We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana to your Saves list
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 216 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Reliable hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Brilliantly located at one end of the fabled Copacabana beach, this hotel offers terrific views (especially from the higher floors). It also offers friendly and reliable service and comfortable rooms (I've had an enjoyable balcony each time). I've given it 4 stars because though i thoroughly enjoy it, I value it more for reliability than flair. One caveat: the view is currently marred by a large, ugly stand built for media events at the World Cup. Clearing it away is scheduled to take a long time.

Room Tip: The "Club Melissime" Executive floor is worth the extra cost ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest, we appreciate your comments. They are very important to us. We are quite happy that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. All of our rooms have balconies, so it provides an even better experience to our guests. Gladly we inform you that the construction in front of the hotel was built only for the World Cup and it´s being already dismantled. Be sure that when you visit us next time, the view will be incredible again.
Kind regards,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    475
    194
    76
    51
See reviews for
191
530
94
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The best location in Copacabana. Is great to wake up over the atlantic av. and go to the beach. Full of restaurants and nice shops around the neighbourhood. Excellent swimming pools at the hotel and nice rooms and excellent service.

Room Tip: Try to get some of the rooms over Atlantic av.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments. We are truly happy that your stay met your expectations. Our location and neighbourhood indeed pleases our guests. We are looking forward to receive you again.
Sincerely,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Sofitel is a really nice 5* hotel located in a great part of Rio. It doesn't look particularly attractive from the outside, but once you enter, the reception area is an oasis of calm and the check-in was really friendly.

The rooms are great, very clean and the bathroom is a nice size with a walk in shower. You pay a premium for a sea view, however, there is an enormous temporary structure built in front of the hotel that obscures about 50% of the view, so it's really not worth paying the extra money for a room with a sea-view.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, Le Pré Catalan, last Saturday evening. It was dreadful. And expensive. They offer a 'Taste of the Amazon' 10 course menu which I would recommend you avoid. The restaurant itself is nice, but the service is dreadful. They have plenty of staff but no one really seems to know what they are doing. They were bringing dishes in the wrong order, couldn't remember what the food was and the service was really slow. In addition, waiters would very annoyingly keep coming up to the table to check a paper receipt left on the side to check which courses we had had. Added to that, the quality of the food was poor and tasteless.

All in all though, I would recommend this hotel (and the superb breakfast), but would stay clear of the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest, we appreciate your feedback. However we would like to inform that the temporary structure in front of the hotel was built only for the World Cup and it was out of our league, unfortunately. It is already being dismantled. Be sure that when you visit us next time, it won´t be an issue and the view will be incredible again.
Regarding our Le Pré Catelan restaurant, I am truly saddened to know that your experience was not satisfactory. I will investigate what may have happened, as it is not our usual standard. Rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to avoid that kind of problem. We truly hope you give us another chance to provide you a better experience next time.
Sincerely,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The room was quite small, but the food and the service in this hotel was great.
If you can get an ocean view, I would recommend it.
The view from the restaurant onto Copacabana was lovely. Eating breakfast there in the mornings makes your day.
Great overall stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest, it is really rewarding to us when we know that our guests expectations were met. That´s the main goal of our work: to provide an incredible stay to every and each person at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. We will be delighted to have you with us again soon.
Sincerely,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Having stayed in this hotel many times on business I can say that it's a well run, classy hotel. I have never had a bad experience here although it is pricey and for the amount you pay one expects good service etc.

Some comments though - they can do with changing the pool restaurant menu now and then as it has y changed certainly in a few months - also if you are expecting a great view from the front of the hotel or pool area and some rooms - there is now a large media center built in front of the hotel for the World Cup which I believe will remain in place for the next two years till the Olympic Games - so your view now is of large scaffold and temporary structure which pretty much destroys the front of the hotel area and views

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest, we appreciate your compliments and feedback. However we would like to inform that the media center in front of the hotel was built only for the World Cup and it is already being dismantled by Rio´s City Hall partners/employees. Be sure that when you visit us next time, it won´t be an issue and the view will be incredible again. We hope to see you soon again at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana.
Sincerely,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed five nights in this perfectly situated (just between Copacabana and Ipanema) and luxorious hotel. Pricey but classy. The staff is so professional that they made us look like amateurs in our swimming trunks and flip-flops. The breakfast buffe was the best we've ever had. Feeding frenzy. A bliss. And the view of the Atlantic and the Sugarloaf Mountain wasn't bad either. Spacy and up to the standard rooms and great interiors, too. Helpful and friendly concierge also was a plus. We will return. If we can afford it, that is.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments. We are truly happy that your stay met your expectations. And it´s really fulfilling to know that our staff, our breakfast, view and rooms caused such a good impression. We are looking forward to have you again with us.
Sincerely,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent two nights here after a 12 day cruise. The location is superb, and the rooms were a good size. But January in Rio required AC. Not to sound like Goldilocks in the AC department, but our first room the AC was going overboard and there was water everywhere having dripped from the vent in the ceiling. We called and asked for another room. This room was very warm and VERY humid. We called again and were told to give the AC more time to cool down. We did, and it didn't. We called again and they sent a technician who said it was fine. Both of our passports were warped from the humidity in the room, and our luggage was 6 pounds heavier. Seriously. This had big impact on our experience. The property is quite nice. Pretty good gym. Great location. Concierge very helpful in arranging driver / tour guide.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear guest, I am deeply saddened by the fact that your stay in our property apparently did not happened in the best conditions. I assure you our complete compassion and wish your perception would have been otherwise regarding AC and humidity. We will check immediately what may have happened. Despite all that, we really appreciate your comments, specially about our gym and concierge. We hope that you give us another chance to provide you a better experience next time.
Kind regards,
Frédéric Ribault
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:1 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 1*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.