We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality, service and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great quality, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

As this was the last hotel on our South American trip, we decided to splash out on a room with a view. After reading the great reviews and looking at the fabulous views from the rooms we opted for the Porto Bay and we were not disappointed.

We had booked direct with the hotel as the the prepaid rates were as good as I could find anywhere on the web. I had been expecting my credit card to be charged immediately on booking, however after I spoke to them, they confirmed the charge would be made 1 week before arrival. As luck would have it, the credit card was stolen in Argentina and had to be cancelled. I informed the hotel of this and they very kindly said they would wait for payment until I checked in. We felt this was excellent customer service, especially given the upset of the theft.

We had arranged collection from the airport, and our driver was there waiting for us and we had a very comfortable ride through the Rio suburbs, that took about an hour.

On arrival we received a complimentary glass of champagne whilst we checked in and were taken to our room on the 15th floor. Unfortunately we had a picture window rather than the requested balcony, but after a quick phone call to reception, the porter returned with keys to a different room. The room was superb, big and spacious, with everything you would expect in top quality hotel and a balcony overlooking Copacabana Beach. A daily news sheet was delivered to your door, with news headlines from your own country – nice touch. There is a pool on the roof top, with complimentary towels & sun beds.

Breakfast was served on the 5th floor overlooking the beach. Service was superb as was the choice – you would be hard pressed to not find something to eat here.

The staff were exceptionally helpful, with regards to public transport and tours, but due to the location, it is easy to get to all the key sights on your own. A 10 minute walk to the subway gets you downtown in 20 minutes and the buses run from 2 streets behind the hotel and you can be at Sugar Loaf Mountain in 15 minutes. There are plenty of restaurant within a few minutes walk of the hotel.

The only negative is the cost of WiFi, but the signal was strong in the room and all the public areas. Finally on check out our 'extras' bill was correct and the pre booked taxi back to the airport arrived at the time we requested.

There are cheaper hotels in Rio, but if you are looking for excellent quality with great location and service, then we can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this wonderful detailed review. We are so delighted to read all your comments about our service, confortable rooms and courteous staff.
I already shared your appraisal with everyone and they were really happy to know that they exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    517
    128
    42
    12
See reviews for
206
703
89
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Being right on Copacabana, this hotel has some wonderful views if you get a sea-facing room. I would not go so far as to say that the location is great because the Copa area has a very has-been feel. There aren't really any trendy restaurants or boutiques- for that you have to go to Ipanema. But Copa is definitely a superior beach. Trade-off.

Other than that, the hotel is fairly average for the price you pay. The breakfast was good, but the menu never changed.

The Pros:
Sweeping views of Copa and Avenida Atlantica, the nice front desk lady who activated our sim card, the cafe on the ground floor accessed from the side street, they didn't charge for an extra bed in our room for our daughter.

The Cons:
They charge for wi-fi access. The beach service only runs until 5:20 pm, after which you can get towels at the front-desk, but no chairs/umbrellas from the hotel, repetitive menu at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor.
Your informations are very important to continue improving our services.
We hope to welcome you again in the next future snd have the opportunity to make this stay a more pleasant one.
If you need special assistance do not hesite in contact us.
Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel, which has good rates for Rio, was in an excellent position on Copocabana beach, was clean, tidy and the room had everything you required if slightly basic. The views from the room were excellent and the balcony was a real plus. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and the rooftop bar brilliant for a drink with a view.

What makes this hotel is the staff. The receptionists were excellent and went out of their way to help us in every way possible with every obscure request. The beach attendant deserves a mention as being friendly, attentive and nothing was too much bother for him (he even cooled my wife's feet with a hose!).

The only reasons it is not 5 stars are that it was slightly noisy in the morning when the staff were moving things at 0600, the pool is tiny and really not a pool at all, the fitness suite is basic but then you have the beach to run along and no free internet connection (but that is standard in most hotels of this nature).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de relações públicas at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments on Trip Advisor.
Your opinion is very important to keep our good services.
We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Look. I don't usually like highrise hotels of any description. And I wasn't sure I had chosen the right hotel because there were mixed reviews. Well, let me tell you. Our stay in Rio was made by our hotel, it's staff, it's unbelievable buffet breakfast (complimentary) and it's attentive, charming staff. We arrived at sunset on Dec 25 to a Copacabana beach packed with 2 million people waiting for the free, open air Stevie Wonder concert. At check in, we were offered a glass of champagne. After traveling all day, it was so refreshing. (In fact, the next day, I went to the front desk and said we were checking out so we could check back in and get more champagne. Our gal just smiled and said "You don't have to do that. Would you like another glass" and we did!).

When we got up to our room on the 17th floor and opened the door, we couldn't believe the view. We opened the sliding balcony doors and there right below us was the Copacabana beach, the concert stage and the hundreds of thousands of locals strolling on the sand in the warm summer air listening to the warm up reggae band. What a rush. We had our own private 17th floor balcony seat!

The pool on the top 20th floor is admittedly small. However, with record temps of 40C, all we wanted was to dip and float. Lap swimmers go elsewhere, please. Our room was simple, clean, stylish and had English CNN. Room safe. Fridge.

But it was the breakfast room on 5th floor overlooking the beach and the food. Oh la la. I have never had such an array of tropical fruits on offer! I tried fruit I had never seen before and hardly paid attention to the egg dishes, cheeses, meats, pastries, etc. My only complaint: they charged $7. for cappaccinos ( some day I will learn to spell that word) and they charged for internet. I found that petty and niggling. It was almost the only place where wifi and internet usage was not free on our 3 week trip.

We toured the favelas with Urbanadventuresriodejaneiro.com and it was a real learning experience. Luis was terrific. It explained how Rio is using a "pacification program" to make them safe. We used the clean, efficient metro. We walked Copacabana at night and Ipanema by day. We took local buses. Never did we feel threatened or in any danger. The police and security presence is every where. No worries as compared to 4 years ago. Of course, we carried nothing and wore our pesos "on the skin" with our valuables in lock up in the hotel room safe.

On this trip, we went to Chile, Argentina, Uruguay and Brazil. Our 3 nights in Rio and at the Porto Bay were highlights for sure.

Room Tip: You really want a beach view or what is the point? Ask for a room high up to escape street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly. There is no greater pleasure for the direction and whole team, than having surpassed your expectations during your stay at Porto Bay Rio International. We really try our best to make your stay with us unforgettable.
We hope to welcome you back with a glass of champgne !! Do not hesitate to contact me for any request,
Warms regards from the hole Porto Bay team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed here 12/21 through 12/26. The location is great, the hotel was very clean, and the staff was amazing.
My only complaints were:

1. No free wifi - they charge you 20 reals per day or 60 for three days which sucks for a hotel that costs as much as it does per night. I mean even the little cafe next door had free wifi so I don't see what the big deals is for the hotel to offers this....even if only in the lobby and at the rooftop pool.

2. We did not get the glass of champaign upon checking due to the bar hours changing prior to our arrival.

Other then that....we had a great time here. On Xmas eve they had a dinner, and some of the staff attended with their families. They made us feel at home which was great being that we were away from our families during the holidays.

The rooftop pool was very nice...the pool was small but still a nice option. the bar and food at the bar were very good. And the view was amazing. We had the opportunity to see Stevie Wonder preform, the stage was right across from the hotel so we had a perfect view.

We stayed in room 909 which was a triple room with a small balcony over looking the street but could still see the beach.
Room was clean, they give you complimentary Porto Bay/ Haviana flip flops, and the breakfast is Devine!

Room Tip: High Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are so delighted to read your comments about how our staff could made you feel like home and that you enjoyed our breakfast and flip flops in the room.
In relation to the points that you highlighted, we have reviewed your feedback in details and we do welcome all suggestions, so that we can focus more accurately on improving our standards.
We hope to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston-Tx
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I spent some days in Porto Bay in December and was fantastic. We loved evrything about this hotel: comfort, the view, the beach Copacabana just crossing the Atlantica Ave., the service at the beach, the people, the breakfast...everything is just walking distance. First three days 1108(December 13 to 21) and then the rest of the stay 1803(December 23 to 25). We highly recommend Porto Bay Rio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional as your accommodation in Rio. In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beach service, the breakfast and our staff. We hope to hear from you very soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Porto Bay Hotel , Rio de Janiero , a great stay at an excellent hotel overlooking Copacabana Beach . I had a corner room , oceanfront , balcony enjoying the sights and sounds of Copacabana Beach . Modern furnishings , comfy bed and relaxing shower . The breakfast buffet provides a great selection of the local fruit .The views from the pool deck include Sugarloaf Mtn . VALUE

Room Tip: oceanview with breakfast is the way to go . Use hotel car service , comparable to taxi fares
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay Rio Internacional as your accommodation in Rio. In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beach service, the breakfast and our staff. We hope to hear from you very soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds – the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.