We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Vieira Souto 320 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #29 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We spent three nights here as part of our first trip to Brazil. The staff were very welcoming and were more than accommodating given that we arrived 4 hours before check-in time. The room was well appointed and we specifically asked for a beach view, which we did get. The view from the rooftop pool, however, supercedes that of any of the rooms. The location is ideal. Not only are you across the street from Ipanema Beach, it's a very short walk to the Hippie Market on Sundays, lots of restaurants and juice bars and even a supermarket. The area is perfectly safe with lots of families, couples and was a joy to stay in. The only downside is the price, but if you want to stay someplace nice in Rio, you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: spend the money on the beach view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    347
    82
    22
    19
See reviews for
102
284
53
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have just arrived home from a 6 night stay here as a couple and it was fantastic. We had a deluxe ocean view room - well worth the money. The rooms were clean, bed was comfy and the room was a good size. The breakfast was great and the location couldn't have been better - the ocean is on your doorstep and the free towels, umbrellas and chairs are a nice touch. The pool at the top is small but we knew this and really the ocean is all you need. Yes the rooms were a little noisy from the road outside but really not enough to bother us. The staff, especially the front desk were fantastic and one man in particular went above and beyond to be very helpful to us. The hotel is within walking distance to so many lovely restaurants you are spoilt for choice. We also walked to the lagoon from here very easily. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel on all accounts.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our services, it is pleasing to receive such comments as yours and to know we are caring for our guest properly.

We all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Rio.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any request.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This review is six months over due! We came to Sol Ipanema last November for my 30th bday. Overall, our stay was great!
Pros:
- The staff was friendly.
- Hotel room was very clean.
- Location was amazing!
- We got a high floor when we first arrived so that was nice!
- The views are amazing!
- lost my glasses and cleaning staff found them and held them for me

Cons
- Many flights from the U.S. to Rio are overnight flights so we arrived at the hotel in the morning around 9am. The room was not ready so they could not offer it to us. They suggested we go to the beach or go swimming in there pool. However, after being on the plane for 10 hours we just wanted a place to decompress. There was no place for us to sit except upstairs on the roof top pool. We tried to get breakfast but they said we couldn't since we officially hadn't checked in. It would have been nice if they let us sit and eat breakfast so that was a bummer. We then decided to get some errands done and get food outside. It was overwhelming and tiring because of the language barrier. Finally, we went back at 11am to see if our room was ready and it was not. Finally around noon we got our room. The combination of hardly any sleep the night before and waiting the morning for our room put a damper on our trip in the beginning. Understandably they could not give us a room that was not ready but it would have been nice if they let us eat breakfast and relax at the hotel. Nonetheless, they made it up to us by giving us a room on a higher floor.
- The roof top pool is tiny!
- It is very over priced hotel but so are most hotels in the area.
- Breakfast was okay. I never really felt satisfied with it but it might be because I am vegetarian and wanted more greens and veg friendly protein.
- Coming back from the beach you have to enter thru their lobby where everyone is hanging out. Being wet, I found it uncomfortable walking through the pristine lobby. I would prefer a side entrance.

At the end of the day our stay was nice. Unfortunately, we forget the names of staff at the front desk but they were really very helpful! One of them was an older gentleman who paid attention to our needs. I think he was manager probably. There was also man from Portugal who just went out of his way! Finally, the only female front desk staff, maybe from abroad as well, was so sweet and patient.

If you can afford, it definitely a good place to stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Although the hotel is very nice it is overpriced. Unfortunately this is what you pay for staying on Ipanema.
The ocean view room are extremely noisy. It doesn’t matter if you stay on the 2nd or on the last floor. Get earplugs if you decide to stay in one. And the views are not that great. There is a rooftop bar in the hotel from where you can see the bay also if you don’t get the ocean view room.
The rooms are clean and the staff is nice but I would rather look for a cheaper hotel few blocks away from Ipanema for next time. It is really not worth the money.
There are many shops just 2 block away.
The breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: The ocean view room are noisy. The standard room have views at other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, we would like to thank you for the compliments regarding our services during your stay.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Clean, pleasant, and with a great location. The breakfast is very good, and the view from the roof is great (although the pool is more of a bathtub than anything else). There are many beachfront kiosks-restaurants nearby. We liked "Quase Nove," which was right opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Your comments were much appreciated by the management of BW PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel.

Best regards,
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Room small but ok.
Clean!
Excellent position!
Staff ok.
Breakfast very good!
Many restaurants and pubs around at walking distance.
Walking distance from Capacabana.
Price ok (high season)
Swimming pool very small...but dont need it.... beach is 20 mt far!!!
Towel and umbrella provided free of charge by the hotel as well as beach seats

Room Tip: Very good! And Rio is very safe!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at Sol Ipanema for 2 nights in July. Great, safe location, small hotel but nice enough and good sized rooms. Get the ocean view room otherwise I dont see the point in staying here. View of the beach is amazing and walking distance to shops and restaurants in Ipanema and Leblon.
Restaurant has a great view of the beach but breakfast was only ok. The tiny pool on the rooftop is laughable but the view is great for a cocktail and a few photos.

The bad: Made to wait 2 hrs for checking in. And we were already late. Check in is meant to be 2pm and we finally go into the room around 5pm. We were given a drink for the hassle. The front desk is one of the most poorly managed I have come across. The staff do not acknowlege you and are on the phone for 10-15mins before they speak to you. I noticed many other people being made to wait also and bags littered within the foyer as they had no where to go. Unacceptable.
The only way to get attention and results is to start getting angry and make some noise unfortunately.

Would I stay here again? Maybe although the service would need to be improved.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room and request a high floor. Dont be in a rush to check in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel

Address: Av. Vieira Souto 320 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.