We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel on Copacabana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel to your Saves list
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel on Copacabana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This may well be one of the better hotels at Copacabana. Rio was the real start to our South American vacation and so we were looking forward to a good hotel experience. The hotel didn't disappoint! We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. The room wasn't that large but being a corner room we had great views along the beach in all directions. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and was one of the best for our trip. Noise was never a problem. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room for really good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    515
    128
    42
    12
See reviews for
204
699
89
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

With an excellent location on the Copacabana this hotel is well worth the price.
Could be a bit better furnished to earn itsb4 stars, but no regrets.
Staff very courteous and friendly.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a great panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMeda, Front Office Manager at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay Rio and for taking the time to complete your review,
Also thank you for your lovely comment about our staff that is always doing their best to offer a good service as our primary concern is our guest’s satisfaction.
Warms regards from Porto Bay!

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We spent only two nighst in this hotel this March in room ovelooking Copacabana beach. Reception desk was very polite and helpful. Breakfast was good too. Rooms need some fresh paint and supervising but the bed was large and clean. Bathrooms were dissapontigly small. Corridors are dark due to the to strict energy sparing system.Top floor swimming pool overlooking Copacabana beach and pool service are excellent.

Room Tip: Do not be diissapointed comparing this hotel with nearby Palace Beach Hotel. Room rates are diffeere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMeda, Front Office Manager at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you detailed review. We are so delighted to read your comments about our courteous, helpful and efficient staff..
I already shared your appraisal with everyone and they were really happy.
In relation to the points that you highlighted, we have reviewed your feedback in details and we do welcome all suggestions, so that we can focus more accurately on improving our standards.
We hope to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We arrived Tuesday am and was greeted by a friendly, English speaking staff and a glass of champagne. We had booked our stay with Hotels.com and had decided we would upgrade to the suite. So glad we did! It was worth the extra money and the views were incredible. Our room was clean, bed a little too firm, the stocked fridge was a little too expensive, but had a great selection. The pool bar/resturant was pretty limited and not willing to change my too strong of a drink, into something that just added pineapple juice because it would change the color of the drink and not be a Blue Lagoon. So i ordered a different drink and was pleasantly surprised to have gotten a vodka pineapple drink with fresh crushed pineapple in it. The restaurant was average, but expensive like most are in Rio. Our room was serviced in a timely manor-tip the housekeeper and it will get better! Day 2 our toilet got plugged and they fixed our problem within the hour. The location was nice- close to lots of restaurants, and across the street from the beach. Not sure it could get much better. If I ever come back to Rio, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was my fourth stay at the Porto Bay Rio. I have to say, as always the hotel execeeded my expectations. Always a welcome drink upon my arrival, actually, everyone's arrivals. If you like rooms with balconies, I advise for superior room or suite, deluxe rooms have no balconies, BUT the views are spectacular. From all the hotels I have stayed in Copacabana Beach, the Porto Bay is the only one with floor to celling windows. I always opt for a hotel driver, of course it cost a little more, but that's the price we pay for comfort.

Upon my arrival, I am impressed by the employes; they really know/remember me. Luciana and Gustavo are always courteous and professional during my stay. The bellmen Daniel and Rafael always assist me with my luggage in an effortless manner. Moreover, I am always greeted with sincere kindness by the maitre-d in the breakfast room. I've also enjoyed interacting with the other professionals in the hotel, including, in particular, Francesca.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMeda, Front Office Manager at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your motivating and helpful feedback.
There is no greater pleasure for the direction and whole team, than having surpassed your expectations during your stay at Porto Bay.
It is a great pleasure to hear that enjoyed our breakfast and specially our staff that is always doing their best considering your satisfaction and well-being during your stay.
Thank you once more for choosing us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.

Warms regards,

Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomigton, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

i really am glad we picked this hotel. as everyone says, it is quite pricey. But you are on Copacabana beach in a great location near lots of restaurants. it was worth it, and i would stay again. a lot of the other area hotels didn't look as nice and I'm sure were just as expensive. or they were ones that were even more expensive. the service at the hotel was great. the driver was prompt to pick us up at the airport (however the drive was a nightmare, took 2 1/2 hours, but not his fault) and on the way back (which btw only took 20 minutes). front desk was always helpful when i asked for recommendations for restaurants or other things.

the bedroom was very nice with a decent balcony. it was a decent size. the bathroom is too small, however i was not surprised and OK with it considering the location. i have had smaller bathrooms, but not my fave. i also liked they had dual voltage for my flatiron in the bathroom. everything was clean and mostly well maintained. Breakfast was good every morning.

the beach in front of the hotel was nice. they have a stand on the beach for chairs and towels. It is walking distance to ipanema beach, depending on your judge of walking distance (~40 minute walk). however, we were tired and took a cab ride for R$20 or something. i am not positive.

not that it matters because i should have checked, but they charge you tons to make phone calls. for local or international. so be prepared for that.

but i did a lot of research beforehand, and was happy with the choice. good mix of location, nice hotel, and price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMeda, Front Office Manager at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are really proud that your overall impression from the Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel was excellent.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our front desk service that's always doing their best to assist all the guests with their doubts and their needs. We are always improving our services.
Also thank you for your positive comments about our rooms and our beach service.
Our Chef will be so proud as well, to hear such lovely comments about our breakfast service.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at the Porto Bay for 4 nights at the beginning of our tour of Brazil and Argentina. Arriving after a long flight we were pleased to see the driver we had asked them to send to collect us from the airport and greatly revived by the glass of Champagne waiting for us at reception. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful.
Our room was on the side of the hotel with a balcony with a side sea view. It was a good size but a little stark and not very luxurious. Comfortable balcony furniture and a couple of easy chairs in the room would have made all the difference. We had twin beds which were huge and very comfortable. There was a mini bar and also a kettle with a limited number of tea bags, coffee sachets and no milk! The bathroom was adequate but a little tired. Everywhere was spotlessly clean but our room was not serviced until the middle of the afternoon one day, just as we were hoping to change to go out.
The hotel has a small pool on the roof top with a bar. A very pleasant place for lunch. The views over Rio were magnificent. Just opposite is Copacabana beach, where the hotel provides umbrellas and chairs for residents.
After many years of travelling I have to say that the breakfast ranks among the best, if not the best, I have ever had. There was a huge variety and everything was very fresh and prepared to perfection. One night the hotel offered a buffet in the dining room, which we took advantage of, again excellent food.
To get around Rio we used taxis which the concierge arranged. As we were 4 this was the best proposition, but we did once find our way back by bus. There wasn't any tourist information in the hotel so take your own guide books and read up before you go. They would arrange tours for you if you so wished, but we preferred to sight see at our own pace.
It was a wonderful stay, but quite expensive. I would have expected a bit more luxury in the room for the cost.

Room Tip: I understand that rooms on the 19th floor have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMeda, Front Office Manager at Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay Rio International Hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services especially from the front desk staff and that you enjoyed our welcome with a glass of sparkling wine.
It is pleasing receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.
Also Our Chef will be very pleased to read such lovely comments about our breakfast and “Botequim dinner”.

Warms regards,

Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 1500, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right on Copacabana beach in the spectacular city of Rio de Janeiro, Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers you the best of two worlds – the sensational city and a breathtaking view over the beach right on the doorstep... Step into Rio Internacional and feel at home - make the most of your stay! Look out over Copacabana beach and revitalise yourself with the sea breeze. The ideal location for an unforgettable holiday or to counter the stress of a day's work in Rio ... 117 apartments/rooms decorated in the best taste... a range of flavours at La Finestra and a roof-top pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach and Corcovado... The hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Internacional Hotel
Hotel Porto Bay Rio Internacional
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.