We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carioca da Gema

Carioca da Gema
Av. Mem de Sa, 79 | Lapa - Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20230-150, Brazil
21 22210043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 572 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Rio de janeiro
2 reviews
“Great night club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Great place to meet poeple, dance and have fun. Even if there is a long line- they will let you in after a few minutes. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    84
    17
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carioca da Gema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went there last night, it was great. About 20 minutes from Leblon ,great music ,great drinks.
The food "ok". The place is excellent for music and drinks , the service also very good, we got a table around 10 pm, after that you just stand up. Not bad because you Will be dancing anyway.
Locals and tourist ,very safe, a must.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Live music all night long! One of the bests at Lapa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Right in the middle of Lapa neighborhood this place brings all the brazilian flavor with it's awesome live music and great caipirinhas. I recommend to get there about 9:00 pm, because latter it is very difficult to get a table (I don't know about you, but I need to sit down for a while during the night), a piece of advice: get the tables far away from the bathrooms because they don't have any view of the show and the bathroom gets the visit of a lot of drunk people. Ask for the caipirinha fruit of passion flavor (maracuyá) and have fun all night long, even if you don't dance, you will love the spirit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Dance the night away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I had a great night there. We went around 2 AM and we stayed until the doors closed at 5 AM. The live music was great, the environment was great. This is a place to go and dance Samba among nice (and drunk after a while) people. It is located in the Lapa area of downtown Rio. This is not a place to miss.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Another samba dance till you drop place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This is the place to go when you want to show your samba moves on Carioca da Gema's dancefloor. The place is always packed and live music is the standard. Great place!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carioca da Gema also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Carioca da Gema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carioca da Gema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.