We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Copacabana Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Copacabana Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Copacabana Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #2 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Malmö, Sverige
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a truly beautiful hotel with every possible amenity, perfect location in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Lovely room, beautiful pool, wonderful spa and very attentive and helpful staff. Excellent food and service at the pool restaurant. The Cipriani restaurant was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear guest,
It was really amazing to receive your comment as well. We are very happy to know about your remarkable stay. All the commendations show clearly that you enjoyed our hotel very much . We are really very thankfull.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    356
    105
    36
    17
See reviews for
330
829
108
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabadi in Shanghai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel was the start of our honeymoon and set such high expectations for the rest of the trip!

Highlight was the wonderful concierge. Nothing was too much to ask. They recommended some great places for dinner and also helped us plan some of the tours.

The lunch buffet is outstanding! The pool area is great to lounge around in.

The only place where I could ask for a bottle of water and get it (if I asked for 1, I usually got 3) without question. :) The room size is quite good.. overall good amenities.

We stayed for 3 nights and it was all very memorable.

Room Tip: Definitely use the concierge even if you have your trip planned out. They will have helpful little t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review. It is very grateful to know about your outstanding stay and that was the period of your honeymoon. We do hope that you come back to celebrate other memorable moments of your life.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

For that special occasion stay a night or 2 at this hotel. The staff is incredibly knowledgeable. When we had trouble logging on to the free wi if, our waiter immediately summoned one of the hostesses who helped us immediately. Everyone is eager to help. The pool is large and magnificent. Breakfast which is included was excellent and tasty. It is served at poolside or in an adjacent dining room. The only gripe is that if your room is in the new section thee are several sets of steps to negotiate. Front desk staff was always ready to help.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to express our sincere gratitude for posting your kind comments. It is very amazing to know about your remarkable stay. Regarding to the observation about the renovated room, feel free to get in contact in order to provide more helpful details.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I don't even know where to start! We were on our honeymoon and after a tiring fortnight doing Buenos Aires, Mendoza and Iguazu we turned up at the Copacabana Palace and from start to finish had the most incredible experience of our lives. Our travel agent had a few issues but they were dealt with beautifully by the wonderful staff (huge thanks to Juliana the front desk manager and Cesar from the customer relations department and Marcello who all had to deal with an over emotional newly wed).
We had a lovely room at the back of the main hotel which actually was great for the noise factor and beautifully decorated and maintained. The Havaianas are a great touch, such a little treat. The pool is just beautiful and the pool staff are fabulous - the ever smiling Fabio ensured we were never lacking caipirinhas. The breakfast buffet is delicious although try and get there before 10am as by 10.30 it is decimated!
We actually stayed over New Years Eve which was amazing!!! We had left it too late to book into one of the 3 parties in the hotel so decided to order champagne and room service and head to balcony overlooking to beach to watch the fireworks at midnight. Indescribable!!! What an atmosphere without having to join the millions of people on the beach. We feel so lucky to have experienced it.
As many people have said below, the hotel is grand, beautiful and has all the things you would expect from a 5 star hotel. However, what sets the Copacabana apart from other 5 star hotels that we visited on our honeymoon was the service. The staff of the Copacabana are a class above. The Concierge were unbelievable, nothing a chore - Luis Cesar, Rodrigo, Marcus, Luciano, Jo and Juliana were on hand to help all day every day. The pool staff I've already mentioned were superb. The front desk and guest relations simply went over and above the call of duty (I mention Cesar again here) to make our honeymoon the most memorable trip ever. I keep all fingers crossed that my husband and I are able to visit this wonderful hotel again at some point in our lifetime.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sending your comments. Checking your very pleasant description is an invitation to all the readers to travel to Rio and know our hotel. With no doubt, it will be an unforgettable experience.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Copacabana is like a grand old lady having a ball of a time. It has a fantastic atmosphere and positioning - though you definitely need to stay in the main hotel and not the annex. The service at the restaurant is pretty slow though.....

Room Tip: second floor ocean view refurbished rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your review. We really enjoyed very much to read and to know about your remarkable stay and impressions.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here from Dec. 21-25 and had a fantastic time - the staff, food, location, and customer service was unparalleled. The concierge will help plan your entire RIo trip and the location is very safe. The breakfast buffet can get very busy but it is excellent and the pool is wonderful to lounge in. The room is large for Rio but the balconies do not have chairs. I would hands down recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comments. We are extremely happy to read about your remarkable stay. Concerning the varanda, we really need to know in which kind of room you stayed in order to verify the subject.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed five nights including New Year's Eve at this legendary property. Even without what turned out to be the most spectacular and exciting of New Year's Eve parties hosted by the Palace, this stay would still have been exceptional. First, was the beautiful Mediterranean style façade, reminiscent of grand hotels in the south of France. While clearly this property was constructed many decades ago, it has received a recent and tasteful renovation. Our hotel room (654), while not looking out over the beach, had the virtue of being quiet and was quite a distance from the swimming pool, another potential source of noise. It was spacious, comfortable, luxurious bedding, an excellent shower and plenty of space for clothing. The gym was excellent: the equipment was comprehensive, modern and well maintained. The hotel has two restaurants but we ate only breakfast there - buffet style. The quality of the food service was excellent and the variety of items available sufficient so that even after five or six days one did not tire of the menu.

Perhaps most pivotal in terms of influencing our enjoyment was the world-class service we experienced. While the wait staff, front desk and all other departments were top-flight - friendly, helpful and competent, the concierge service deserves special mention. This was our first visit to Brazil. Therefore, we were heavily dependent upon the concierge staff to provide information about where to go, where to eat and what sights to see and to make the corresponding arrangements. They were amazing - they got us hard to get dinner reservations and set us up with one of the best tour guides we have ever experienced. What astounded me was despite the 100% occupancy at the time, we never had to wait at the desk for more than a minute for service and never felt we were being rushed. While the entire staff were all excellent - Rodrigo and Bruno were exceptionally helpful to us and enhanced our stay immensely. Then there was the party at New Year's eve hosted by the hotel - wonderful music and dancing and first-class beverages. And there is no netter viewing station for the fireworks display on Copacabana Beach than the Palace hotel. A truly memorable evening to cap off a memorable stay.

Finally, I had heard about security issues in Rio and frankly was concerned before I arrived. However, we never experienced any nervous moments or felt vulnerable in any way. The lack of anxiety was helped by the incredible security everywhere apparent that the hotel offered. But even in the surrounding area where we walked, we felt totally safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano S, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
Indeed, we were very impressed with your detailed comment and how much you enjoyed your stay. It is our sincere pleasure to provide the best stay and service to our guests. We really would like to express how grateful we are with your very positive opinion and impressions.

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant hotel located alongside the beach, convenient to business & entertainment districts. Copacabana Palace has a great variety of accommodation with a majority of suites, which have recently been re-designed and given a new lease of life with new fabrics and furniture. The hotel has a marvellous Semi-Olympic Size Pool, one Tennis Court, a modern Fitness Centre, a three-floor Spa and a new Lounge Bar 'Bar do Copa' open from Wed to Sat with a selection of DJs playing each night. The Hotel Cipriani Restaurant is the hotel's gastronomic flagship, a sophisticated Italian restaurant serving classics and innovative dishes from the restaurant’s namesake in Venice. The Pergula Restaurant serves Brazilian Buffet breakfast, lunch buffet and dinner a la carte by the pool. Copacabana Palace offers you a great and unique experience in the heart of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Belmond, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Copacabana Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.