We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Vieira Souto 320 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ripley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in November 2013 . Good hotel right on the ocean . Helpful friendly staff . Very nice huge room . Excellent buffet breakfast . Do not miss the sunset from the rooftop pool area . Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance . There didn't appear to be any security issues in this area . The only annoying thing were the lifts , you could grow a beard while waiting for them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    347
    82
    22
    19
See reviews for
102
285
53
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Rooms are great, views are spectacular of Sugarloaf and beach!

Rooftop bar / pool were great.

Staff was very good.

Breakfast was very good.

Felt safe in the location.

Would stay here anytime if given the chance!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I loved this place for the most part. The location was unbeatable. The room was decent -- no frills but totally civilized and thoughtful. The price was a bit expensive but seemed par for the course in terms of value in Rio, unless you go the hostel route. The front desk staff was helpful, charming and spoke English. Right around the corner is Zaza's restaurant, which I loved so much I barely could get myself to go anywhere else.

Cons: Elevators are slow. One member of the staff took my information from a bill, found me on Facebook and friend requested me out of the blue, then got upset with me (and told me as much) when I didn't accept his request right away. So unprofessional. Seriously???

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights after a conference, hotel is small but has gorgeous views of the beach with a wonderful rooftop deck and soaking pool. It is centrally located with plenty of restaurants within walking distance. I had a wonderful time, the staff at the hotel were fabulous and did everything to make you feel at home. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We chose this hotel to stay for two nights after a cruise. An excellent position, midway along the Ipanema beach with good views of the Sugar Loaf mountain. Lots of good bars and restaurants nearby. However, it would appear that the hotel is quite old and consequently has only two small lifts, which are often used by the staff moving furniture, trolleys etc. This meant that there was always a long wait for the lifts - if the hotel was full, it would be a nightmare, 15 floors, so walking up is not an option. Bedrooms could be cleaner, showers good. Breakfast OK but nothing special. Dining room has a lovely view over the beach, but is very cramped, difficult to get round. No proper lounge, a small bar in the lobby. Staff not very friendly (is this because it is a big chain?) with the exception of the bartender on the rooftop area as mentioned by others. Expensive for what we got but it is a big city, so expect to pay more especially with the World Cup and Olympics soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for your comments.

Your opinion is very important for us!

Best reagrds,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Sol Ipanema is pretty much perfectly located across from the gorgeous Ipanema beach and near many good restaurants and bars. That alone is reason to recommend the hotel. But don't go expecting much in the way of service.

The rooms were fine and modern and clean but we had a "king-size" bed and we could very much feel the break between the two twin mattresses. Not great for romantic cuddling. We had to ask twice each time we wanted coffee delivered to the room since there is no coffee maker in the room, but then again, this service was free. When we entered or exited the hotel each day there was always at least one doorman guarding the hotel entrance but he never once even acknowledged our presence let alone greeted us. It was almost strange how he never made eye contact with us or smiled.

The attendant at the small lobby bar was efficient (despite our inability to speak Portugese) but to say he was pleasant is very much a stretch. When we asked the front desk person for directions to a particular neighborhood restaurant, she seemed almost miffed at being asked a question and dismissed us as fast as she could, despite there being no one else at the front desk on on the phone at the time.

One big exception to this apathetic service was the bartender at the rooftop bar near the tiny pool. He went out of his way to make delicious caiparinhas for us with all the bells and whistles and we REALLY appreciated it! We tipped him 100% of the bill we were so grateful.

This hotel has a great deal to offer in the way of perfect location, nice rooms and facilities, and a really good breakfast buffet but what it sorely lacks is any attention to service or welcoming friendliness. Our stay was just fine but this place would be so much better with a little attention to service. Really good hotels are almost always about the facilities AND staff. Besides the rooftop pool bartender, the Sol Ipanema gets it half right.

Room Tip: Stay in a room overlooking the beach. It is worth the extra money to have that amazing view! If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We spent 9 nights at the hotel in November and had an excellent experience. We are not normally ones to spend a lot on our hotels, Sol Ipanema being one of our most expensive. But you are right in the middle of a world class beach, in one of the best and safest spots in Rio. Plus the Dollar to the Real exchange rate made everything else a real deal. Definitely book the ocean view. The lobby staff was very accomodating and tried to help out whenever they could. On our last day we checked out at 11am and didnt fly out until midnight, they had no issues holding our luggage all day. Thank you!

The room interent was decent enough to check emails and post pictures of our adventures. And the complimentary beach chairs, towels and umbrellas were nice too. We had a good lunch at the hotel and breakfast every morning.

Sure the lobby is small and roof top bar and pool were small, but you are in one of the best cities in South America - there are plenty of nice places to hang out within a block or two. Even a Gringo bar with American Football on TV.

My wife was a little worried about the safety of Rio. In no way did we every feel our safety was in question no matter what we did nor at any of the tourist sites. But you still have to pay attention and use common sense, same as any other big City - Chicago, New York. etc.

Ipanema was a great neighborhood to explore as well. Dont miss the Hippie Market.

We would recommend this hotel to everyone. Leaning a little Portugese goes along way too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.
We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel

Address: Av. Vieira Souto 320 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.