We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Fransisco Otaviano, 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-040, Brazil (Lagoa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“nice place to stay, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After renting an apartment in the same street, I decided to stay one more week in Rio, so I booked this hotel, because it was next door of my rental, and I loved the neighborhood.
The apt. was nice, 2 rooms, a kitchenette with a strict minimum of kitchen utensils (but I was told that I could ask for whatever I needed), and I chose a view on a garden.They were having builders in the hotel, so I didn't take the Ocean view because it was too noisy. I asked to visit the penthouse and the deluxe rooms for next time, and they are very well decorated for an hotel of this class, and the view is amazing. I think it is a very good deal. Everything in Rio is very expensive, and if you are looking for a long stay, or are with family (I was alone), this is very convenient. I have been trying a few Mercure, lately, and I have, for the moment, never been disappointed.
The pool is very long but narrow and doesn't get the sun. But if you like swimming, the lengh is ideal and then you can have a sauna!
The wifi connection is acceptable, not very powerful depending on the time of the day, like everywhere in Rio.
So you can try this hotel, the staff is very nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    241
    132
    33
    14
See reviews for
162
131
39
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paderborn, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is located on a nice street, in walking distance between Ipanema and Copacabana beaches, on a very circulated street. Expect some traffic noise during the day. The underground station is reachable in 10 minutes walk bus stations are close to the hotel.
The hotel actually offers apartments which is great for longer stays. There is a bedroom, and an open living with a small kitchen. Very nicely furnished. You have a fridge and microwave and cooker. So you could reduce the costs associated with eating out every time in the many places available close by. Both the bedroom and living have LCD TVs with access to cable TV with many channels having double audio so you can switch the films and shows to their original English.
Breakfast is quite basic but it offers some fresh fruits.
Staff is friendly. I would go there again.

Room Tip: Get a room in a higher floor to have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We choose this hotel because of the location for the nice fireworks in Copacabana beach for the New Year. The hotel is only 2 blocks from Copacabana beach and Ipanema beach and can be accessible by foot from the subway station.

The room is pretty good in size, with a small kitchen with microwave. There is also a TV room, with good seating area and then the bathroom and the bed. All clean and new. It could have better amenities in the bathroom in quality and quantity - we had to ask for more.

Check in was fast and staff is corteous and no complaints about it. The check out was also fast, but luckily we didn't need the taxi service from them, as no taxi was available. We called a radio taxi company which we took when we arrived in Rio.

We checked the swimming pool in the 3rd floor, but it really looked awful and dirty. There are towels available, but you will have a lot of fun in the beaches nearby. Breakfast is served in the same floor - not special, but food was fresh.

The price is maybe the only con for this hotel. Yes, it is expensive and yes, you are in Rio, but sometimes you should get either a better price for the hotel or a better value. You will not get here and maybe in no other hotel in Rio. Keeping this in mind, you probably have a "good" value hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

There are no words to explain our horrible experience in this so called hotel: an extremely high price combined with all the worst things you could imagine: dirty tents, broken furniture, a little hole in the wall (!), a washbasin and a bathroom for Lilliputians, insufficient cleanness everywhere, . Really the worst deal in our life

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We only stayed here for two nights but it suited us very well. The location is the main selling point, being just a five minute walk away from Ipanema and Copocabana beaches. The rooms have a small balcony and a separate bedroom and the bed was very comfortable. The furniture is OK but the small kitchen wasn't well equipped although we didn't use it. There are excellent restaurants within walking distance and we also had breakfast out at cafes with neach views. Flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi was good.
The front desk was very helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel

Address: Rua Fransisco Otaviano, 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Lagoa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#54 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Mercure Apt Arpoador, offering 46 apartments, is located between the two most famous beaches in Brazil, Copacabana and Ipanema. The hotel is 12 kilometres from the centre of Rio de Janeiro and 25 kilometres from the international airport. The hotel features fully equipped apartments, a fitness centre, sauna, swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Arpoador Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Rio De Janeiro Arpoador Hotel Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.