We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence is a journey not a destination” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Miramar Hotel by Windsor to your Saves list
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
London
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellence is a journey not a destination”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I just came back from one week in Rio de Janeiro where I stayed in three differents property including the miramar by windsor. The taxi drop us at the corner as the street is a one way and no one realized that we needed help despite having three bellboy,doorman at the front. eventually at the door they took our suitcases. We arrived at the desk and David did our check in. What a long process , I had the impression that I was a five years old kid the way David explained the process of charging my card for 1 night and than pre authorised for the rest. Allo I travel I know what it means. we booked a twin superior sea side view. David tried to upswell us a sea view full, good employee for the hotel. We declined. Overall David is very good. No security card system in lift. Coming from the Fasano where you need to put your card to move the lift we were surprised that they did not have this. rio can be a bit unsecured so it brings a bit of safety feeling to know that stranger will not wonder on floor. room 1411 allocated. Even in Conakry in 1992 the AC unit was not as noisy. We could not leave it on while in the room. Reported 5 times nothing changed. The superior room is spacious enough. bed are ok. Did not like lighting or cheap flooring. bathroom .toilet not separated. no rain shower. Good l occitane toiletries . They do not replenish bath salt when used. no turndown service. A maid knocked at the door at around 6 pm everyday to give chocolate but do not do the bed, curtains or anything. bizarre what is the point. the doorman is dodgy we asked him a taxi to go to sugar loaf and he got us a yellow one talked to him and he started the meter at 12 real instead of 4.70 the next day when we took one ourself. 30 real to go to sugar loaf was a rip off. we asked a taxi to airport and they pushed us in the hotel car for 120 real knowing a taxi cost 60 real. Ok better than the 240 real that Fasano charged us to pick us up from the airport. the breakfast is definitely a plus in this property. Good quality, included in the room rate. organized even on Sunday. Whoever runs the show in there knows his job. Swimming pool small com on who designed this 10 sun loungers for so many rooms. the beach service should be all done at the beach. Why is the bell boy dealing with the towels.Get a good beach set up. We used the concierge for dinner and nightlife. Nelson is very very good and knows his staff he recommend great places to us and he is not pushy. He let u make ur own choice. On Saturday we asked recommendation for samba place Nelson was not there an other guy assist us . Useless he was he categorically refused to call the scenarium saying they did not take booking on Saturday. We finally went and queued for 1 hour .I do not have his name he did not have a name badge. overall this property is a good value for money. It is not a four seasons,a mandarin oriental or even the copacabana palace but the price is not the same. if you are looking for pure luxury stay at the copacabana palace but if you are looking for a comfortable and good value for monney than miramar is a safe choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Mr Maxence,
Good morning! Firts of all "Thank you" for your review at Trip Advisor. As I had already told for many other guests who wrote their opinions here, your opinion is also very important for us. Your comments certainly help us to improve our services, change things, includ others, someway make us better than we were.I'd like to explain about "Cenarium" reservation. They do not take a booking on Saturdays that's why our front office people did not your reservation. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    129
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
119
279
38
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed four nigts at the Miramar in the beginning of April. My executive superior room was really spacious, clean and with an excellent view over Copacabana. The staff is very attentive, service minded and of course speaks excellent English - it truly feels like a luxury hotel!

The rooftop pool and bar is really nice, albeit a bit noisy due to the traffic on Avenida Atlantica - but this is a minor issue.

And then there is the breakfast....This is clearly one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever enjoyed, with a wide selection of high-quality foods and drinks, including real Champagne!

I can warmly recommend Miramar to anyone staying in Rio for a few nights and I think one will struggle to find any place with better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Mr Randy,
Wonderful your review! Thank you very much for your kindly words about my hotel and my Staff. They say that we are doing our best to make our guest stay delighful as you felt during your stay here. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

From being greeted with chilled champagne at check-in, to finding chocolate eggs by our beds on Easter Eve, our whole experience of this exceptional hotel was outstanding.The dining room staff were attentive without being obtrusive and the quality and variety of food at breakfast was superb.The 16th floor rooftop pool overlooking Copacabana Beach was a bonus and sipping a cocktail with a club sandwich as the sunset over the sea will long remain a highlight of our memorable stay.Congratulations to all the staff from bell hops to Dining Room manager - your attention to your customers was exemplary.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a partial sea view as the Beach is quite a sight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Mr 556KIM,
It was a great pleasure to have you during Easter Eve. Me and my Staff would like to say "Thank You" for your kindly words about our hotel, services and us. We are very pride because we are seeing that our guests are very happy with our services, and that's our aim.
We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Spent 2 nights at Miramar with my family and wish we have stayed longer. The hotel exceeded our expectations in many aspects, but the clear highlights are the impecable service, very confortable rooms and superb breakfast.
All the staff is helpful and attentive without being intrusive, something rare particularly in Brazil. The breakfast is from a different era, offering sparkling wine, premium spanish ham (Iberico de Bellotas), and salmon and herring roes. The rooftop area, although relatively small, is very pleasant and served by many waiters
There are some room for improvement tough:
- As other reviews testify, the WiFi signal is weak in some rooms and you can't connect more than 1 device at a time. This is a very basic amenity and management should take actions ASAP. Curiously, I have also stayed at the Windsor Atlantica and internet works much better there.
- They charge for the nespresso capsules in the room, which I found indelicate.
Overall, we enjoyed our experience at Miramar and that's the reason I am giving it 5 stars. We will definitely come back soon.

Room Tip: Try the hotel restaurant, "Sá". Top notch food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Mr MVZanetti,
Thank you very much for your review. It makes me and my Staff very pride of our jobs. About internet access in a few days we will have more speedy, then the service will be better. Little by little we are trying to make things better and you and all our guests are helping us to do it writing here the good things and the ones we have to change. Once more, Thank You!
We are waiting for you!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in April we our friends who are extremely particular about service. We have all stayed in numerous hotels throughout the world and the staff and the service provided was absolutely exemplary. Well done to you all, your hard work produces outstanding service results.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Mr Discerning441,
We really appreciated your review. Your words say that we are in the right way to delight our guests. Thank you to choose Miramar Hotel for your stay in Rio. We hope to see you and your firends soon!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I'm currently staying at the Miramar and will be here two more days. I'm a sales vp so I've logged a significant number of hours in hotel rooms because I'm on the road a lot and I rarely find this level of service. From the minute I got out of my cab and throughout my check-in experience all interactions were above average. That alone would have merited a review (I don't write them very often), but the breakfast buffet helped motivate me to write one. It was definitely superior. Great staff and a wide variety of delicious food. We've all endured the soggy "scrambled eggs ??" scenario, and I tend to judge a place by how well they can handle breakfast, especially if it is included.

The only downside was the presence of a few loud tourists who were rude and obnoxious and that most certainly isn't the fault of the staff.

Their amazing service and genuine smiles have continued throughout the the stay thus far and the food (including the pool bar menu) has been spectacular.

Summary: great location, service, food and comfortable beds. Worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Mr BobbiFrioli,
Wonderful your review! Your comments give us the reason to go on doing good services. The reason of our "genuine smiles" that you felt during your stay is because we love what we do... Make people happy!. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in February 2014 and found this to be a superb hotel for a one week stay in Rio. The staff are excellent, really helpful and the location is great, right on Copacabana beach and easy walking distance to the underground trains. The pool on the roof offers excellent views across the city and because the hotel isn't too large doesn't get overly crowded or overrun with kids. The breakfast is one of the best breakfasts we've ever had too with a great selection of fruits, pastries cereals, pancakes, bacon, eggs, sausages, cooked meats etc. I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a holiday in Rio!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Mr Stretford_Soldier,
It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests. Everyday we wake up thinking how to do our best to make our guests stay delighful. And reading your review looks like we got it in your stay. Thank you very much to choose our hotel to stay in Rio. We hope to see you as soon as posible!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miramar Hotel by Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Address: Avenida Atlantica 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramar Hotel by Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Hotel by WindsorA new concept in hospitality in Rio de JaneiroLocated right in front of Copacabana Beach the Miramar Hotel is surrounded by attractions and in the middle of the electrifying atmosphere of Copacabana. Fast and easy access to the main tourist spots in Rio and to airports. Ipanema beach is only a few minutes’ walk awayThe new Miramar is for demanding guests. The hotel is decorated with noble materials and fixtures, like ecological wood (ecowood), Venetian cristal and fine marbles from different countries.The Miramar Hotel – offers 200 modern, stylish, luxurious rooms and suites.All rooms are equipped with Butler Service, Trussardi bed and bath linen and Nespresso Coffee Maker.Restaurant Sá, under direction of Chef Paulo Góes, contemporary cuisine and elegant décor. Panoramic terrace with beautiful view of Copacabana and complete fitness room with state of the art equipment Infinity edge pool, heated in winter.Pet Friendly, the Miramar Hotel welcomes small pets of up to 5kg and offers special VIP Pet Guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Miramar Hotel by Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel By Windsor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miramar Hotel by Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.