We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Celebrated New Years In Rio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Miramar Hotel by Windsor to your Saves list
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica, 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 216 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Celebrated New Years In Rio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Booked as part of a 2 trip stop holiday vacation where we ended in Brazil for New Years. After long night flight from Miami had arrived with warm greeting and champagne toast 1 day before NYE. a beautiful beachfront location.

PROS: Staff was very attentive. the included breakfast buffet was bananas; as this is not your typical continental bread/juice affair. We ha omelet stations., fruits, meats, lox, bottomless mimosas etc. rooftop pool. groovy globe trotters. Place is a great place to meet exceptional people as well. As everyone we met we well traveled and had interesting stories to share. In fact we made a lot of lasting friend we pings to stay in touch..Right across street from beach!

CONS: Really not a con but small rooms as this is typical for Brazil. We ended up switching 2 different rooms 2nd room was a bit bigger and facing beach but lower to ground which meant you hear the street crowd all day..

Overall would highly recommend especially if you can find a deal....

Room Tip: go high and beach front if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Mr Koshousk,
Thank You very much for your review at Trip Advisor. Your words will help us to make better services in the future. Only one thing we did not understand was about the noise from the streets you said you heard from your room. Our windows have a special double glasses which normally block the noises from outside. I will check if there is something wrong in the room you stayed in our hotel. Anyway, Thank you for this information and we hope to see you soon!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    138
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
136
312
41
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I would truly recommend this hotel to anyone. Everything is perfect: from its location, right in front of Copacabana Beach (even though I would prefer Leblon or Ipanema, the view is amazing and totally worth it), breakfast is great (tapioca, omelettes, many types of cheeses like brie, chevre, etc, fresh fruits, freshly squeezed juices, eggs, sausages, breads, cereals, etc)
Rooms are impecable: very modern and clean. Rooms also have L'occitane ammenities which is great!
Staff and service are great: from checkin to checkout, staff is always very friendly and helpful and will try to solve any kind of problems you may have.
Unfortunately, I was there in a rainy weekend but if you get the chance of staying here in a sunny day, do go to the pool on the top of the hotel: amazing view and the water is also warmed on colder days.
Would come back here at anytime!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Mrs Ludmila,
Thanks for the nice words about our hotel and services. These words are like an incentive for us to make better services. Everyday we try to make better services and your comments say that we are in the right way. We hope when you come back you will find a better weather and can use most of all the services we have. Thanks a lot!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I got a terrific deal on a room for five nights through a tripadvisor link to getaroom.com. It was so good that I thought it might be a scam. Nope. I arrived after a long flight on a Thursday morning and was taken right to my room. And what a wonderful room it was in this classy, hip, well-run hotel! On the beach. Best neighborhood in Rio. Hardwood floors. Excellent products in the bathroom. Comfortable bed. And the breakfast! Ah, the breakfast. I’ll miss that most. I had an omelet made to order every morning, fresh juice, and a plate of tasty local fruit. I should add that there are few pools better than the one on the roof here. The staff is friendly and attentive. The hotel has cars and drivers who, for a price a bit higher than a taxi, will take you anywhere. The organized tours looked interesting, though I was too busy. And there is hotel umbrella service on the beach. I have only one very small gripe. In the health club, the cardio equipment is acceptable but the weight lifting equipment is not. A collection of heavier dumbbells and a bench would make all the difference. Or a machine that allows for a wide range of exercises. On my next trip to Rio, I’ll be sure to book at Miramar.

Room Tip: Beach side have terrific views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mr WHAW,
First of all, Thank You very much for your review. We are really happy to know that your stay were delightful. About the weight lifting equipment we are studying to make some changes at the healthy club in order to be more comfortable. Once more thanks for the praises. We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Excellent hotel complete with fantastic staff ( the main ingredient ) overall very satisfied will defiantly come back when we do a larger tour of South America
Including brazil again because we only saw rio and buzios because of the football time was short

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Mr David I,
It was really a special date that you stayed in our hotel. Thanks for you opinion. Using the voice from our guests we can make better services. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simancas, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed at Windsor Miramar for five nights; definitely, a wonderful choice. Rooms are spacious, although not extremely big. Toiletries are excellent and everything in the room is clean and in perfect order. Air conditioning, as in most hotels in America, is always too cold; yet, temperatures were extremely low in Rio the days I spent there.
Service is excellent and very helpful, always trying to find the best way to make one feel comfortable. Breakfast buffet is ample.
The pool and the solarium are small, but the views are breathtaking.
I would certainly come back to Windsor Miramar.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Mr Fernando Antolin,
Thank You very much for your review at Trip Advisor. We are really glad to know that you have a good stay with us. We hope to see you many other time. Thanks again to be our guest!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Miramar by Windsor for 6 nights. I highly recommend this hotel. From the moment we checked in and were offered a glass of champagne, to the last day we were checking out, the service was extraordinary. We stayed in room 302 with a beautiful view of Copacabana Beach. The breakfast buffet was exceptional, and the staff could not have been nicer! I especially want to thank Nelio and Wendy, as well as all the others, who treated us with the warmest hospitality. The rooftop bar and pool was a treat to come back to at the end of the day. This is truly a fine hotel with 5 star service! We are glad we chose to stay here and will return when we are back in Rio.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Mrs. Kathleen,
Thank You very much for your nice words about our hotel services and our staff. We really feel very happy when we read reviews like yours. They say that we are doing a very good work. And we love to serve people. Nelio and Wendy are also saying "Thank You" for the praises. We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a little over our budget but we managed to find a last minute deal online which meant we were lucky enough to spend four nights at the Miramar hotel. Location is spot on - sitting on a lovely part of Copacabana beach - and there is a supermarket and cash points directly behind the hotel which came in useful. Although we spent more time on the beach the roof top pool was also lovely and had great views including that of Sugar Loaf Mountain. We were offered a complimentary glass of champagne on arrival which was lovely. Breakfast at the Miramar is impressive - so much choice and high quality. All types of fruit, eggs, cheeses, cereals, juices, you name it. Really impressive. But, what really makes this hotel stand out is its staff. The team who work at the Miramar are the loveliest group of people who genuinely want to ensure you have an amazing stay. Learning our names from the moment we arrived so that each morning we were welcomed to breakfast as Stuart and Laura was just lovely. Manuel and team on the front door tried their best to even teach us some Portuguese! Nothing is ever too much for the team at Miramar and it's not just service with a smile, it's actually a team of people who really seem to love what they do. The hotel is fantastic and rightly earns its high trip advisor rating, but the team of staff at the Miramar in our opinion deserve the biggest mention. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and thank you Miramar for a lovely stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mr Stuart & Mrs Laura,
I don't have enough words to say "THANK YOU"!. Me and my staff are really happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. You are right when you say that "we love what we do", that's our secret. We really feel happy when our guests are also happy too. Thanks again for the nice words. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramar Hotel by Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramar Hotel by Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Hotel by WindsorA new concept in hospitality in Rio de JaneiroLocated right in front of Copacabana Beach the Miramar Hotel is surrounded by attractions and in the middle of the electrifying atmosphere of Copacabana. Fast and easy access to the main tourist spots in Rio and to airports. Ipanema beach is only a few minutes’ walk awayThe new Miramar is for demanding guests. The hotel is decorated with noble materials and fixtures, like ecological wood (ecowood), Venetian cristal and fine marbles from different countries.The Miramar Hotel – offers 200 modern, stylish, luxurious rooms and suites.All rooms are equipped with Butler Service, Trussardi bed and bath linen and Nespresso Coffee Maker.Restaurant Sá, under direction of Chef Paulo Góes, contemporary cuisine and elegant décor. Panoramic terrace with beautiful view of Copacabana and complete fitness room with state of the art equipment Infinity edge pool, heated in winter.Pet Friendly, the Miramar Hotel welcomes small pets of up to 5kg and offers special VIP Pet Guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Prestigia, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Miramar Hotel by Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel By Windsor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramar Hotel by Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.