We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at JW Marriott Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 2600, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041001, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast + Wi-Fi
Ranked #11 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at JW Marriott Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just returned home to NY after 5 nights in Rio, the last two happily spent at JW Marriott. We had Room 1029 on Wednesday night (10/23), an atrium view room that looks out, across and through the 9th floor Executive Lounge directly to the ocean, and then were upgraded on 10/24 (Gold Elite) to Ocean front Room 1220. Both rooms virtually identical, though 1220 had a fresher feel. Comfortable beds, great lighting, clean and spotlessly maintained. Well-appointed but slightly dated bathrooms. Views from 1220 were priceless,

Satisfying breakfast buffet at the Exec Lounge, including made-to-order eggs. Good snacks at 3PM (cheeses and breads) and substantial appetizers/light dinner at 6PM. I became addicted to the Guarana Antarctica zero, a tasty popular local soda.

Efficient check in on the 9th floor for Elite Members. A relatively small hotel, the staff acknowledges you by name. Wish I could remember all the names of folks who assisted us, but some were Marcos and Othinta (sic) at the Exec Lounge Extrance, Rodrigo at front desk, charming and polite Alexander (young bellhop who delighted in using English) and ALL the staff at the concierge desk...including the women (they will know who they are) who told us about the terrific 12 floors of shops at 33 Santa Clara (around the corner) for bathing suits; the 143 Siqueria Campos complex (you could spend a week there visiting all the antique and other shops, as well as the Rio Net Teatro), and the Havianas (Brazillian made flip flops) shops near the metro station.

Complementary welcome caipirinha graciously prepared and served to us at the Lobby Bar was another nice touch.

The beach side service was attentive. One of the hotel's life guards provides lounges, towels and umbrellas, and can arrange for drinks. Rooftop pool is comfortable temperature, and was perfect for a moonlight swim under the stars. Roof changing rooms have lockers, spacious shower, and hot sauna.

We opted NOT to use the Marriott car (at 120 Reales) for ride to airport last night, but hailed a taxi on the street and paid just under 60 reales for a nearly 50 minute ride in heavy weekend traffic.

Hotel is in excellent location, at center of Copacabana Beach - about 6 blocks from Copacabana Palace Hotel. We walked to the far ends of the beach during our stay, and also ventured into Ipanema, Lebron and elsewhere. We used riosdehistorias tour guides and saw things we never knew existed in Rio.

We concluded that our tour books really don't convey enough about this vast city and the exciting, interesting and endless number of places to go and things to see.

JW Marriott is obviously a property that is carefully managed and maintained, with highly trained staff that uniformly speak beautiful English. We are delighted to have stayed there.

Room Tip: If you can't get oceanfront, try for an atrium view room on the 10th or 11th floors that faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    406
    135
    37
    34
See reviews for
134
364
94
363
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The location was great -- right on the beach in Copacabana. Although it is a JW Marriott, it felt more like a Marriott (although the prices were JW-M). The breakfast was OK, not great. The rooms were OK, not great. The staff was really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operation at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing Marriott hotels for your travels and for choosing the JW Marriott for your visit to Rio de Janeiro. We look forward welcoming you back soon
Regards

Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel charges big bucks, it must be the beach.

The main advantages are:
Very good breakfast, fruits, meat, croissants etc…
Nice small room and comfortable bed
Free chairs and towels at the beach
The beach is right out in front of the hotel
Sushi restaurant but pretty slow and bad service there
Bar in the lobby and good drinks
Good service overall

The downturns:
Costly wireless (35$ a day or something) but that goes with the expensive overall rates
Minimal business center (only 1 computer by the concierge)
Only 2 English TV channels (CNN BBC and a movie channel with english and portugese movies)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operation at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I am happy you enjoyed our amenities including our complementary beach service. For the wireless internet the fee is in local currency R$35, please pardon the confusion with the rate, we also offer personal assistance with any business center needs. Thank you for your comments regarding the selection of English channels and I want to invite you back to enjoy once more our beautiful hotel and Copacabana Beach right outside our doors.
Regards

Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rambouillet, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

You arrive at the hotel... and you see the difference at the first glance. Everybody smiles, takes care about you, makes you feel welcome. I had a inner room in the 7th floor for a congress in the hotel. Very tidy and everything in its place. Nice bathroom with all necessary appliances. Tidy sports center and pool area on the roof. Great restaurants as well as a wonderful bar team.

Price EUR 300 per night, therefore 4 and not 5 stars as ranking.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are always here to welcome you with the biggest smile and willingness to help. It is with great pleasure that I want to invite you to visit us again and thank you for choosing us for your visit to the wonderful city of Rio de Janeiro.

Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

JW Rio it's in the middle of Copacabana beach, it's pricey, but any hotel in Copacabana is expensive (even the ones who look like motels).
Food was good, specially breakfast. Staff is friendly and they are ready to help. Lobby is very nice and they have music and good entertainment at night.
If you don't need to stay in Copacabana, you have some nice options in front of the beach, at Barra da Tijuca beach, hotels there are nice and less pricey and close to Copacabana.



In general rooms and food are consistent with other Marriots and you know what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us, we are always working to make our guests happy and we hope that you choose to stay with us in Copacabana on your next visit to the wonderful city of Rio de Janeiro.

Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

For a quick weekend in Rio, this was a great choice.

- Accommodated me for check-in at ~10 am in the morning after an overnight flight from the US without comment
- Right across from Cocpacabana beach....perhaps nicer stretches further south, but still great. Nice little cafes, other options in short walking distance.
- Got a free upgrade to a beach-view room - definitely enhanced the experience.
- Great rooftop pool, chairs, bar service....even power outlets if you (sadly) need. Beautiful view over the beach and the city as a whole. Plus a rooftop gym towards the back with almost as good of views.
- Nice, albeit crowded, lounge with reasonable breakfast including continental options + some hot items and an omelet station. Evening service was especially busy on the weekend - no seats when we stopped by.
- Still raving about the sheets - I stay in many great hotels around the world 100+ nights a year, and these stand out as the best I can remember.
- My biggest complaint about the hotel is more of a personal preference - the hotel felt very generic late 90s / early 2000s. No particular style / local feel / etc

Overall, not cheap and not very "local" - but if you are looking for a solid international brand hotel in a very good location in the city, this worked out quite well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are very pleased that you experienced so much that we have to offer, on your next visit to Rio de Janeiro please try our menu at our The Carioca lobby bar where we bring all the local flavors to the table for our guests to experience. We would be happy to have you stay with us again on a near future.
Regards

Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Anyone who's been to Rio de Janeiro knows hotels are seriously outdated (though expensive like the best of them) and customer service is just no good throughout the city. I stayed at this hotel hoping to escape all that (even though I like Ipanema much better than Copacabana) and for the most part I was successful, though the hotel needs to improve a few things.

The GOOD:
-Very clean
-Rooms spacious enough
-Most staff speak English
-Gym has an amazing view of the beach (see photo), and there's a sauna
-There's a sushi restaurant, generally good but some stuff is bad (how can you get miso soup wrong?)
-Some very good people, like Fernanda and Diego, stood out and clearly like, enjoy and are good at their job.
-There's a bartender and a food menu in the rooftop pool (not all hotels in Rio have this)
-On Sunday the breakfast buffet had sparkling wine and chocolate-covered strawberries :)

The BAD:
-The first few days I stayed in one of the rooms with no ocean view and they have a big problem: your window looks into other guests windows, and vice versa. I think this is pretty bad, plus they're very dark. I changed to an ocean view room and it was better, but I wish the windows were larger given the view.
-In the rooms with no ocean view, the noise can be significant. They had a full Brazilian carnival going on one Sunday night and I could hear everything from the room. I never sleep before midnight so I didn't mind it, but others might.
-They're obsessed with their adaptors (first they gave me one that didn't fit the sockets, then gave me a second adaptor that was needed for the first adaptor to actually work, made me sign not one but two papers to ensure I'd return the two, then took it back from me so I had to get another one and sign again, later they even sent me reminders asking me what time they could come pick them up... I have two things to say: 1) Chill, people! and 2) get more adaptors.
-The rooftop area has a great view but the glass is dark, and the area overall needs to have some plants/flowers (or something) to make it feel less dry/sterile.

In terms of location, Copacabana is just not as nice as Ipanema so next time I'll probably try to find something in Ipanema, maybe in Airbnb.

Room Tip: Non ocean view rooms look into each other, are dark, and if there's a party downstairs, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Rio de Janeiro, we are pleased to have a wonderful team always available to help and thank you for taking the time to share with us in details about your experience. Your comments are highly appreciated. I have shared your comments about the MISO with our Chef and you can be certain that will be much better next time. Also thank you for describing the “adaptors obsession”. We will review it for sure. Please come visit us again to enjoy all the amenities offered at our property, such as our Gym with the wonderful views, our morning breakfast buffet and many more.
Regards

Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2600, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.