We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location Servicing wanting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Barra Rio de Janeiro

Save Saved
You added Radisson Hotel Barra Rio de Janeiro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Barra Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Lucio Costa 3150 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22630-010, Brazil (Barra da Tijuca)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Great location Servicing wanting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Hotel is obviously in dispute with owners as the staff commented might not be a Sheraton in a few weeks.The hotel is in a great location across the road from Barra beach which is probably the best beach in Rio.Sea water warm and miles of sandy coastline with reasonable calm water.However the Hotel and the rooms need a revamp and the air conditioning in the rooms struggle to get much lower than 26 degrees.but are spacious and light with balconys.
Pool and gym areas excellent but apart from breakfast the food is expensive and average for Rio standards.Internet can be slow and some of the staff struggle with English.

Room Tip: High sea view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    223
    104
    53
    22
See reviews for
138
163
37
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Barra da Tijuca has it all: beautiful beaches, amazing shopping options, and on week days less crowded than the other regions. But be aware: avoid rush hours, the transit is chaotic! To get to other spots taxi or bus are needed and with the traffic can take a lot of time. I found the overall hustle of the city more than expected, which reduced the relaxation factor. Copacabana, Ipanema, and Leblon are beautiful parts of Rio but a little too crowded - while we did visit and enjoy them, we underestimated the travel time to get to the sites from Barra which was disappointing. It didn't help that the front desk was not more knowledgable about the time required for more popular commutes. On the beach close to Marker "4" there is an Itaipava Stand - the proprietor on the right side is amazing for service and serves an "X-TuDo" sandwich that is truly amazing: like and egg breakfast sandwich and hamburger all in one.

Room Tip: Hotel Feature Tip: I was surprised for such an international tourist destination that English is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Radisson Hotel Barra Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Barra for your stay at Rio de Janeiro and for taking your time to send us your feedback. It is really important to us to know that you had a good time in our hotel. We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time staying at Sheraton Barra. The first was back in 2007. I enjoyed the pool and poolside bar. The breakfast was great in the morning, especially the fruit. The staff were very friendly.

I had two issues, the first was the slow internet speed both on wifi and hard wired internet. As a business traveler this was disappointing. The second was the damp smell in the room. Staff attempted to cover this up with air freshener but my clothes still smelled musty when I got home.

I'll be back next year. Hope to have better luck.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located on the beach at Barra and was a place to base myself while working in Rio for a week. Quite a big hotel, most things you need, rooms spacious, comfortable beds and had a wonderful view from my 12th floor apartment balcony, stunning in fact. Breakfast in the hotel has plenty of variety, the bar makes a good Caiprihinia and the pool is a great place to spend a relaxing afternoon in the sun. Not a bargain but what hotel is in this city....

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This Sheraton is a poor man's version of the Sheraton Hotels. Service is very poor. I checked in at 5 pm and my room was not ready.
Reception had very little time for me. I asked for Internet service while I waited but Internet in the bar area hardly works so I gave up.
Every day I left the Hotel at 6 am and returned at 5:30 pm. Some days, my room still had not been done by 5:30 pm. The bedrooms do not have double glazing so the noise from the traffic is terrible. Bedrooms do not have baths - only showers.
Food options in the bar area are very limited.
The best thing was the breakfast spread which was very good.
The worst thing was the poor service and ridiculous room rate considering the mediocre service.
This Hotel is 3 Star by International standards.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring ear plugs and ask for a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

the hotel is nice but old. many of the rooms have old furnitures. the humidity sometimes is high (but this is due to the fact that the hotel is facing the ocean). the restaurant serves very good food but the service was not really good (waiters hurring up to close the restaurant, while we were still eating).

Room Tip: all rooms with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Dirty rooms smelling of mould, terrible service were you are made to feel like a nuisance if you have a problem, no smiles, no welcoming attitude, even the pool boys are rude!

We arrived late Saturday evening after having travelled for 18 hours with a toddler. From the beginnnng it was total chaos. The bell staff had no control over the cars parking, our taxi tried to stand in the queue but other cars kept cutting in and the bell staff helped them regardless, taking us 15 minutes to even get to enter. Inside, ear deafening music was playing in the huge echoing hall. I felt very strongly that this was bad for my small child's ear and asked if we could wait somewhere else but they kept us here for another 30 minutes whilst struggling to check us in (some problem with foreign credit cards). Trying to sort out an issue, with staff whose English is already not great, when you can hardly hear each other, was very stressful. When we finally got our room on second floor it stank of mould. There was dirt on the carpet. It did not feel healthy. We tried to change rooms but were told hotel was full. Funny how when we threatened to leave 6 am the morning after they could organise a room on a higher floor, which was acceptable.

Breakfast looked good at first but when you get closer you realise the cut every corner possible. Juices are thin like cordial, chef for eggs was not there half of the time, etc. Pool area looked amazing at first but turns out this was also a let-down. I got pieces of metal wire stuck in my foot several times. I contact the pool staff but nobody cares. First nobody speaks English, and when I finally get one that can, the comment is "oh that's just from the metal brush we use to clean the pool". When I complain to management we were promised some money refunded but one month later the money has not materialised in our account, despite several emails and calls.

Overall, apart from the property being old and nasty, the whole place seem to have a huge service and attitude problem. Apart from the odd cleaning lady and one lady on our last day at breakfast, you don't see any smiles amongst staffs, nobody greets you when you come in the doors even with five staffs just standing there. When there is a problem, you are made to feel stupid for pointing it out. For the price, it's quite shocking. We checked out early and left for Miramar by Windsor where we paid half the price and was treated a million times better.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up in the building smells less of mould and you can air them out with less noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMello_ShBarra, On behalf of General Manager at Radisson Hotel Barra Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Sheraton Barra for stay in Rio de Janeiro and for your valuable and detailled feedback on our services. We are really disapointed to read that we couldn't deliver our promisse and provide you a real Sheraton experience. We inform that we'll be considering your comments in order to improve the quality of our services.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Hotel Barra Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Barra Rio de Janeiro

Address: Avenida Lucio Costa 3150 | Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22630-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Barra da Tijuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Hotel Barra Rio de Janeiro 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Hotel Barra Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Barra Hotel And Suites
Sheraton Barra Hotel Barra Da Tijuca
Sheraton Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sheraton
Radisson Hotel Barra Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel Barra Rio de Janeiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.