We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place for family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sorocaba, 305, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22271-110, Brazil (Botafogo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #71 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Qatar
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“perfect place for family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

good choice based on tripadvisor reviews. i totally enjoyed my stay at this proprty! i travel with a 1 yr old and thereby clean rooms are my priority- add to that the comfort of a clean microwave and fridge and gas stove and i love the place already. bottom line - its clean, it was clean under the bds too ! the rooms and washroom are small ; shower area is small- but i think thats general in rio. it isnt far from anywhere and taxis easly available. i used the bus for a lot of my trips and the bus terminal is close by.
i was given a room facing buildings but easily moved to the apartments facing the christ after 2 nihts- what a view.....make sure u carry a print out of hotel name if u dnt speak spanish / portugese ; the taxi fare to and from airport is about 40-50 BRL, ipanema beach about 20 BRL away and sugar loaf and Christ also in the same range..... i liked this quiter area ( its residential area) for the comfort of the room with a kid, this isnt the best place to stay if ur traveling with partner - cuz u cud stay at more happening places like the beaches. but ofcourse i traded distance from the beaches for a better room - so make ur choice - but it was goood value for money for me

only issues ( if any) is that no utensils were provided for the gas stove and the microwave ( the same were provided in my mercure apartment suites in sao) .... and that the room servie wont understand english. you've got to call the reception who will call room service to deliver your order which goes around in circle and u might get ur order in about 30 mins. but then no one really speaks english - so u get used to it......another issue was that the AC made a lot of noise in our secind apartment ( again i have read about noisy AC's in almost all reviews for hotels in the beach area)

Room Tip: ask for view to the Christ
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro A, General Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for your review, we look forward to see you again at the Mercure RJ Botafogo.

Alejandro I Avila
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    234
    104
    26
    15
See reviews for
147
90
34
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

It´s expensive, by the perspective of the quality offered. The service is slow. The restaurant is bad and the rooms are not very comfortable. I will return to Rio this year, to an event in Botafogo, but I won´t choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My stay at Mercure Botafogo was perfect - early check in , late check out , large and clean apartment with a special view to Cristo Redentor . I paid half of the price at Leblon and really enjoyed the location because you easily can get a taxi to go to the most popular touristic attractions of Rio. It´s perfect for all kind of travelers including business , families . The staff was always prompt to listen and solve our requests . The breakfast is not included in the price and costs 25 BRL per person , but easily in the corner of the street you can have some nice breakfast for less than 10 BRL . I appreciate this hotel and recommend it to you . This is not a touristic place and you feel more the atmosphere of living in Rio .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro A, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dear Eddie,

Thank you for your review, it will encourage our staff to continue improving our services. Hope to see you in you next visit to Rio.

Regards,

Alejandro Irazabal Avila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indaiatuba, SP
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I traveled with my family, wife and child (5 years old), Mercure Botafogo is a suite style hotel with fridge, microwave.
Good room size with a living room (with optional bed) and room, so there´s accommodation for a family. Bathroom is no so large a little bit tight. Good cleanness.
Breakfast is overpriced (about USD 20) for options offered, every day same options and our last day on a Monday there´s no pastries options just 2 cakes.
In my opinion Botafogo is a good location for sightseeing in Rio, because close to several attractions specially if you are traveling with kids, ok for beach is not so close but not impossible to reach with a taxi (there´s a lot of in the region and prices are affordable), if you prefer there´s a bus stop in the corner (Voluntarios da Patria street) or Metro station 4 block walk to beach direction.
Good bars and restaurants options just 10 min. walking.
Service is pretty good, at check in Mr. Paulo Santos was very efficient and provide full information about hotel.
Don´t forget to ask a room with Cristo Redentor view, it´s amazing.
I do recommend this hotel, except if you prefer to stay in Copacabana or shopping in Barra da Tijuca.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Cristo Redentor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandro A, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your review, hope to see you on your next visit to Rio.

Regards,

Alejandro I Avila
General Manager
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Ok hotel if you are only spending a couple of days, free wi-fi was a bonus, pool area is not nice and very small, the rooms are basic but had everything we needed. The area is ok, about 20 minutes by bus to Ipanema and major attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Three of us stayed here for 3 nights just before Carnaval and just before a cruise. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. We were very comfortable. The rooms weren't big but we had planty of space. The balcony didn't have much of a view - we mainly looked out on a blank wall - but the rooms were bright. We enjoyed using the pool. We would have liked some utensils in the kitchen but maybe we should have asked for some. The rooms were very new and clean. The staff spoke very limited English but were helpful and pleasant. We liked the not-so-touristy area. Two nice super markets were nearby and the subway was close, too. I had been worried about safety in Rio but we felt safe, had a great time, and want to return!

Room Tip: You could ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel

Address: Rua Sorocaba, 305, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22271-110, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home with true comfort and hospitality in a great location. You will be welcome at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo. The Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo hotel, between Rua Sao Clemente and Rua Voluntarios da Patria, is located in an area with many major national and international businesses, clinics and an important gastronomic hub. The hotel lies under the arms of Christ the Redeemer, within easy reach of the city center and metro. It is close to the Rio Sul and Botafogo Praia shopping centers and Unibanco cinema space. A few minutes from Copacabana beach, the Botanical Gardens, Lagoa and Santos Dumont Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Rio De Janeiro Botafogo Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.