We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent all rounder, but a few errors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Save Saved
You added Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #4 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent all rounder, but a few errors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The last time i was in Rio I stayed at the Copacabana Palace, and for $550 a night was treated like royalty. The bar was set high

I would give this hotel a 7/10, some aspects are better than CP, but many aren't, but it is a lot cheaper, so that's understandable.

The views around the poolside are great, probably one of the best in Rio, a lovely place to chill in the day and for sunset, after coming back from trips. The pool is SO small though, the photos are clever in disguising how small, think large jacuzzi and you're there

The rooms weren't made up until 4pm for 3 of the days of our 4 night stay, pretty unacceptable for a $320 a night hotel. But the room was nice, decent size and when cleaned, it was clean, tidy and comfortable, with a good side view of the beach

The reception area were helpful when needed, but very busy so often had to wait a while

The hallways on the floors are so dimly lit, you literally can't see a thing, and often the elevators are a 5 minute wait!

Overall, I would recommend, but it just has a few key details i'd like to see ironed out before I could make it a 4/5

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    616
    446
    111
    38
    10
See reviews for
170
599
78
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had an amazing stay at Rio International and whenever I come back to Rio I’ll choose it again. The hotel is perfectly located at Copacabana beach, it’s easy and quick to get everywhere you want from there. The hotel itself has well deserved four stars. The restaurant with a view of the beach, where the breakfast, lunch and dinner are served, is very nice. The breakfast, with its various hot and cold options, is delicious and should satisfy the taste of various nationalities. Rooms are spacious, equipped with good taste, very clean and the view from the balconies is absolutely breathtaking... But my favourite part of the hotel is the last floor (20th) swimming pool area – you can sunbathe enjoying an amazing view (everything between the Pao de Acucar and the Cristo Redendor) while having some delicious drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great hotel on Copacabana beach. Very ideally located. Great views from the balconies. One of the very few hotels that have balconies. We did not have a deluxe room but view from our side room was also great. Staff was courteous and friendly. Hotel is clean. There is absolutely breathtaking view from the roof top swimming pool and exercise room. There is also a baron the roof top which is open till 10 pm. This hotel is very popular among foreigners. Hotel could use some upgrading. I did not appreciate that they charged almost $40 for 3 days of WiFi. Otherwise it was great.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have balconies directly facing the beach. The side rooms are OK too. U can see the stat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked suite 1801. Luxury hotels are pricey in Rio (roughly $500 per night). Our room was spacious; certainly not the posh elegance you would expect at this price point (bathroom had L'Occitaine, room had Nespresso machine, welcome champagne drink...but tub was plastic). Still it was nicely decorated and the view (bay/beach) from our balcony was delightful. Great buffet breakfast with incredible views of bay included in room rate. Rooftop pool was awesome. I would stay here again. Service was friendly and fast. We used hotel service for return booking to airport. It was convenient. Used prepaid taxi into city from airport.

Room Tip: Given that there were 3 of us, I would recommend ponying up for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

My guests there complained that they were treated rudely by staff. When they had questions about restaurants or activities, the hotel was unhelpful. When they miscommunicated with a tour guide on a start time, they refused to help and made the guests resolve it on their own. The breakfast was reported as very good, and the rooftop pool enjoyable. But the staff treatment of guests must improve. I doubt I would send a guest there in the future given the complaint.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Let me tell you why we loved it.

First, the rooms are big, clean, modern -- we had a HUGE bed, large bathroom and a flatscreen TV. Our room looked out at Copacabana beach and the main drag, which, from memory, is the Avenida Del Sol (avenue of the sun).

Then there's the roof-top bar and pool -- which was pretty quiet while we were there. Which was great. Because we had it pretty much to ourselves, and we sub-baked, ordered drinks and splashed around in the pool. (Note, it's only a bit over waist-deep, but that was perfect for us, because we just bobbed down, glided a bit and splashed around.)

They gave us a free glass of champagne on arrival.

It's right across the road from Copacabana beach, which is always full of people playing volleyball, soccer or this weird soccer/volley ball hybrid.

We hired a driver from there to take us to Sugarloaf Mountain and the big state of Jesus... He looked after us all day long, and always bobbed up at the right time (when we were just starting to think "hey, where is this guy" -- bang, there he was.)

The hotel guys did everything we wanted them to -- getting us a car to the airport, letting us borrow their DVD player etc.

It was kind of expensive. But we budgeted for it. (We had roughed it in other parts of the country and wanted this to be a bit more luxurious.) And had a great time. Highly recommend to anyone travelling to Rio.

P.S. The buffett breakfast was brilliant.

Room Tip: I don't know what other people's rooms were like, but we really enjoyed ours -- it was on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rio is an expensive city and you don't get value for money for hotels. The same applies to the Porto Bay, which is why my rating is 4 stars not 5. Having said that, the hotel itself is lovely. Location is perfect, room was clean and comfortable and yes, as mentioned in some of the other reviews the rooms face a side street, but when you're on your balcony and can see Copacabana Beach in one direction and Cristo Redentor in the other, you can't really complain. We arrived at midnight after a delayed flight and were greeted with a glass of champagne. Breakfast was a fantastic buffet. Rooftop pool and bar is a great place to watch the sunset. The staff were all polite and helpful. If I came back to Rio, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds – the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.