We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vibe, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balcony Bar

Balcony Bar
Avenida Atlantica, 1424, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil (Copacabana)
+55(21)25418381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,701 of 9,756 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, American, Brazilian, Coffee Shop, Seafood, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Copacabana
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice vibe, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We also stumbled upon this one, noticing how popular it was, and ended up there for 4 meals in 3 days. Food service is slow, but nice large portions, and with drinks and live music, there is no hurry. Right in the bustle close to Copacabana Palace - we had pork ribs, chicken parmesan, alfredo, burritos, quesadillas, and Pina Coladas - all good.

Open air eating at its best, with people watching and live music included as a free bonus.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    29
    22
    15
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas,TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food...Entertainment Priceless...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a recent vacation to Rio. We stumbled across this place because the menu had some recognizable items, prices were good for Rio and the staff spoke some english. On our first visit after we ordered we soon realized we would be well entertained by the ladies of the evening. We spent six days in Rio and found ourselves back at the bar on several occasions because the food is actually good and reasonable. Don't be shocked the ladies are working there 24/7.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Decent prices, good for sports but seedy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First the good, it is always busy, the staff are quite helpful, they have a decent grasp of English which can be hard to find at times, the food is actually quite decent, portions huge and affordable as the prices in an expensive part of the city are very good. The bad, prostitutes at the bar at all times of the day so the bar does attract a certain type of clientele but at the same time ther were families, couples. It is what you make of it at the end of the day, would not advise for a single man who does not want to be hassled, also for those who are not at ease eating whilst seeing prostitutes sitting down at the bar area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“8th wonder of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This bar is amongst the best In the world, a must for all that want to enjoy themselves. Even if your not looking for a friend for the night the atmosphere is fantastic

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Completely Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hooker Bar....and just down the block? Are you kidding? The people watching is totally unparalleled. Drinks are a little pricey. Free Wi-Fi and a band/singer on weekend nights.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balcony Bar also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Balcony Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balcony Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.