We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Rio... a near perfect stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
1 FREE NIGHT
Ranked #8 of 236 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For Rio... a near perfect stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our first three nights were a near disaster at one of Rio's so-rated "five star" hotels. We moved to the Porto Bay by chance and could not have been happier. Unlike some of the other bigger hotel names, the Porto Bay is exactly what it says it is.

Nothing in Rio (nor much of Brazil) is cheap so never expect great value for money. But this hotel made us very happy and was reasonable value for money. Nice clean and spacious rooms, with a decent breakfast to keep you going until the afternoon. The rooftop pool, with a beer of caipirinha in hand, at the end of a long day in the sun, gives you amazing views over Copacabana Beach. The pool is not for swimming but great for relaxing and cooling off.

When we wanted to get out of Rio for a few days, the front desk gave us a number of recommendations and helped organise transport and accommodation. And was done with a smile. And we ended up choosing another Porto Bay hotel based on the quality of this one (local staff did not even suggest it).

I will head back to the hotel next trip.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have full view of the beach, but does not matter too much with the rooftop bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.

Warm Regards from Porto Bay!

With best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    611
    147
    47
    17
See reviews for
254
838
98
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meopham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located for Copacabana beach , just a short stroll away. The room was very pleasant , quite spacious and kept very clean. I could not fault any of the hotel staff, all are very polite and more than willing to help. The hotel offers a beach service i.e umbrellas and loungers ( wuth cushions), which we found very accommodating. Rio is an expensive city and the cost of this hotel and its services reflects this. My only criticism is the alternative showers provided to guests who need to vacate their room at 12 noon ( check-out time) and where there are no other rooms are available. The shower facility provided was very primitive, very very basic. All things being equal, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - I enjoyed my stay and I would book again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review, We are very happy to know you were satisfied with the hotel staff. We will be informing them of your positive observations to motivate them even further. We also do welcome all suggestions, so that we can focus more accurately on improving our standards. We were delighted to have you as guest.

Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great hotel. Merely the moldered door frame in the bathroom was disgusting. Besides that very clean. Nice front desk, great room. Was had a really lovely stay in this recommendable hotel.

Breakfast gigantic.
The from other guests mentioned problem with the congestion of the elevator we found as acceptable. To the rush hour of course you could times a couple of minutes wait, but which is it, one is on vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our frontdesk service, our room and our breakfast. This is feedback such as yours that enables us to reinforce the quality of our service and we really appreciate your constructive comments about the cleaning at the room. We were delighted to have you as guest.

Best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had champagne as a welcome drink. The receptionist was very friendly, spoke good english and very helpful. We arrived before check in time- 2pm- and like everybody else was promised some kind of priority.

Pool area was great...but small. Not enough seats and sun-bed for everybody. Amazing view of Copacabana beach from the pool deck.

The room was nothing of an extraordinary thinking of the price we paid. We expected so much more. We apparently paid for the location. The bathroom was ok. they have marble bath tub. I liked it. They had old worn towels and bath robes. They didn't have hair conditioner, they only provided shampoo and lotion.

Breakfast was really good! I was very satisfied and I liked the service the waiters provided to the guests. My cup of hot chocolate was always kept full. My husband was happy with the breakfast. It was just right.

Some bartenders at the pool bar would ask you to sign the bill even after you paid with cash and gave tip. Then later, you'd be billed for such drinks upon check out. Not nice!

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay.

Room Tip: If you want extra towels, just order & you'll get it right away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing your comments concerning your recent stay at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel and we sincerely apologize for not having met your expectations.

All criticisms are taken constructively, as they are a valuable path to helps us get our
services better. We have reviewed your feedback in detail with our whole staff, specially with our food and beverage manager. But we also noted you enjoyed our front desk and breakfast services. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to host you again in a near future.

With best regards,
Amanda Vieira
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked one of the suites. This was to be our splurge on out trip to South America. Neither my wife nor I felt it was worth it. That is not to say the room and view was not very nice, but was it worth $550 a day? I think not. Unless you really want the extra room, I would recommend just getting a regular room (although I don’t know what they look like nor how this price compares to other hotels in the area), and from the hotel website it looks like the luxury room has a better view.

The hotel is right on the beach. This is the big plus. Our suite had a very large room with the bed and desk, and a second room with a couch, TV etc. No question this was a very nice small apartment. And we had a balcony overlooking Copacabana. The bed was comfortable. The staff very helpful. The buffet was superb. The website photos are accurate as to the hotel and rooms.

But there were issues. If you are staying on Copacabana, you are there for the beach, right? So you would think the hotel makes a point to do its best in this area. No such luck. On the beach they had one staff member with plastic chaises and beat up umbrellas. The chairs have no cushion and are uncomfortable. The Umbrellas were very flimsy. Granted we had a day with wind, but the beach vendor’s chairs and umbrellas looked far better and did much better in the wind. Moreover, the hotel beach guy had set the chairs up in the middle of the very wide sand. About half way to the water. Everyone else was sitting near the water. Its like we were in the middle of the desert (not to mention part of coming to Copacabana is to see everyone else). We asked to move our chairs and he said we could not. Because of the wind and blowing sand, after a while we decided to go up stairs to the roof top pool area (which has a lovely view). Unfortunately, they only have umbrellas at the tables, not by the chaises, and they were not letting people open the umbrellas because of the wind (which frankly was a fraction of how windy it was on the beach). Putting aside the wind issue, they still did not have umbrellas you could use while relaxing on a chaise. Given the luxury nature of the hotel, I would have expected quite more from the beach equipment and staff, and, despite the wind, they still should have umbrellas available not just at a table.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The last time i was in Rio I stayed at the Copacabana Palace, and for $550 a night was treated like royalty. The bar was set high

I would give this hotel a 7/10, some aspects are better than CP, but many aren't, but it is a lot cheaper, so that's understandable.

The views around the poolside are great, probably one of the best in Rio, a lovely place to chill in the day and for sunset, after coming back from trips. The pool is SO small though, the photos are clever in disguising how small, think large jacuzzi and you're there

The rooms weren't made up until 4pm for 3 of the days of our 4 night stay, pretty unacceptable for a $320 a night hotel. But the room was nice, decent size and when cleaned, it was clean, tidy and comfortable, with a good side view of the beach

The reception area were helpful when needed, but very busy so often had to wait a while

The hallways on the floors are so dimly lit, you literally can't see a thing, and often the elevators are a 5 minute wait!

Overall, I would recommend, but it just has a few key details i'd like to see ironed out before I could make it a 4/5

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had an amazing stay at Rio International and whenever I come back to Rio I’ll choose it again. The hotel is perfectly located at Copacabana beach, it’s easy and quick to get everywhere you want from there. The hotel itself has well deserved four stars. The restaurant with a view of the beach, where the breakfast, lunch and dinner are served, is very nice. The breakfast, with its various hot and cold options, is delicious and should satisfy the taste of various nationalities. Rooms are spacious, equipped with good taste, very clean and the view from the balconies is absolutely breathtaking... But my favourite part of the hotel is the last floor (20th) swimming pool area – you can sunbathe enjoying an amazing view (everything between the Pao de Acucar and the Cristo Redendor) while having some delicious drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#10 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#4 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 2,125 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#13 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Copacabana
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacaban...
#19 of 236 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds – the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.