We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location / Location / Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Farme de Amoedo, 34, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-020, Brazil (Formerly Ipanema Plaza Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Location / Location / Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Perfect Location in Ipanema.
Very close to many fantastic Restaurants (ZaZa Bistro my favorite).
Complimentary Beach Chair and Towel Service.

In urgent need for renovation, especially Rooms / Bathrooms - Air Condition upgrade.

Room Tip: Upper Floors for City Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Quality Inspector at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
T J,

Thank you for posting your opinion on the Ipanema Plaza Hotel. We are really in the heart of the South Zone of Rio de Janeiro, next to Ipanema beach and the best bars and restaurants in the city. We are extremely happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
In time, our facilities will under renovation soon to better care and satisfaction of our guests.

Quality Inspector Ipanema Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    293
    169
    83
    59
See reviews for
101
271
46
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Friendly and well located hotel.
Excellent breakfast and pool and gym area very clean and well looked after.
Great views from the roof area
Bathrooms in rooms need a little updating but otherwise fine and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Quality Inspector at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Mr Paul D,

It is a great pleasure to receive your feed back. The strongest point of Ipanema Plaza Hotel is our location. We are working to improve our infrastructure soon.
On you next visiting to Rio stay with again we are wating for you.

Warm Regards from Rio,
Ipanema Plaza Quality Office Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked this over New Year knowing full well we were being price gouged as hotel options seem to be severely limited in Rio. It was always going to be a hefty price tag for a 3 star hotel - which we accepted. The location is fabulous, you would be hard pressed to find a better spot on Ipanema. However, the hotel is seriously in need of updating - bathrooms are ratty and dated. More importantly the photos of common areas and rooms - don't line up with the current reality especially the roof pool and terrace. They seem to have put the furniture from the restaurant on the roof terrace there for photos. Reception staff and concierge were generally unhelpful/uninterested. Air conditioning was severely limited in most rooms and common areas. Hotel compensated with free water after about 3 days (which to be frank I think they should have provided 2 bottles free per-day as do most other hotels in South America). In summary, although we knew we were paying over the odds for an average hotel, even if the price was reasonable the experience still would have been poor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Inspetor de Qualidade at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Cliente,

Muito obrigado por passar sua impressão sobre o nosso hotel. A localização é um dos nossos pontos fortes.
Seus comentários nos ajudarão a nos reavaliar e a melhorar os serviços estendidos aos hóspedes. Suas observações foram consideradas e com certeza sua opinião vai contribuir com nosso padrão de Qualidade.
Esperamos poder impressioná-lo positivamente numa próxima ocasião.

Att,
Equipe de Qualidade do Hotel Ipanema Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights but they have charged my credit card for four nights. Despite two phone calls and numerous emails I am still to hear back from them in relation to crediting my Credit Card. Hotel was clean but needs updating. The rooftop pool is a fantastic asset which they should use to there advantage by remodelling. Beach towel service was good. My luggage was delayed and when American Airlines rang hotel to arrange delivery hotel advised I had checked out which was in true and cost me a round trip taxi to airport to collect a bag which hotel never communicated to me.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Inspetor de Qualidade at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado(a) Cliente,

Obrigado por ter deixado seu comentário no Tripadvisor. Caso tenha tido alguma dúvida com relação a qualquer assunto não hesite em nos contactar. Nosso Depto financeiro responderá prontamente sua solicitação.
Seu depoimento no ajudará a nos aprimorar e a melhorar os serviços aos hóspedes. Sua observação foi considerada e com certeza sua opinião vai contribuir com nosso padrão de Qualidade.
Esperamos poder impressioná-lo positivamente em breve.
Equipe de Qualidade do Ipanema Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

For the price this place is not good. Air Con has been a major issue and basic house keeping is average at best.

Basic, out dated rooms, the roof top pool is nice but still not worth big money.

Good location but a Rio Rip Off.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Inspetor de Qualidade. at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Smellow,

We appreciate your feedback. By an unexpected crash, the first day of the year could not have a fully functioning air conditioning system in the Ipanema Plaza, even after preventive maintenance performed on this date.
Please be advised that with the continuous efforts of our staff, the operation of the air conditioning system of the Ipanema Plaza is located normalized.
We hope to impress you positively on a next occasion.

Warm Regards from Rio,
Quality Inspector Ipanema Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We were charged R1569 per night over new years for a shared room no air con. Front desk have Not purchaed fan to replace ac. 38 degrees outside. Locked window. Had to ring at 7pm to ask for room to be serviced. Great location. Hotel itself is ok and clean. Breakfast also ok.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Quality Inspector at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your feedback. By an unexpected crash, the first day of the year could not have a fully functioning air conditioning system in the Ipanema Plaza, even after preventive maintenance performed on this date.
Please be advised that with the continuous efforts of our staff, the operation of the air conditioning system of the Ipanema Plaza is located normalized.
We hope to impress you positively on a next occasion.

Warm Regards from Rio,
Quality Inpector Ipanema Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We are on our honeymoon and this hotel was the first stay for us and this has been nothing short of a nightmare! The staff is ignorant and fake and the rooms are just ok. With a temperature of 39-40 outside, you atleast expect the room to be cool when you get back to the hotel but guess what, even the ACs don't work here! They don't even have a fan and no other source of ventilation as well. And when you complaint, all you get to hear is - we are sorry, we are working on it. We've heard that atleast 48 times in the past 48 hours now! You leave the 'clean my room' tag on the door knob only to find out that the room is not been cleaned.

Ahh, the most ridiculous experience we've had till date! I highly NOT recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iplaza, Quality Inspector at Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Customer,


We are very interesting about your feedback. By an unexpected crash, the first day of the year could not have a fully functioning air conditioning system in the Ipanema Plaza, even after preventive maintenance performed on this date.
Please be advised that with the continuous efforts of our staff, the operation of the air conditioning system of the Ipanema Plaza is located normalized.
We hope to impress you positively on a next occasion.

Warm Regards from Rio,
Quality Inpector Ipanema Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza

Address: Rua Farme de Amoedo, 34, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-020, Brazil (Formerly Ipanema Plaza Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Plaza Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.