We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bet for Copacabana but pricey and amenities and service could be better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Save Saved
You added Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 212 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good bet for Copacabana but pricey and amenities and service could be better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We booked one of the suites. This was to be our splurge on out trip to South America. Neither my wife nor I felt it was worth it. That is not to say the room and view was not very nice, but was it worth $550 a day? I think not. Unless you really want the extra room, I would recommend just getting a regular room (although I don’t know what they look like nor how this price compares to other hotels in the area), and from the hotel website it looks like the luxury room has a better view.

The hotel is right on the beach. This is the big plus. Our suite had a very large room with the bed and desk, and a second room with a couch, TV etc. No question this was a very nice small apartment. And we had a balcony overlooking Copacabana. The bed was comfortable. The staff very helpful. The buffet was superb. The website photos are accurate as to the hotel and rooms.

But there were issues. If you are staying on Copacabana, you are there for the beach, right? So you would think the hotel makes a point to do its best in this area. No such luck. On the beach they had one staff member with plastic chaises and beat up umbrellas. The chairs have no cushion and are uncomfortable. The Umbrellas were very flimsy. Granted we had a day with wind, but the beach vendor’s chairs and umbrellas looked far better and did much better in the wind. Moreover, the hotel beach guy had set the chairs up in the middle of the very wide sand. About half way to the water. Everyone else was sitting near the water. Its like we were in the middle of the desert (not to mention part of coming to Copacabana is to see everyone else). We asked to move our chairs and he said we could not. Because of the wind and blowing sand, after a while we decided to go up stairs to the roof top pool area (which has a lovely view). Unfortunately, they only have umbrellas at the tables, not by the chaises, and they were not letting people open the umbrellas because of the wind (which frankly was a fraction of how windy it was on the beach). Putting aside the wind issue, they still did not have umbrellas you could use while relaxing on a chaise. Given the luxury nature of the hotel, I would have expected quite more from the beach equipment and staff, and, despite the wind, they still should have umbrellas available not just at a table.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    483
    121
    40
    11
See reviews for
190
659
84
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The last time i was in Rio I stayed at the Copacabana Palace, and for $550 a night was treated like royalty. The bar was set high

I would give this hotel a 7/10, some aspects are better than CP, but many aren't, but it is a lot cheaper, so that's understandable.

The views around the poolside are great, probably one of the best in Rio, a lovely place to chill in the day and for sunset, after coming back from trips. The pool is SO small though, the photos are clever in disguising how small, think large jacuzzi and you're there

The rooms weren't made up until 4pm for 3 of the days of our 4 night stay, pretty unacceptable for a $320 a night hotel. But the room was nice, decent size and when cleaned, it was clean, tidy and comfortable, with a good side view of the beach

The reception area were helpful when needed, but very busy so often had to wait a while

The hallways on the floors are so dimly lit, you literally can't see a thing, and often the elevators are a 5 minute wait!

Overall, I would recommend, but it just has a few key details i'd like to see ironed out before I could make it a 4/5

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had an amazing stay at Rio International and whenever I come back to Rio I’ll choose it again. The hotel is perfectly located at Copacabana beach, it’s easy and quick to get everywhere you want from there. The hotel itself has well deserved four stars. The restaurant with a view of the beach, where the breakfast, lunch and dinner are served, is very nice. The breakfast, with its various hot and cold options, is delicious and should satisfy the taste of various nationalities. Rooms are spacious, equipped with good taste, very clean and the view from the balconies is absolutely breathtaking... But my favourite part of the hotel is the last floor (20th) swimming pool area – you can sunbathe enjoying an amazing view (everything between the Pao de Acucar and the Cristo Redendor) while having some delicious drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great hotel on Copacabana beach. Very ideally located. Great views from the balconies. One of the very few hotels that have balconies. We did not have a deluxe room but view from our side room was also great. Staff was courteous and friendly. Hotel is clean. There is absolutely breathtaking view from the roof top swimming pool and exercise room. There is also a baron the roof top which is open till 10 pm. This hotel is very popular among foreigners. Hotel could use some upgrading. I did not appreciate that they charged almost $40 for 3 days of WiFi. Otherwise it was great.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have balconies directly facing the beach. The side rooms are OK too. U can see the stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked suite 1801. Luxury hotels are pricey in Rio (roughly $500 per night). Our room was spacious; certainly not the posh elegance you would expect at this price point (bathroom had L'Occitaine, room had Nespresso machine, welcome champagne drink...but tub was plastic). Still it was nicely decorated and the view (bay/beach) from our balcony was delightful. Great buffet breakfast with incredible views of bay included in room rate. Rooftop pool was awesome. I would stay here again. Service was friendly and fast. We used hotel service for return booking to airport. It was convenient. Used prepaid taxi into city from airport.

Room Tip: Given that there were 3 of us, I would recommend ponying up for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My guests there complained that they were treated rudely by staff. When they had questions about restaurants or activities, the hotel was unhelpful. When they miscommunicated with a tour guide on a start time, they refused to help and made the guests resolve it on their own. The breakfast was reported as very good, and the rooftop pool enjoyable. But the staff treatment of guests must improve. I doubt I would send a guest there in the future given the complaint.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Let me tell you why we loved it.

First, the rooms are big, clean, modern -- we had a HUGE bed, large bathroom and a flatscreen TV. Our room looked out at Copacabana beach and the main drag, which, from memory, is the Avenida Del Sol (avenue of the sun).

Then there's the roof-top bar and pool -- which was pretty quiet while we were there. Which was great. Because we had it pretty much to ourselves, and we sub-baked, ordered drinks and splashed around in the pool. (Note, it's only a bit over waist-deep, but that was perfect for us, because we just bobbed down, glided a bit and splashed around.)

They gave us a free glass of champagne on arrival.

It's right across the road from Copacabana beach, which is always full of people playing volleyball, soccer or this weird soccer/volley ball hybrid.

We hired a driver from there to take us to Sugarloaf Mountain and the big state of Jesus... He looked after us all day long, and always bobbed up at the right time (when we were just starting to think "hey, where is this guy" -- bang, there he was.)

The hotel guys did everything we wanted them to -- getting us a car to the airport, letting us borrow their DVD player etc.

It was kind of expensive. But we budgeted for it. (We had roughed it in other parts of the country and wanted this to be a bit more luxurious.) And had a great time. Highly recommend to anyone travelling to Rio.

P.S. The buffett breakfast was brilliant.

Room Tip: I don't know what other people's rooms were like, but we really enjoyed ours -- it was on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds – the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.