We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a mid-duration stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Fransisco Otaviano, 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-040, Brazil (Lagoa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #79 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place for a mid-duration stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stay duration: 1 month

Positives:
1. Stuff are very friendly and helpful
2. Breakfast was decent
3. Free wifi provided
4. Small kitchen with gas stove
5. Room are clean and not too noisy
6. Good location to beach and supermarkets
7. Great coffee in the lobby

Negatives:
1. Cleaning services can sometime be a bit late (but the cleaning lady are very helpful)
2. Most of the staff can't speak english
3. No meal service within hotel, but can order takeouts from nearby pizza place
4. Gym is abit small

Overall a nice and decent place to stay for up to 1 month.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiane R, General Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador. Your review is very important to us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Tatiane Ramos
General Manager
Mercure Arpoador Rio de Janeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    227
    120
    25
    12
See reviews for
139
126
38
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed at many Hotels in Rio but this is the best till date specially when you are travelling with family on vacation. The Reception people speaks English and ar every curteaus, all rooms are equipped with Extra Sofa cum bed and Kichen to cook. What more do you want in a hotel in Brazil? 100 Meters left and right side of the hotel you find 2 Best Beaches in Rio. Simply Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Top Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiane R, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Tatiane Ramos
General Manager
Mercure Arpoador Rio de Janeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here expecting something reasonable but it was average to say the least.The room was clean and tidy but certainly nothing special, but the bathroom was old and mouldy. Location was ok but I'm sure for this price there is better around.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiane R, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I have the pleasure to share with you that we have planned a renovation for social areas and apartments just after world cup games and I hope receveing you in a brand New Mercure pretty soon.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tatiane Ramos
Gerente Geral
Mercure Arpoador Rio de Janeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eze, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I spend 6 nights in the Mercure arpoador.
The plus :
- Location is fabulous between Copacabana and Ipanema! Very safe.
- The staff was quite friendly and helpful.
- very clean
The minus
- Price was somewhat high.
- no view on lower floors.
- very noisy ( I could hear next door baby as if he was sitting close to me).
- fixtures and windows poorly installed

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiane R, General Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Tatiane Ramos
General Manager
Mercure Arpoador Rio de Janeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in one of the apartments. The hotel is perfectly located in the middle between Copacabana/ Leme on the one side and Ipanema/ Leblon on the other side. The area feels safe, and although there is always a lot of police on the way didn't see anything to worry about. People are out and about already from early and I went running on the beaches every morning, while many others were doing the same. Lively area with several restaurants within walking distance. The apartment had a bedroom, bathroom and living/kitchen, very pleasant. I decided to have breakfast in the room from groceries bought at a nearby supermarket as BF in the hotel I felt to be expensive and not great (I only went down once and that experience was not good, empty juice, cold eggs, no spoons, slow replacements etc) so changed approached from then on. Reception is very friendly and helpful. Rio is a good city to visit. I walked a lot in the city without problems and also the yellow-cab system is very good and reliable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel

Address: Rua Fransisco Otaviano, 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Lagoa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Mercure Apt Arpoador, offering 46 apartments, is located between the two most famous beaches in Brazil, Copacabana and Ipanema. The hotel is 12 kilometres from the centre of Rio de Janeiro and 25 kilometres from the international airport. The hotel features fully equipped apartments, a fitness centre, sauna, swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Arpoador Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Rio De Janeiro Arpoador Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.