We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mecure apartments Rio De Janeiro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sorocaba, 305, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22271-110, Brazil (Botafogo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #71 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mecure apartments Rio De Janeiro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed there for 3 weeks in November 2013 on business.
Great location rooms have recently been renovated,we had a balcony view not hot but was great to step outside.
Large fridge full cooking facility's but no cooking equipment ,they did supply some when asked,but were clearly abused.
Staff are so friendly and helpful ,breakfast good.
Lots of restaurants/bars /supermarkets/metro/bus in walking distance.One thing the shower bathroom was too small.
Would go back love Rio .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBotafogo, General Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Mack, thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed so much Rio de Janeiro, I hope to see you in your next visit to the city.
Best regards,
Alejandro I Avila
General Manager / Gerente Geral
Mercure RJ Botafogo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    234
    104
    26
    15
See reviews for
147
90
34
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have been renting an apartment since almost 9 months now & I must say that the management & staff are quite friendly,&, more important,take their work seriously.
The place is clean,organized,getting upgraded by the day, & some apartments have been refurbished & upgraded in a scheduled process.
Though I don't live in one of the new apartments, the rates are reasonable & the management tends to take one's suggestions for improvement, always, into consideration.
Free WI-FI, good cable TV, garage parking, close proximity to bus stations, Metro, supermarkets & cafés.
If you plan a stay in Rio, I certainly recommend this friendly place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBotafogo, General Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Mr Zada, thank you for your review, it is a pleasure to host you at the Mercure RJ Botafogo, hope to see you soon!

Best regards,

Alejandro I Avila
General Manager / Gerente Geral
Mercure RJ Botafogo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This Hotel was a pleasure to stay at and we would recommend this to anyone. The friendly staff greeted us, the room was very well appointed with swimming pool, spa, restaruant, buisnes center. Our room had a room with a balcony that had a wonderful view the "Christ the Redeeemer" This motel is close to all means of travel, bus, metro and taxi's. There are may restaruants nearby, with shopping a pleanty. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is coming to Rio de Janerio (Botafogo area) and would stay here again. When you arrive, do not be taken back by the frontage, go up the elevator to the 2nd floor where reception is and you will be amazed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBotafogo, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado Mack14,

Obrigado por ter registrado seu review no Tripadvisor, fico feliz que tenha gostado do Mercure RJ Botafogo. Em nome de nossa equipe agradeço os elogios!

Esperamos revê-lo na sua próxima visita à Cidade Maravihosa.

Atenciosamente,

Alejandro I Avila
General Manager / Gerente Geral
Mercure RJ Botafogo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Rio is a nightmare city, I've been twice for business and the whole place is anarchy on wheels. The hotel is a little haven of relative sanity in that. A small frontage leads back to the reception and main accommodation, apartments are ok, strange things like, a full cooker with no pots/pans, no kettle, air conditioning is variable. On the plus side, I found it clean, there was a good gym, and some of the staff were wonderful - Ana Claudia is recommended most highly.
the restaurant is surreal, normally Brazilian food is great but this place served steak that made me laugh it was so poor. Not strange that I was the only person there, . If you are travelling with a group/ family, this is the right place for you. If you want beaches, nightlife and 5 star service then best try elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro A, General Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Ian, thank you for the review, we will share it with our staff in order to continue improving our services.

Best regards,

Alejandro I Avila
General Manager
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Address: Rua Sorocaba, 305, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22271-110, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home with true comfort and hospitality in a great location. You will be welcome at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo. The Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo hotel, between Rua Sao Clemente and Rua Voluntarios da Patria, is located in an area with many major national and international businesses, clinics and an important gastronomic hub. The hotel lies under the arms of Christ the Redeemer, within easy reach of the city center and metro. It is close to the Rio Sul and Botafogo Praia shopping centers and Unibanco cinema space. A few minutes from Copacabana beach, the Botanical Gardens, Lagoa and Santos Dumont Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.