We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE STARS HOTEL....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Copacabana Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Copacabana Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Copacabana Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #2 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
RIO DE JANEIRO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“THE STARS HOTEL....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the stars hotel.An old one, in the principal point of Copacabana Beach.It was built by a traditional Family - The Guinles - but now its from the Orient Express Associated.They stay with the style but change all the necessary to modern it.There are a lot of tipes of rooms and suítes and one with a particular swimpool.The swimpool and the restaurant from the Copacabana Palace Hotel are the points from the high society in Rio de Janeiro....

Room Tip: At the front of the Copacabana Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sending your comments. Indeed the hotel has a rich History and the mentioned transition that took place at the end of the eighties to the current company ( now with a new Brand called Belmond), has conserved its most essential features as the classic, traditional and luxe style.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    356
    105
    36
    17
See reviews for
330
830
108
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio De Janeiro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

You get what you expect in the form of the hotel and staff which both exceed all expectations.
My only gripe would be that a service charge is added to everything that you have. You pay more than average for the food and drinks in the hotel so why do you have to pay even more. If the service is good you tip....if not you don't. £50 for 4 gin and tonics gives you an idea!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for forwarding your impressions about your stay with us. It is always a reason for joy knowing that we have succeeded in providing a high quality service. Regarding your note about the service tax, we would like to clarify that it is a common and allowed rate as well as a form of transparency so you acknowledge what it is included in the final cost.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place delivered on so many levels! It has the glamour that only a few European hotels have! The website does not do this hotel justice so just take it has you find it and enjoy the truly remarkable experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. We are very glad to know that you've gotten a remarkable expericence. And we truly recognize that even high-advanced quality pictures, the best way to have the true sensation and dimension of our hotel is really see live.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

There's no topping this amazing and famous hotel. We were catered for so diligently and perfectly - nothing could have been better! Every single staff we encountered was so friendly and professional. We will certainly be back next time we're in Rio.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the kind words. We are very happy to be informed about your remarkable experience with us.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

A wonderful hotel and a wonderful experience from the moment you arrive and are welcomed at the front desk. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms in the main building where you must insist on staying have all been remodeled and are lovely. I think most of them (if not all) are suites and even the mini-suites are comfortable and spacious. The buffet breakfast included is wonderful and lunch at the pool is perfect. And the pool itself is a fabulous place to hang out at all day. The hotel is all you'd expect from a classy, "new" hotel with old world charm.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building where you must insist on staying have all been remodeled and are love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are very grateful to your kind and sincere words. Our goal is to provide the best service together with high level quality and excellence. We are very happy to know that we not only achieve but exceed your expectations.
All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North Coast, NSW
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

As you would expect at the price you pay to stay here, the hotel is very nice. But I am not raving though as there are many hotels of a similar standard for less dollars. I will rave over the breakfast though as it was excellent! The fruit, bread and cheese selection was first class as were the egg dishes you can order, made fresh. Don't be in a hurry if you order food from the kitchen as it does take a while.
The room was average size - not what you would call large. It was quiet! The bed was comfortable. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The free WiFi was incredibly slow...even after it was "fixed". That was quite frustrating as we needed the Internet due to flight changes. The other frustrating matter was that housekeeping had not made up our room until after 3pm on both the days we were there.
Pool looked inviting, but it has a fish-bowl feeling (being watched) as the restaurant looks over it at one end and a dining room and bar are at the other end.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view over Copacabana Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. It is amazing to know about that your stay was fantastic! Regarding to internet, we have a TI team that can provide assistance whenever it is necessary. Have you asked for them? Another topic related to the cleaning the room. It is quite unusual. Maybe you have put Do not disturb on door knob but any how we are alerting the House Keeping Team.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stay in a lot of hotels around the world and I think this is best I stayed in ever.
Make sure you get a 1 bed suite with a terrace, WOW.
attentive STAFF, nothing was too much trouble and everyone had a real genuine smile

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for sharing your very kind impressions about your last stay with us. As you noticed, our staff got really happy to assist our guests and clients in all the contacts that took place.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant hotel located alongside the beach, convenient to business & entertainment districts. Copacabana Palace has a great variety of accommodation with a majority of suites, which have recently been re-designed and given a new lease of life with new fabrics and furniture. The hotel has a marvellous Semi-Olympic Size Pool, one Tennis Court, a modern Fitness Centre, a three-floor Spa and a new Lounge Bar 'Bar do Copa' open from Wed to Sat with a selection of DJs playing each night. The Hotel Cipriani Restaurant is the hotel's gastronomic flagship, a sophisticated Italian restaurant serving classics and innovative dishes from the restaurant’s namesake in Venice. The Pergula Restaurant serves Brazilian Buffet breakfast, lunch buffet and dinner a la carte by the pool. Copacabana Palace offers you a great and unique experience in the heart of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Copacabana Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.