We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite on top with balcony wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Copacabana Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Copacabana Palace to your Saves list
Belmond Copacabana Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #2 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Suite on top with balcony wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a beautiful room with marble bathroom and shower with huge head a waterfall! Bed was comfortable and large room quiet and well appointed. Tv bar etc. separate toilet and basin.

We overlooked the beach and stood on balcony to watch bike race start off. We saw beach games and music and very enjoyable.

The hotel has its own section on the beach with chairs a bar and attendants. of course the beach is swept and cleaned all day! Water was warm.

We were there with no renovations so was very quiet, lifts efficient, main restuarant very pricey for simple lunch, we didn't realise we would be charged for a buffet.

could not complain about the service or the wonderful variety of food, for breakfast and dinner.

We sat around the pool for a meal and watched everyone enjoy the water. Children were catered for also.

We could not fault this old world hotel with great history and enjoyed their welcoming special lime drink which I have forgotten the name, but we all went back for more

Central location in good area, but easily accessible to everything. Save up for a memorable experience.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    356
    105
    36
    17
See reviews for
330
829
108
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

You will not be disappointed at this hotel..... definitely first class in location (right across from the the beach), amenities, furnishings, service and food. This is a classic Grand Hotel by all standards and I had a wonderful stay. Only disappointment was that this trip was business and my wife was not with me...................at some point I will return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Know this is a great, historic property. During construction, difficult to have a great experience. Open units in rear building are noisy! Spa experience (hot stone massage was average, not worth the price.

Room Tip: Wait until construction is complete in November. And expect high rates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano W, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear guest,
Our commitment is to ensure the preservation and continuing evolution of this heritage of the city, and this work is an important step in this process. Also, it is our concern that, during this period, our guests are not affected by the renovation in the main buiding.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you may have. We will emphasize the care that we need to have until the end of refurbishment.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Copacabana Palace Hotel for 4 nights, great room and fantastic view over the pool and out onto the beach.The staff were very helpful and extremely polite, the room (350) was very clean and quite. We were a little disapponited we did not enter through the grand entrance as there is some extensive remodelling going on right now, BUT other than the entrance this in no way effected the stay at the hotel,on the Friday evening we booked the Chefs Table FANTASTIC. ! We have used and booked Chefs Talbles before at various places around the world THIS IS THE BEST WITHOUT FAIL! You are right there with the guys, in the kitchen, made to feel very special and the food is created to your choice right there in front of you , we were then given a signed individual menu BRILLIANT, the matched wines were well matched.
A great stay and now off to Soa Paulo Fasano , so we will see......

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano W, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
We were very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a remarkable experience of our Cipriani Restaurant Chef's table. It was very grateful to know that you apreciated the 350 room view as well as our services and team.

Regarding our entrance, it is temporary due to the refurbishment but soon the original entrance and lobby will reopen and definitely will be more spacious and impressive.

Thank you very much.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

During my stay in August 2012, the entire main building is under renovation, so guests are staying on the left (and unique) wing of the hotel.
It's a nice place, with this taste of old fashion, very good quality of staff, no issue whatsoever.
Rooms very nicely decorared, excellent beds, linen and so on.
It's a palace, no doubts. But from the old time. Not sure when the main building's renovation will be completed, and if they will have fixed:
. the piping (you hear loud and clear your neighboor flushing the toilets)
. double-glazing - even with the Quies 35 dB ear plugs, the traffic from the street remains a serious annoyment
. Etc...
Probably, they are readying the hotel for 2014 WC, and 2016 Olympics in Rio, and let's hope they will have entirely renewed the place.
For now, all those flaws from the poor aging of building and M&E a ruining the stay to my view, even though the place is a real great place. Wait until they complete the entire renovation

Room Tip: If you really want to stay, avoid the city view, but even ocean view is incredibly noisy cause of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriano W, Assistant to the General Manager at Belmond Copacabana Palace, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear guest,
We are very sorry to read that you were dissatisfied in your last stay. Concerning to the topics you have pointed out, please accept our apologies for any kind of disturbance. Your feedback will be considered in detail by the Department in charge.

Regarding to the renovation, in fact, the Copacabana Palace Hotel was designed to become an icon of the hotel chain in the country, opening its doors to the public for the first time in 1923. Therefore, our constant mission includes to preserve it as a great heritage of Rio de Janeiro city. This is on of the reasons of the refurbishment in the main building. At the same time, another strong reason is always to provide (and improve) to our guests and visitors remarkable experiences with high level services uniting evolution, modernity and tradition.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is currently going through a major renovation so it appeared that everyone is being housed in the annex. We ended up in what they called a pool view suite, but we actually had a stunning view of Copacabana beach and the ocean beyond as well as the promised pool view both from our windows and from a lovely balcony. The suite had two extra large comfortably furnished rooms, a sitting room and a bedroom, plus a large bathroom with separate tub and shower, and a large, well appointed closet. The balcony doors are doubled with both an inner and outer door which makes the suite significantly quieter. The windows are doubled too.

Maid service came twice a day with a complete cleaning during the day and a freshening of the room in the evening as part of the turn down service.

All the front desk staff speak excellent English. Housekeeping and the breakfast waiters seemed to have more limited skills, but everyone was friendly and helpful.

We got room service once - our food came quickly, was beautifully presented, and quite delicious. The price was high, but not unreasonable. Many of the items on the menu are Itslian - they make an excellent risotto.

The breakfast buffet had an extensive selection of tropical fruits as well as the usual rolls, danish, eggs, etc. We didn't pay separately for it, so I'm not sure if it is a good value as I don't know what it cost. The setting is by the pool which looks lovely, but we didn't have a chance to go for a swim.

Taxis are readily available right out front and not too expensive, but the metro is only about 4 short blocks away. It's clean, safe, and may be the fastest way to get around town given the jammed traffic at all hours.

One noise concern, the street outside is a major artery with lots of traffic, it bothered us a little when the balcony door was open, but not when we had everything closed. On the weekend, there is a club on the ground floor and, again, if you have outside doors or windows open, the music may disturb you.

Room Tip: Any pool view suite on an upper floor should have a good view of the beach and ocean too. The night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

I was lucky to stay some magic days in Rio and decided to sleep at the number 1 choice of TA. That was a good decision , this old and majestetic hotel with a clever staff and nice service made me feel extra good in wild and beautiful Rio. The style remind me a little bit of old Ritz hotel in London, you got the feeling of good stories in the walls, this hotel have a soul and you feel cool to stay there, for sure. The food was nice and the swimming pool great, morning swim before breakfast was magic and made the day start perfect, later you just walk to the beach and enjoy the action there. Perfect location at the beach and from the balcony you can enjoy the all time play and fun on the beachside. Brazil is super hot in any way, so it's so nice to stay at a real cool hotel and cool down and relax after all the action in Rio. I be back.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Copacabana Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Copacabana Palace

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1702, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Copacabana Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant hotel located alongside the beach, convenient to business & entertainment districts. Copacabana Palace has a great variety of accommodation with a majority of suites, which have recently been re-designed and given a new lease of life with new fabrics and furniture. The hotel has a marvellous Semi-Olympic Size Pool, one Tennis Court, a modern Fitness Centre, a three-floor Spa and a new Lounge Bar 'Bar do Copa' open from Wed to Sat with a selection of DJs playing each night. The Hotel Cipriani Restaurant is the hotel's gastronomic flagship, a sophisticated Italian restaurant serving classics and innovative dishes from the restaurant’s namesake in Venice. The Pergula Restaurant serves Brazilian Buffet breakfast, lunch buffet and dinner a la carte by the pool. Copacabana Palace offers you a great and unique experience in the heart of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Belmond, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Copacabana Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro
Copacabana Palace Hotel
Belmond Copacabana Palace Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Copacabana Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.