We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth EVERY cent!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CaipiHostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added CaipiHostel to your Saves list
CaipiHostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Av. Gomes Freire, 373 | Lapa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20231-012, Brazil (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seropedica, RJ
1 review
“Worth EVERY cent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Straight to heart of Rio de Janeiro, close to everything. One step through out the door and you're in the middle of everything, just a few steps away from some real nice places. Downtown Rio. One step into the doors and you are in this awesome and peaceful place with music and drinks and people and a lot of histories and everything. You can sit by the hall and play some guitar, then someone sits by your side and you get this kind of experience that only a place like Caipihostel can give. Worth every cent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    63
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
1
13
68
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Staff were super helpful and friendly; very accommodating. Music played was super loud from the early afternoon til early hours of the morning, but if you're staying in Lapa, it's street party central anyway. You get what you pay for with the room, pretty basic but clean. Staff and atmosphere made up for it; and they make a pretty deadly caipirinha!!
Definitely recommend it overall :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

For the price I paid, I could not expect any better! Very cheap and clean; also, it's as much safe as it could be in the place it's located. The location makes it possible to go by foot to the heart of Rio’s downtown – exactly because of this, one must take care in the surroundings. The only problem was a continuous noise because of the central air conditioning machine besides my room.

Room Tip: Avoid the upper room; it's beside the air conditioning machine, and a continuous noise will make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have to agree with Gareth M, was pretty surprised by the rave reviews of this place, sort of an average hostel experience really. The common areas were nice and a lot of work had been put into them but the dorms were very cramped and you had to walk all over everyone's stuff to get anywhere. A solution would be to have one less bunk bed and some proper lockers people can stash their bags in, and this would also mean you could do away with the really irritating key card swipe system: it just leads to people thumping on the door at 3 in the morning when they've nipped out for a pee without their key card, or keeping the door propped open at all times to get some air in which makes the system moot anyway. Also it would be nice to see the street art from the common areas extended into the dorms: or even just a lick of paint! Anywhere! At the minute with the all white sheets, white walls and white tile floor it feels like staying in a serial killer's basement. This and the crampedness and the incredible heat (air con is only turned on at 10pm which is far too late) meant that the dorms just weren't nice places to stay in.

Each bed is meant to have a plug socket and none of them worked. There was one floor plug which the 10 of us in the dorm fought over. When someone notified the staff of this apparently the response was "Oh yeah, sorry, the plugs in dorm 4 don't work" and it certainly wasn't fixed for the three days we were there which made charging anything a real pain in the bum. Not good enough. And two of the beds were without lockable storage because they had to be crammed in against the wall and the storage units had been removed. And there was building work going on next door (like drilling and hammering) intermittently throughout the morning and afternoon.

This is also DEFINITELY not made clear enough on the hostelworld write-up of the place but it is also used as a gig venue (as was the case for two of our three nights stay). Don't get me wrong, I love live music and I love to party but I also like the option of jamming in my headphones and getting some sleep, but the music was APPALLINGLY loud. I can't hear my own ipod kind of loud, oh my god, it's the apocalypse kind of loud. And this goes on from band warm up at 8.30 til 1.00 so if you don't like it - too bad! You're paying for it to be blasted into your eardrums anyway! It makes sleeping completely impossible (and I've slept comfortably through the night in both Loki hostels if that's anything to go by). We were just really disappointed this hadn't been made clearer on hostelworld, or during the day by the hostel staff, or indeed ever, as we would have definitely definitely moved. I like music but thrash trance heavy metal? Seriously?

All in all, friendly staff but a pretty average hostel experience, with pretty sub-par dorms, average bathrooms, and real issues with noise. This place has a lot of potential but maybe has to focus less on being really really cool and think more about what makes a really comfortable hostel experience. I can see from other reviews I'm in the minority but I've stayed in waaaay more basic places than this and had a much better time because they were more in tune with people's needs. Think carefully if this place suits you before you book and don't be too taken in by the glittering reviews, there are definitely problems.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am well traveled and I have stayed at many hostels. CaipiHostel is by far the greatest hostel I have ever stayed at. The hostel is modern, homely, clean and very secure. The staff are very friendly and helpful also. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. The hostel is in a good location, very close to lively Lapa and close to supermarkets etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful but I found that the Dorms were crammed together. I stayed in a 12 bed dorm and there was very little space and you were pretty much walking on everyone's backpacks! The showers and bathrooms were fairly dirty too.

I have definitely stayed in much better hostels in South America and Rio.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I first went to Rio in October 2012 and stayed at Caipihostel as a friend was already there. I loved Rio so much and the experience at Caipihostel that I stayed there again in January 2013.

It's in a great location not too far away from the centre of party central but far enough that you can get a decent night's sleep. Flamengo beach (which in my opinion is better than Ipanema and Copacabana) isn't too far either.

The guys and gals that work there are cool cats. They're friendly, down-to-earth, and tell it like it is from a natives perspective. We got some great tips on where to visit which included some hidden gems that mostly locals go to. And the place is always kept really tidy by the cheeriest cleaners you'''ever meet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CaipiHostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CaipiHostel

Address: Av. Gomes Freire, 373 | Lapa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20231-012, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CaipiHostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the best hostel in the world!!! Well…maybe not yet, since we open our doors on July 7th 2012. But that’s our goal!! And we’ll go above and beyond to make it happen!!! Things you should know before coming here:• This is a backpacker hostel and we praise the backpacker lifestyle. So, we chose to offer awesome facilities for free and a cheap price for the stay. All rooms are the same: 6 bunk beds (12 people), with spring matress, big individual drawer and bed light, wi-fi and security cards for each room. • We have air conditioning everywhere (in the rooms from 10pm to 10am) and a great common area with a happy hour bar, tv and a lounge area for smokers. We are really serious about having fun and sleeping. This means that after 11pm, the party must go on in the streets! Guests who do not respect this, will be invited to leave.• We don't have private rooms because we want you to meet new people and make friends. We also don’t have breakfast neither kitchen facilities because of some building issues. But food around here is really cheap.• We are in Lapa: a insane place with street parties, historical buildings, loads of bars and restaurants and amazing people from around the world; but it’s not a wealthy neighbourhood and you well see the real side of Rio, not just the postcard picture!• We’re not beside the beach, which means you’ll see more locals walking in the streets during the day, not only tourists. You can get there easily by bus (25min) or subway (20min); and what you spend to go there, you’ll save when you walk to the bars at night. • Remember: we only accept CASH! And the payment must be at the check-in. There are several ATMs on our street and the Police Central is in front of us. Read our terms and conditions too.• If after all, you decide to come: Congratulations!! You just signed up for one of the greatest tripping experiences at the best soon-to-be hostel of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your CaipiHostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CaipiHostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CaipiHostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.