We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lapa Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lapa Hostel to your Saves list
Lapa Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua do Rezende, 43, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20231091, Brazil (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had a great time here. I stayed over carnival and was really impressed by the cleanliness of the rooms, the facilities (awesome kitchen) and the friendly staff, who made a big effort to make sure their guests had a blast. The location is also perfect. Right in the middle of lapa, near all the good bars and clubs and only a short metro ride away from the beach. The hostel had a very easy going atmosphere that suited me perfectly. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    57
    29
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
14
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The best hostel in Rio! a really friendly staff, excellent location in Lapa near to the best Rio night life, very clean, deliciuos breakfast and a 2 steps of the public transport (10 min to Copacabana)... THIS HOSTEL IS BRILLIANT!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I agree wholeheartedly with most of what Victoria M says in her review. The staff were nice, but were a bit aloof at times. I felt like we had to keep asking questions to get the information that we needed. That being said, they were helpful and kind and stored our bags for us when we checked out, so no real complaints there.

The neighborhood directly surrounding the hostel is a ghetto. As in, there were transvestite hookers across the street at one point during the night. Even as a native New Yorker and someone who's traveled a great deal to many major cities, I did not feel very safe walking around the area, even with my boyfriend who is 6'3" and athletic. Following the drive to the hostel from the airport, upon arrival we had a bit of a panic attack because of what the street looked like and the people who were milling around outside.

I wish I had known before I stayed that the rooms upstairs did not have walls that went all the way to the top of the ceiling. We stayed in a 4-bed room which had no air conditioning, but just 2 sad, little fans. Luckily, there was a window, but it was so hot out that the breeze didn't afford us much relief from the heat. Also, when people arrived home from the clubs, they'd turn on their lights and would be talking loudly all night - the fact that the wall didn't go all the way up to the ceiling made it seem like they were sleeping (or NOT sleeping) right next to us.

The bathrooms were clean and fine but I had trouble getting any hot water to come out. I did like the décor and the facilities were kept clean and in good working order, apart from the water temperature. One thing to mention is that the bathroom doesn't really have a full roof/walls. So it's kind of open to the outdoors.

The crowd seemed pretty young and only about partying; as a 28 and 29 year old, we felt like the old folks here.

For the price we paid, I think it'd be better to cough up an extra $40 or so and stay in a hotel. This place was fine, but it's not for people who don't want to party 24-7 and want creature comforts like "air conditioning" and "hot water".

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The good: The staff of Lapa was wonderful. They were nearly always around and offered advice constantly. Unfortunately sometimes they gave public transportation advice as if you were a local (would just say 'grab the bus' or 'grab the metro' and point in the direction). However as you continued to ask questions they would always help out. English was excellent. The breakfast was nice...breads, cheese, fruit, as well as coffee and juice.

The okay: There were no maps available...just one framed on the wall...so if you left the hostel you had no idea where to go or how to get there (I've now traveled the entire globe, and this was the first hostel that didn't have maps to hand out). The hostel seemed clean, but had a 'dingy' feel to it (but, that explains about all of the Lapa neighborhood =). There is a 20 room dorm on the first floor and an 8 room and two four room dorms on the second floor. There is nearly no difference between the two floors, except the second floor has walls that go up 75% of the way between the rooms...but they are still open to each other, so it's still as if you're sleeping with 20 people). The common room is small and doesn't allow for much socializing (there are two small couches, then several chairs, but it's not setup for a casual meeting). There isn't hot water, unless they decide to turn on the hot water heater (only happened one day of my 5 night stay); yes, Rio is hot, but I'd prefer to chose the temperature of my shower instead of having it chosen for me. The rooms were brutally hot, although there were several fans in the 8 person dorm (they didn't seem to help).

I didn't stay at any other locations in Rio, so they may all be comparable to this one...but compared to other hostels in South America it was just 'okay'.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

great hostel. 20 bed dorm is surprisingly brilliant! the guys have partitioned off the beds and split it into 3 sections so it actually feels a lot more private than a mass dorm and it´s very quiet (6-8 bed dorms on the top floor carry more noise as they´re near the common room).
checked in for 1 night, stayed for 4 - and then came back a second time!
Very clean & the owners stay onsite & can help you with many things! Great hostel - keep it up guys :)

Room Tip: go the 20 bed dorm! great layout & setup & meet some really cool people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lapa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Hostel

Address: Rua do Rezende, 43, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20231091, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lapa Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We bring a new concept of hostel into the most bohemian district of Rio We are in the Lapa district, near the Arcos da Lapa and the whole party atmosphere that reigns there. Our staff will gladly show you what's better to do and see in Rio de Janeiro. We offer breakfast included in the rate, lounge and bar for our guests and wi-fi. Lapa Hostel has dorms with all the security and comfort and peace of mind you need. We can also assist you in renting bicycles, purchase tickets and your journey to or from the airport or bus station.Our building is a building of the old center of Rio, extensively renovated to receive travelers from around the world. We are located in the heart of Lapa, a bohemian neighbourhood with large number of bars, restaurants, markets and shops nearby. From here you can know the oldest buildings of Rio's downtown or take 15 minutes to the city's main beaches (Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Lapa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lapa Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.