We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beachfront Location in Great Neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Vieira Souto 320 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Beachfront Location in Great Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently spent five days at the Sol Ipanema in Rio. We were on a high floor with an ocean view that was spectacular. The room was spacious enough and very clean, with a very comfortable king-size bed. Bathrobes were provided, which is always a nice surprise, but no tissues, which we found odd. Towels are fluffy, but only one bath and one hand towel per person. They could be a little less stingy with those. Other than these two minor issues, we were very happy there. The staff was helpful, and the breakfasts, included in the price, were excellent, not to mention that the light-filled dining room overlooks the beach. This part of Rio is quite safe, and there are many restaurants and clubs within easy walking distance. We would go back there again in a minute.

Room Tip: We asked for an oceanfront room, and the view was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    318
    77
    20
    17
See reviews for
89
264
49
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just spent five wonderful days in Rio and based on the reviews from Trip Advisor chose to stay at the Sol Ipanema hotel. It seemed to us to be the best combination of location, services and value for money. The rooms in the hotel are functional and well-equipped but not glamorous and are quite small. However, we chose a beach front room which provided a 24/7 exposure to all of the action going on in Ipanema Beach. From this hotel, it was a short walk to the restaurant famous for the song, "The Girl from Ipanema" and to a wonderful 2nd storey bossanova bar, featuring local quality entertainment. The neighbourhood around the hotel was very upscale and the shopping was superb, again just two blocks away. What made Sol Ipanema work for us in addition to the location was the warmth and helpfulness of the staff. The front desk arranged for us to stay beyond our checkout time, the bell captain arranged for quality transportation to the airport and they were always ready to provide advice and assistance. We really appreciated the complementary beach chairs, umbrellas and towels as well. We loved Rio and we particularly loved staying in Ipanema Beach. You can't go wrong staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our city view room on the 13th floor was just fine for the amount of time we spent in it. It was clean, spacious and had a comfy bed. A small inconvenience was that there were no tissues either in the bedroom or bathroom and they supply you with only two bath towels. I guess we could have put in a request for more, but we didn't do that. There was no coffee pot either but there Was a decent hairdryer. The staff is polite but not super friendly, perhaps the language barrier is the reason. The location is great, across from the beach and in a safe area. We enjoyed the breakfast, the view from the dining room is a wonderful beach view. There were plenty of breakfast choices that got us off to a good start in the morning. One elevator was out of service for 3 out of the 5 days we were there. It made for long waits at busy times such as the breakfast hours. All on all, a pleasant stay. The free Internet and breakfast buffet made it a good value. If you are looking for a comfortable room in a hotel without frills, this is a good one.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is higher up if you want a view. Choose a room on a lower floor if one of the tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern cal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Sol Ipanema at the end of February following a cruise around South America and were very pleased with our choice in hotels.

We had a city view on the 12th floor...not much of view but that didn't bother us. Our room was very quiet with no noticeable noise from the street. There was plenty of room for our luggage and us. The a/c was very effective and the shower provided plenty of pressure and hot water. The bed was super comfortable. The room and bathroom were perfectly clean with fresh towels and sheets daily. Nice size safe in the room and Wifi worked great. We didn't have a problem with the elevators.

The pool/outside space on the top floor was tiny but afforded great views while sipping on decent tasting Pisco Sours. The sole bartender could have done with some assistance during the busy times but he was cheerful and hardworking (why can't people place their used towels in the bin and their refuse in the trash??). Breakfast was good with the typical fare of fruit, cheeses, eggs, cold meat, yogurt, and the best bread rolls ever! If you want ice in your room, you must call room service which worked out fine though a little slow in delivery.

Where this hotel falls down is in customer service and hospitality by the front desk team. For example: we observed a woman made to wait while the front desk person took several phone calls...all she wanted was change from her large currency note. Her need could have been quickly met by putting the callers on hold. We were next in line to ask about booking a taxi for the airport and after waiting 10 minutes while the phones were answered and the computer consulted, we just gave up and walked away. There are other instances we could note and each one was a small issue but when combined over the course of our 3 day stay, they added up to a mediocre, barely-warm impression of the front desk team. Live guests standing at the front desk should take priority over ringing phones and whatever computer work needs to be done. Perhaps the addition of another staff person would help if the work load is too much for 1 person?

We had 4 things on our To Do list for our 3 days in Rio: Christ the Redeemer, the Botanical Garden, beach activities at Ipanema, and the Hippie Fair. We caught a cab on the street in front of the hotel to go to Christ the Redeemer (which of course was AWESOME). The Botanical Garden was a little disappointing. Perhaps it was the wrong time of year for our visit. There were no roses in the Rose Garden nor many orchids on display in the Orchid Garden but there were huge interesting trees and tropical foliage to enjoy. We had lunch at the lovely restaurant called Le Bicyclette just outside the Botanical Garden. Lovely casual meals with a French influence, nice wines, fresh salads, friendly service and what a bakery!! The manager Jean-Charles is a great asset to the team. We walked around the Largo to get back to the hotel which was easy and interesting.
Other highlights of our stay in Rio were eating at the snack kiosks by the beach (COLD beer and reasonably priced good food) while watching the beach volleyball clubs (no hands used!) battle it out and the Hippie Fair. The Hippie Fair is not to be missed if you are in Rio on a Sunday.

We had a great time in Rio and felt safe in the Ipanema/Garden areas. Be prepared for high temps and HUMIDITY if you visit in Feb/March...WHEW!!!

Last word on the Sol Ipanema: YES, we would stay there again. Great location, Great rooms, Great value and with a some staff training, this hotel could be Excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

In late Feb., 2013, we stayed at the Sol Ipanema in Rio De Janeiro. We had read so many negative reviews, especially about the slow & run-down elevators, that we really didn't know what to expect. Well, to our delight, the Hotel has been renovated, & there are two new elevators that worked like a dream! The City room was clean & basic, but on the 14th floor the view was very attractive. The beds were good, the breakfast was excellent, & all in all, we enjoyed the Hotel very much and the wonderful area that surrounds the Hotel. There are so many good restaurants in the neighborhood, & we never felt unsafe walking a few blocks in the evening. Go for it!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views. The City rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here after pondering where on earth to stay in Rio during winners parade after carnival and am glad we chose Sol Ipanema. We had a city view room which is fine if you are planning on using the room for sleeping and not a lot else! Rooms were surprisingly spacious and everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast has something for everyone and of a good standard. The location of this hotel is the main attraction; it’s in a lovely part of Ipanema with plenty of nice places to eat. I found the staff to be pleasant enough and they dealt with any queries. We found the hotel car service to be terrible overpriced so would suggest not using that.
Generally I think hotel standard in Rio are not that great, we stayed at the Copacabana Palace at the end of our trip and found Sol Ipanema and the area more to our liking and far better value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After alot of deliberation we finally chose to stay in the Sol Ipanema whilst in Rio early March. Like most hotels of this type in Rio it is not cheap so really it comes down to location and personal preference. The hotel is directly opposite the beach and has fantastic views from its seaview rooms. We chose to pay the extra for a deluxe room on the front and we weren't disappointed. The room was nicely decorated in cream and white and everything was spotless. The rooms aren't as spacious as some hotels but certainly adequate and an average size for Rio. We were on the 11th floor. We had a nice modern bathroom and a flat screen TV with cable channels and plenty of football matches for my husband to watch! Breakfast was included in the price and was taken in the nice dining room overlooking the beach. We ate in the restaurant twice in the evening. The second time as it was too wet to venture out! Both meals were of a good standard with excellent service. The "pool" on the top floor was no more than a jacuzzi size but with the beach across the road it didn't matter. The hotel has an excellent free beach service offering towels, chairs and an umbrella. Internet access is free every day in your room but has to be paid for in the business centre. Ipanema is certainly a nicer area than Copacabana and this hotel ticks alot of boxes for those wanting a relaxing stay at this location in town.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a seaview room high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsandra, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments!

Your opinion is very important for us.

Best regards,

BEST WESTERN PLUS SOL IPANEMA HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel

Address: Av. Vieira Souto 320 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Best Western
Sol Ipanema
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sol Ipanema Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.