We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth? Are you referring to the one in Rio de janeiro?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Copacabana Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Copacabana Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Copacabana Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Miami, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth? Are you referring to the one in Rio de janeiro?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2006

I've been there and it has nothing special. It is an old hotel. The rooms are like of the 1940. If you are looking for something more modern, go to Caesar park in Ipanema. Plus, it is very expensive, not worth all that money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    324
    99
    31
    14
See reviews for
295
708
97
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2006

I have just read the review from a traveller who stayed here this month and i cannot believe this is the same hotel. I was treaetd to a week here for my 50th birthday and my husband could not have found a better hotel anywhere in the world. We travel a great deal and have stayed in some of the world's top hotels, including the Waldorf in NY and the Danielle in Venice. This topped them all. Not only were we upgraded to a suite without making any special request ( we did laugh when they told us on arrival that a request had been made for single beds,) 'not by us' was our reaction and hey presto we were given a suite. Staff were unbelievably good, quietly efficient, nothing was too much trouble, room service on the dot and the breakfast buffet had to be seen to be believed. Pool and bar staff never more than a nod away. Always friendly and smiling. Although unable to spend vast amounts in the small boutique the young lady was ever helpful and kind; happy to find me a less expensive but acceptable gift for friends. Of course the setting is fabulous. As for cleanliness it could not be beaten, huge restaurant windows cleaned EVERY day even though they rarely needed it.

I cannot wait for the chance to return.

Stayed January 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2006

We booked a couple of very decent rooms, and ended up with a very proper one bedroom suite (one of 3 or so) and a shabby room on the fifth floor.

Don't expect hotel heaven. They just don't get it here somehow. Food is OK, sevice variable.

We checked out alternatives for a return visit to Rio, sadly this is proabably as good as it gets.

We had a great time in Rio. Even with the benefit of one of their top theme suites this place is rough.

Grin and bear it!

  • Stayed December 2004, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Great Britain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2006

We stayed recently at the Copacabana Palace for 3 nights, after having a less than enjoyable 3 nights at the Sheration Rio (see review).

Our room was nice & spacious, a little dark as it faced onto a side street but very comfortable with a king bed. The maid service was also consistently good.

We enjoyed the breakfast's every morning - a lavish buffet with about everything to suit all tastes. It was nice as well to enjoy breakfast sat around the pool area. The staff are extremely attentive, friendly and also offering a smile.

The pool area is absolutely stunning, plump sun loungers and masses of towels to lounge on. The pool staff were always on hand to bring umbrellas, cold face towels & pool snacks/drinks. Nothing was too much trouble. For a 5* hotel as well, the drinks & snacks were very reasonably priced.

We made use of the Concierge a couple of times who sorted out restaurant reservations for us, and gave us written confirmations to take with us which was handy. The Security was very good, with suited staff scanning the hotel regularly and discreetly screening guests/visitors.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans,uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

We went to Rio for part of our honeymoon; and if you stay at the Copacabana they make you feel like movie stars!

From the minute you arrive the staff address you by your surname (nice touch), nothing is too much trouble and the help and advice you get from the concierge is fantastic.

We stayed in a pool suite (well worth the extra money) overlooking the pool and beach and was more like a luxury apartment than a hotel room. Breakfast was the best I have ever had, food in all the eating places is amazing. For a romantic very special treat try the Cipriani restaurant voted the most romantic in Rio....lovely.

Take the cars from the hotel for your trips out and get treated like VIP's wherever you go, only a few extra pounds and worth it.

Good location and breathtaking views of beach.

Real 5 star luxury!!

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds,england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2006

I heartily agree that to call this hotel a dump is an absolute travesty of the truth. I stayed here for 10 days over Christmas and new Year with my wife and two sons to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. My wife and I had a large bedroom in the main building with two small terraces and a magnificent view of Copacabana Beach (superb for watching and enjoying the incredible New Year celebrations and fireworks. Our sons bedroom was small but was quite adequate as they were hardly ever in it.

We found the hotel staff courteous and helpful and service was quite satisfactory although a little slow round the swimming pool.

We did find the hotel a little on the expensive side for eating and drinking but as there are so many reasonably priced restaurants within easy reach of the hotel this was not a problem.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anybody as an ideal base for a holiday in Rio.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

We just returned from a 5-night stay at this gorgeous property; the entire time, I kept asking myself how anyone could even remotely classify this place as a "dump"; needless to say, I strongly disagree with the earlier negative review. On arrival (several hours before check-in), our room (an executive suite) was ready and was beautifully appointed with hardwood floors and oriental rugs. Unfortunately, we were unable to secure an ocean-front room, but the view of the other buildings and mountain behind the hotel was pleasant. The location can't be beat; right in the middle of the action at Copacabana Beach. The hotel has an area on the beach with a lifeguard, chairs, umbrellas, towels and a shower (all of which are a premium); they even passed cold, fresh fruit and water periodically. The pool is elegant and gorgeous; predictably crowded, but still the largest pool in Rio. Service was impeccable; bed was firm and comfortable, sheets and towels of 5-star quality.

This is truly one of the world's great hotels; it oozes history, charm and class. We were literally heartsick to leave. I know that everyone has differing opinions, but it doesn't seem possible for me to give this property anything other than glowing reivews. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant hotel located alongside the beach, convenient to business & entertainment districts. Copacabana Palace has a great variety of accommodation with a majority of suites, which have recently been re-designed and given a new lease of life with new fabrics and furniture. The hotel has a marvellous Semi-Olympic Size Pool, one Tennis Court, a modern Fitness Centre, a three-floor Spa and a new Lounge Bar 'Bar do Copa' open from Wed to Sat with a selection of DJs playing each night. The Hotel Cipriani Restaurant is the hotel's gastronomic flagship, a sophisticated Italian restaurant serving classics and innovative dishes from the restaurant’s namesake in Venice. The Pergula Restaurant serves Brazilian Buffet breakfast, lunch buffet and dinner a la carte by the pool. Copacabana Palace offers you a great and unique experience in the heart of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Copacabana Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.