We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porto Bay Outdid theirselves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Effingham, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Porto Bay Outdid theirselves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was their with a group of 17 Pilgrims on a trip to celebrate World Youth Day 2013 at Copacabana Beach with Pope Francis. The hotel was excellent in all regards. Security for our group of 12 teens was exceptional. Rooms very clean and more than adequate,
Breakfast was always fabulous with so many choices, we also used restaurants at other times and the food was great. Location was key for our trip and it was like we had box seats for all the events on the beach having two of our rooms facing the beach and balconies for us to view all the events. Staff was great, we utilized the front desk staff for many things and they always came thru and assisted us with what we needed. Great place to stay in Rio

Room Tip: Ask for higher level room with beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our services specially your comments about our breakfast, security and front desk staff. We will be informing her of your positive observations to motivate her even further. We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, so we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    517
    128
    42
    12
See reviews for
206
704
89
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
petealan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very nice hotel 1 block from "The Grand Dame" The Copacabana Palace". Our room was ocean view, very nice and large. The bed was a very comfortable, great linens, clean as can be. The pool deck and bar at the top of the hotel gave a gorgeous view of Christ Redeemer, Sugar Mountain and of course the beach, and was a nice, quiet place to hang out after the day was over. The overall service from the staff was excellent. We found the entire neighborhood extremely safe and walked often at night back to our hotel or out to local restaurants. In fact we ended up regretting NOT bringing our watches and normally worn jewelry due to warnings. In our entire trip to Brazil we never felt threatened or intimidated and we've traveled extensively, even to the Middle East. Also, we had a hard time deciding whether to stay in Copa or Ipenema. Glad we stayed in Copa. as the beaches are much larger and wider.

Room Tip: Can't beat the view from the ocean front rooms. I spent many relaxing moments enjoying the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel as your accomodation in Rio.
Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it.
We are so delighted to read all your comments about our room, pool area and courteous staff, it´s also very nice to hear you felt safe in our city.
Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

Yours faithfully,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

It was my first trip to Rio and glad to stayed in this perfectly hotel. Check-in was quick and easy by the helpful friendly staff on reception, great for recommendations and organising bookings. Porto Bay is fantastic location! spacious comfortable room facing the Ocean.

Well-serviced conference room and business centre. The top floor had a pool, health club and bar. The breakfast buffet is excellent, good and plenty varieties overlooking Copacabana, just splendid.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we're ever able to visit Rio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Porto Bay Rio Internacional.
We greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding our breakfast and the service from our front desk. It's very important for us the well-being of our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The rooms were recently renovated and very clean. The complimentary breakfast is one of the best I've ever seen and covered a wide range of food groups, including all the tropical fruit you could want. The pool was standard sized and well maintained but the view over Copacabana beach was what made it for me. You could also see Christo Redentor on the mountain in the background. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. There is plenty of good restaurants around and the beach is fantastic. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing us as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Rio and for taking the time to complete your review. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the service from our staff, it´s really good to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio. Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel last autumn. It was not my first choice but because of Rock in Rio, my usual hotel was fully booked. I must say that the suite was very large and was enjoyable, with quite design furnitures. The only unpleasant thing was the floating wooden floor that made some noise while walking. The location is good if you want to be on Copacabna and the view from the suite is perfect.

Room Tip: Choose the suite, not as expensive as you may think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you in Porto Bay Rio Internacional! Thank you for you feedback, we are delighted you enjoy your stay with us. It is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

By European or US standards it's just average, but in Rio's inflated market the Porto Bay is a good value option. Our room had a balcony with sea view (from the side if you hung over the rail!) and was comfortable and clean. The roof pool is a nice little area, but the big plus is the private area on the beach with deckchairs, towels and waiter service. It's in a great location fo.r Copacabana.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel.
We greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding our pool area and the view from the room. It's very important for us the well-being of our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Best Regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights at the end of a tiring tour of South America and were delighted with our stay. The hotel is not on the grand scale - it lacks a lounge area where one can sit in comfort and relax, it does have large settees in the reception area but these are more for look than comfort, and who wants to relax in a reception area? There is a small coffee/ bar area but we were not really tempted. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, though the bathroom was small by comparison with other 4 star hotels.
The breakfast was excellent as was the bar meal we had on the roof-top terrace. The terrace is a lovely area with reasonable swimming pool and seating/loungers, with great views of the Copacabana beach, Corcovado and Sugar Loaf mountains. There is also a well-equipped fitness suite and sauna on the roof-top area. The location is fantastic with lots of restaurants nearby - we favoured La Fabrique for quality and value. The hotel also has a beach kiosk for drinks and ice creams etc which you can charge to the room to save taking cash with you, and its own beach loungers area which is small but adequate.
The lack of double glazing does mean rooms on the lower floors would certainly be affected by traffic and other seafront noise - we were on the 17th floor and it was OK.
Staff were excellent - especially at breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a room on higher floors and away from very clunky lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!

Warm Regards from Rio de Janeiro!
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds – the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.