and view is worth the stay, amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 2964 - Copacabana | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000 , Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Rooftop pool and view is worth the stay, amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location for the New Year's Eve celebration since it is centrally located on Copacabana beach right in front of the fireworks and the main show stage. The rooftop pool/bar area has the best view of Copacabana beach, Sugarloaf and other favellas far out in the distance. You could sit there for hours staring out in the distance, and despite being there during the New Years Eve time, it was never really crowded or even full. Rooms are newly renovated and side facing rooms have partial ocean views and a small balcony (good for hanging dry swimsuits). Beds are super comfortable with fluffy comforters and pillows, but instead of a full size bed they gave us a room with two single beds that were pushed together. We used the laundry service which was expensive (about US$5 per item) but same day service. The downside was their rather sad looking fitness center (no free weights, one treadmill, and 2-3 other weight machines) and a lackluster restaurant. The included breakfast buffet was actually very good with good variety (including omelette made to order), but at other times the restaurant barely had any customers and wait staff not very attentive and half the menu was not available. That's not a problem though, because right next door is this great Mondego restaurant that was good at all hours of the day. Right behind the hotel is a series of popular bars and some great juice bars. With all the tourists there for New Years we felt very safe, but can't comment on how it would be with fewer foot traffic.

Room Tip: Ocean view or at least partial ocean view. Lower floors can be very loud with street traffic and mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and other travellers.
It´s correct the Pestana Rio Atlântica, aswell as our Deck lounge bar, has a fantastic location and great views, and it is without a doubt one of the bests spots in Rio for the New Year´s Eve celebration.
I´m glad that overall our standards and services were up to your expectations.
It will be my pleasure to share your comments with our dedicated team.
Concerning our fitness room , we are already planning to upgrade our facilities.

Kind Regards,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    368
    103
    56
    23
See reviews for
269
304
52
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Totally refurbished in 2012, nice decor.
Very stylish rooftop (white marble bar that accomodate nice parties during week-ends)
Ok sized rooms and very nicely designed (white marble bathroom, it's a theme...).
Very comfy beds.
Service on the other hand is very slow and not responsive.

Room Tip: Above 9th floor for the lateral view (below no view at all)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Pestana Rio Atlântica, thank you very much for posting your review after your recent stay.
I´m glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us.
It´s correct the Deck Bar is one of the bests spots in the hotel.

Sunny Regards from Rio de Janeiro,

Álvaro Aragão
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We really hesitated to book this hotel. They are no cheap hotel with a view on Copacabana. We booked a room with a lateral view and had a great time there. However, you need to get a room with the front or lateral view (you need to ask to see the sea from your bed, that's very important). Otherwise, find a cheapest Hotel.

Good: The breakfast was really good! The hotel is modern and clean. The terrasse on the 13 floors is one of the best of Copacabana. It's amazing to spend an afternoon there. People were nice. Towel in the swimming pool and in the beach at disposal. Great beds.

Bad: Just one phone/computer works with the wifi (this is not very practical as you can imagine) The fitness need news machines. The wifi is not free. There is noice from outside in the room but I imagine is the same in every Hotel in front of the beach. Room a bit small.

Room Tip: Lateral view (ask to see the view from your bed). The "other" lateral view is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive positive feedback, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel, as we look forward to being of service. Thank you again for having shared your experience with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Erico Guedes
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I spend réveillon 2013 in a Oceanic Suite in the 10th floor which allow me to see the famous fireworks of Copacabana beach and to watch a music show in a stage located very near from the hotel. Spectacular!
In the last floor (rooftop) there is a swimming pool and a bar and a restaurant, an spa, sauna and fitness. There you can take amazing photos of Copacabana and the sunset.
Breakfast is good but could improve a little more.
The staff is very helpful and professional including english, french and spanish speakers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Google Translation
Prezado Hóspede,
Agradecemos pela escolha do Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel e pelo feed back sobre sua última estada. Ficamos satisfeitos em saber que nossos produtos e serviços fizeram com que sua viagem fosse positiva. Iremos partilhar as suas simpáticas palavras com os nossos colaboradores. Em sua próxima viagem a cidade do Rio de Janeiro, estaremos inteiramente à disposição para o que for necessário.

Cordialmente,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel accomodations are tough to come by these days in Rio, but I paid top dollar for a hotel room with problems too numerous to list. Here are some: You need to call everyday and sometimes more than once a day for a wifi access code. There is no clock in the room. The phone did not work. The outlets did not take US or UK type plugs and the hotel had no adaptors. The elevator is incredibly slow.
The temperature in the meeting rooms could not be regulated between freezing and oppressively hot.

There was an overall sense of indifference on the part of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us. Your information regarding our levels of service were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions are being taken in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. We hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next visit the city of Rio de Janeiro.

Kind regards,

Erico Guedes de Souza
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed from 17th - 23 December.
Upon hearing its our 17th Wedding Anniversary, we were given a complimentary upgrade to an Oceanic Suite. These Suites, only 2 per floor is about 3 times the size of a standard room and have very large balconies overlooking the entire 5km long Copacabana beach. All other rooms excluding the corner rooms have partial ocean views. The staff at reception, all very friendly. especially Amanda understand and speak English. The rooftop pool can be considered the highlight of the hotel. Generally speaking. the staff is very helpfull. It is unfortunate that I have never stayed at another hotel in Rio, hence unable to provide a comparison.

Compared to international standards, this is definitely not a 5* hotel, infact I'd rate it a 3*. The breakfast has an extremely limited choice. The rooms do not offer coffee and or tea facilities and one has to ask for these items and hot water.

Room Tip: Insist on rooms from 6th - 12th floor and try your best for atleast a corner rooms. Rooms with compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive positive feedback, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel, as we look forward to being of service. Thank you again for having shared your experience with us.

Yours Sincerely,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for 5 days as I was participating in a Event in Botafogo. The Hotel had a great view but that's it. Poor service, elevators always down, 7 reais for an expresso, wifi for a fee, very small rooms with view to a wall. The location is great but have to agree that the prices are very steep for what you get for. This is a five stars hotel but what you get is a five stars terrace and a three stars service and room. I dont agree that the hotel needs to be upgraded, it doesnt, it needs to step up on services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Google Translation
Prezado Hóspede,
Primeiramente agradecemos pela escolha do Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel e pelo feedback após a sua última estada. Aceite as nossas desculpas pelos inconvenientes causados. As informações referentes a serviços foram analisadas e providências já estão sendo tomadas para melhorar a qualidade e serviço da nossa unidade. Em sua próxima viagem a cidade do Rio de Janeiro, gostaríamos de tê-lo conosco novamente para poder desfrutar de uma nova e positiva experiência.

Cordialmente,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Gerente Operacional
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2964 - Copacabana | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000 , Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Pestana Rio Atlantica De Janeiro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.