We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel, kind service, famous beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana to your Saves list
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel, kind service, famous beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for the weekend with our 1 year old daughter. As it was booked through his firm, I did not peruse all room options available. We were placed in the Club floor, where service is perfect!!! From check-in to our butler and the maid who cleaned our room, everyone was extremely kind and helpful with anything we needed. The Club lounge was everything we expected. Breakfast with an amazing view, food of the highest quality and options to please all tastes (healthy and non-healthy alike). The room was a little small for a crib, but we had a veranda and the most amazing view of the beach. The decor was nice and practical, which made the room size irrelevant (plenty of storage space for all our belongings). The bed was a little on the soft side, but the shower was so worth it. Because we had asked for a crib, there was a kind gift basket in our room with baby toiletries when we arrived. A really nice touch! The hotel is excellently located in Copacana Beach near Arpoador, so Ipanema is just a 10 minute walk away and Leblon just a little farther away. Don't miss: the Madeleines served at the lobby in your way in or out! One suggestion: indicate that check-in for Club Level Rooms are on the 8th floor, so people won't waste time in line at the general check-in when they arrive (importante note: front desk attendant was extremely nice when she said that our check-in was some place else and even accompanied us to where we were supped to go). While we waited, our daughter was presented with a little Le Petit Prince doll, which she became crazy about and carried around with her everywhere. Another suggestion: a few more healthier options in the Kids Menu would be great!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Arpoador/Copacabana beach. Rooms in higher floors are quitter and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
“Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. We are really glad with your feedback. At our executive floor we strive to offer a place that unites the “at-home” feeling with the feeling of living a magnificent moment, a unique experience, just like you and your lovely family.We are proud that we have made it. It helps us to get even better. Looking forward to welcome you in a near future, Best Regards, Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    444
    176
    75
    46
See reviews for
175
488
86
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, Usa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

As a frequent traveller to Rio this is my favorite among what I consider the four "best" Rio hotels. Most important is that all rooms have a balcony. Not common in Rio. Obviously one should stay in Club Millesime level; if you book way in advance as I did, you might get a really good rate-- late bookings can be expensive. The service and amenities at Club level are excellent in every way. Hotel staff outside of Club level equally outgoing and pleasant.
The location is superb; right between Copacabana and Ipanema/Arpoador. I love the views of Copacabana, but only swim at Ipanema, so the hotel gives me the best of both!
Book early and love it....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
“ Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. I am very glad to read about your “Magnifique” stay with us and that you noticed and appreciated all these details along your experience. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best regards, Frédéric Ribault, Hotel Manager”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous location however the service and quality of facilities were more like two star.
Location is great on the beach, however the room I had overlooked other buildings and you had no idea you were near the sea. The quality of housekeeping was APALLING. The room was not serviced in the evening, one day there were no towels, another day no bathmat, no wastebins in the room or bathroom. I am not even sure if the floors of the room were cleaned. Checkin and out was extremely inefficient and their processes need a majormajorrevamp. I would add though that the concierge eas quite helpful. All in all i would not

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Bonjour.Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Copacabana Rio de Janeiro. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, regarding the situations you encountered, so please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Frederic Ribault, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for the beach as well as a large number of shops and restaurants to suit all tastes and styles just a short walk away. The room we stayed in overlooked the Cocacabana beach but was in need of a little TLC. Everything we needed was there and it all functioned fine, but some of the furnature and fittings were showing signs of needing replacing. The food was all very good and we enjoyed our three night stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. I am very glad to read about your Magnifique stay with us. It is our goal to satisfy all of our guests needs and always a pleasure to read that it has been reached. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best Regards, Frédéric Ribault, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Schweiz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

First time I was with my Mother on a trip through South America.

We booked a Club Room with access to the Lounge.

The Room was okay, not very big or special. Just okay.

The Club Lounge (Club Millesime) is nice they have great little snacks and free beverages (alcohol too)

Breakfast is one of the best in the World. Go and have on the main terasse where u see Copacabana Beach and Sugarloaf.

Good:
Great Breakfast
Nice Location
English is spoken
Reactions on the survery they sent me after
My Mum got a Birthdaycake (very delicious) and champagne

Negative:
Nothing Special as a Platinum Member

I wanted to have a club sandwich at the Club, so the Woman told me to call the Room Service from the Club Phone. (Why she didnt order for me)
I did order it without tomatoes and the confirmed.
After 45 min I got a clubsandwich with tomatoes so I complained and said I want a new one.
(I dont pay 37$ and take out the tomatoes myself)

30 min later I get another sandwich but without frenchfries. So I complained again.
They gave me french fries on another plate. they were cold. I complained and they just said they are hot.

The complaint at the Lounge was not very good. No compensation was offered. Later when I mentioned this in the Hotel Survery of Sofitel, they got back to me by email which will lead to my second review.

Room Tip: Higher floors with club access has better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, KS
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our flight arrived late morning, with our arrival to Sofitel by 1pm. We had arranged the Club Millesime experience, which started with a private check-in on the 8th floor. Everyone was over-the-top wonderful; we were treated very well. Our room was not available due to arriving early, but they held our luggage and sent us upstairs to the private lounge with an great view of the ocean, the city, Sugar Loaf and the favelas on the side of the hill/mountain. They offered any kind of drink (all included in the Club) and incredible (really excellent and unique) appetizers available most of the day. We had breakfast on the lounge which was top-notch. We did decide to have breakfast later in the Atlantica restaurant downstairs as it had a more broad-based buffet selection and was also very good.

Some other notes: Our taxi ride from the airport to Sofitel was arranged at the taxi port line at the airport. The cost was R$50 plus R$3.50 per bag, about a 30-minute trip. Visiting Sugar Loaf is best by taxi. To go to Corcovado take the #583 bus by walking just a couple blocks off the beach. It is easy, takes a little bit longer than taxi but a great way to see the city and people.

Sofitel is at the end of Copacabana Beach and has direct access to the beach after walking across a street, as with all hotels in Copacabana and Ipanema. A walk from Sofitel to Ipanema Beach requires a few block walk on city streets to reach it, as the military fort and natural rock formations limit direct assess from one beach to the other.

Room Tip: Room 301 was excellent, providing a great view of the ocean and Sugar Loaf. A higher floor would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Rio, Gerente geral at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
“Bonjour. Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro. We were truly pleased to welcome you at “Club Millesime,” and happy to receive such a positive feedback. Looking forward to your next stay at Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana. Best regards, Frédéric Ribault, Hotel Manager “
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana

Address: Av. Atlantica, 4240 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is a splendid one. It leaves the guest practically leaning over Copacabana beach – one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. It is beside Ipanema, a charming neighborhood full of attractions, immortalized in a song by Tom Jobim and Vinicius de Moraes, “Garota de Ipanema”.Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana is considered one of the most prestigious Brazilian luxury hotels, combining French savoir-faire with Carioca charm.Enjoy our comfortable apartments with balconies and the MyBed bed, the executive floor with Club Millésime services – a new concept in personalized service, beach service, two pools and many other facilities, in addition to the award winning cuisine here at Sofitel.Situated near the main business centers in the city, the hotel offers an ample and versatile Convention Center, and also a modern Board Meeting Room, a fully equipped room with a view of Copacabana beach, uniting comfort and personalized services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Accor Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Sofitel
Sofitel Rio De Janeiro Copacabana Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.