We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“god awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 2964 - Copacabana | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000 , Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
OFERTA: MINI-BAR GRATUITO
Ranked #11 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“god awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I booked a $300+ room for a weekend. The lobby is nice but checking in lasted forever. I got in to my room and heard some weird, strong noise. This was especially disturbing in light of the fact that in my reservation I emphasized that I wanted a quiet room. I checked what it was and it turned out that there was a hole in the wall. The old air conditioner was removed and they put a plywood plank in to plug the whole. Of course the wind on the 12th floor blew right through it causing the noise. I called the reception desk, they picked it up and told me they were very sorry and then they put me on hold forever. I went down, waited another 30 min in line and then asked them to give me another room. They took me to another one with a hole in the wall. It turns out, most of the rooms are like that. I went back to the reception desk and asked for a quiet room. They told me the hotel was full and I should wait because people were checking out and there might be an empty room. So I went to the business center and paid 6 dollars for 20 min of internet usage, because there was no wifi in the reception area. I booked another hotel and then went back to reception to let them know. They brought out the manager who begged me not to leave and offered me a luxury suite. Of course I declined. DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Firstly, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel as your destination, and for sharing your opinions with us. We are sorry to learn that you experienced certain inconveniences during your stay. Our Department Heads have been informed, and the necessary improvement measures will be taken. We remain grateful for your understanding, and look forward to welcoming you back at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Erico Guedes de Souza
Operation Manager
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    211
    62
    29
    17
See reviews for
155
187
31
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Basically, right on Copacabana beach. Lovely roof terrace with sweeping views and lively cage/bar area round the corner. Location therefore great.

Rooms small-ish but bearable, probably better than comparators given other reviews, but seems like south america has different norm. Facilities all ok and shower great. Condiiton good not great.

Breakfast - basic - think 3-4 meat options inc cheap protein i.e luncheon type meat. Restaurant is v small.

Service - reasonable but you get the feeling its not really big enough to pull off anything ambitious.

Next time I'd try another hotel just to see if there is better, this is ok, you wont go wrong but it wont elave you with that spring in your step about the really shrewd hotel choice you made that time you went to Rio.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive feedback, and your comments will be shared with all the staff members. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel, as we look forward to being of service. Thank you again for having shared your experience with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Erico Guedes
Operation Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwalk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

ON business trip to Rio with Colleagues, we chose Pestina Rio Atlantica, Copa Cabana is the place to stay,, though there are alot of tourists, it has an easy /safe feel.. Regarding this outstanding hotel, were very impressed with the modern rooms, this hotel offered top notch service, staff more than happy to speak in English, or Portugese.. The rooftop lounge/pool is outstanding.. Towel service, bar service, breakfast, lunch and dinner poolside or in the main dining room,
Though internet will cost you 35 dollars a day,(24 hour period)... The rooms are amazing, and it seems that all of them have a view.. Breakfast is Buffet, and Lunch, Buffet, -very high end selections, artistry, bravo to the Chef... surprised to see Foi Gras on the Buffet selection!

The waitstaff is outstanding, and we felt very comfortable, in that the hotel is right across from the beach... they have towel service at the pool, and you are able to bring the pool towels to the beach, and the hotel also offers lounge chairs. (though we decided it is better to just pay the fee for the chair vendors on the beach, if you want to not look like a tourist lounging on an upscale chair.
We will be returning to this hotel again and again. THough it may be a little pricey, it was well worth it..
Bravo Pestana .. It is a Gorgeous hotel! with all the amenities! The best feature is the rooftop pool/lounge!

Room Tip: If you request ocean view/ you will get a terrace, but side view with the smaller terrace is a wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana XXXX Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive positive feedback, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel, as we look forward to being of service. Thank you again for having shared your experience with us.
Yours Sincerely,
______Manager__________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

It is a very good hotel modern decoration, good sized bed and an excellent bed. The rooftop pool and bar is amazing

I stood at Pestana for two nights
I just don't rate Pestana Atlantica as excellent because four minor things, that are:

- The room is a little bit dark at night. It is not a problem if you are on holidays, but if you have work a an couple of extra lights would not be an bad idea. I had the same impression of Pestana's at Curitiba.

- My room presented a water leakage;

- The LCD TV had yellow line on the screen.

- On the first night, instead on shampoo I had an foam bath

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pestana, Manager at Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Pestana XXXX Hotel, and for taking the time to send us your valuable comments. It´s always gratifying to receive positive feedback, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We do hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you, your friends and family back at our hotel, as we look forward to being of service. Thank you again for having shared your experience with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Manager_________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2964 - Copacabana | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-000 , Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Pestana Rio Atlantica De Janeiro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Rio Atlantica Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.