We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Vieira Souto 320 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #27 of 218 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Noisy hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Don't underestimate the noise issue with this hotel. We were placed on a low floor at the front of the hotel and though the view was great it was like sleeping on the sidewalk of a very busy street. As other reviewers pointed out, sound insulation from the windows is almost non-existent (they barely close), so if you are in this room or similar you will have noise from the constant stream of buses and cars passing by, along with some very noisy compressor equipment just inches from the window all night long, interspersed with the screeching of chairs and tables from the restaurant on the floor above being shoved around from very early in the morning until late at night. If you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs or sleeping pills or choose a room that does not face the street. The hotel itself is pretty nice, seems recently renovated, nice bedding and clean. The heart of Ipanema location is the main attraction (and main reason they can justify their prices), wifi speed was adequate and the breakfast buffet was quite good. Pool was tiny and not heated, not really usable in the winter. But honestly I would've rated them significantly lower than four stars due to the terrible noise problem if it weren't for the fact that the manager responded very graciously to my complaint, apologized and gave us a late checkout to accommodate our schedule (and catch up on sleep).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry for the inconvenient and we hope making better next time. Will be a plesure to have you here again betimes!


Warm Regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    341
    81
    21
    18
See reviews for
100
279
50
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a good basic hotel in a tall (16 floors) and narrow building right on Ipanema boulevard. The rooms and beds are relatively large. Front desk staff are friendly. Minibar well-stocked, restaurant and breakfast so-so and the rooftop bar is small but with a very nice view of Ipanema beach. We had 3 rooms on the 9th floor at the front of the hotel. Room 901 the largest with two huge twin beds. Rooms 902 and 903 standard (one King, one Twin). Beautiful sea view, but very noisy! Traffic on Ipanema boulevard continues all night, so if you want a good night's sleep, don't take rooms at the front. Rooms at the back are the same, do not have a great view, but are quieter.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Schrender,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor!

Sincerely,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

What a spectacular hotel. If you’re planning to visit Rio de Janeiro, Ipanema is the place to be. The Sol Ipanema hotel is in the heart of the action. The hotel is located directly across the street from the beach with wonderful views and great restaurants right around the corner including the Garota de Ipanema, which is where the “The Girl from Ipanema" was composed. The rooftop pool is small but charming. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Larry,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Superb location. On the beach, close to a wide variety of restaurants, take away places & shops - all within SAFE walking distance (I traveled alone and felt absolutely safe walking to & from restaurants and shops at night). I stayed in an ocean facing room - and yes, the views are as good as you see in the brochures. Room was spotless, bed very comfortable and has everything you need (except a kettle). Room was large as was the bed (if a little bland in terms of decor.)
I did see previous comments on TripAdvisor about the noise - but it was worse than anticipated. The windows have no insulation so there is almost no difference in the noise levels when the window is closed - and there doesn't seem to be a down time to the noise (even late at night). There is no chance of retiring to your bedroom for some peace & quiet or an afternoon nap. Just be aware. (The view does make up for it to some degree).
Water pressure in shower was strong - making for a great shower.
Free wifi was a huge value add as I struggled for the first few days to get a data package for the simcard that I bought locally. Signal in my room was strong and I experienced no connection issues.
Rooftop pool area has great views and a small pool to cool off in. It wasn't busy while I was there, making it a great spot to lie on one of the pool chairs and read.
Staff at front counter were the cherry on the top. They spoke English well, were friendly, welcoming and just made everything so easy for me. From booking day tours, to answering endless questions, booking taxis and even confirming my booking for my Sao Paulo hotel - they bent over backwards.
I only ate breakfast at the hotel. Nice mix of fruits, cereals, baked goods and a few hot food options (eggs, bacon etc) - plus a great view of the beach.
I would stay here again without question (although would be eternally grateful if they did a bit of soundproofing on the ocean facing rooms).

Room Tip: Ocean view is spectacular - just be aware of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Brenda,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Across the road from Ipanema beach - we had an ocean view room with a great view. Room was clean, well appointed and comfortable, if a little compact. Great views from the roof where there is a bar and a very small pool - the whole rooftop area is small so only a limited number of people can fit comfortably at any one time. Breakfast was good, but the room is compact. Had dinner one night which we found a little expensive. Staff friendly and helpful. Standard Wifi worked fine for us - there are a couple of desktop computers with printer but it was a little expensive. The hotel is pricey but we wanted a beach view and central position - would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Joe,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Ipanema and Copacabana beach stretches look identical, so it makes sense to go with a hotel in Ipanema since it is much safer. In terms of hotel options, there were way more options in Copacabana compared to Ipanema, and Best Western Plus Sol Ipanema is the clear winner for Ipanema options. It is reasonably priced compared to the other four star quality hotels in the area near the beach. It is right across from the beach. Has a nice small roof top with pool. Although, I really wish they would turn down the air conditioning in the lobby! It is freezing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to have feedback highlighting the quality of our service.

We hope to see you again with us!

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Just returned from staying at the Sol on business. We stayed at the Sheraton for the 2 nights prior (booked by work) and the Sol blows the Sheraton out of the water. Location location location. Rooms aren't as luxurious but they are clean and comfortable and well put together. Free breakfast and WiFi (try THAT at Sheraton). And location on beach is amazing. We had upgrade to ocean view room, but even if you didn't the room bar is awesome. Luis makes the best caipirinhas I have had. Breakfast was not super extensive but great juice and pastry and coffee and dining room is oceanfront. The only drawback was the elevators as mentioned. We were on floor low enough to take stairs though. We felt safe walking nearby hotel to and from dinner. Overall a GREAT stay and when back in Rio, Ill be back!

Room Tip: Oceanview are great but even if don't have it or want to save, the roof has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel

Address: Av. Vieira Souto 320 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.