We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant with excelent cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of My Thai

My Thai
Rua Fernandes Guimaraes, 82 | Botafogo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22290-000, Brazil (Botafogo)
+55 21 3172-5566
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #326 of 8,677 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Botafogo
Description: My Thai offers individually cooked Thai favorites, cooked in high heat,"fine" fast food style in a modern and casual surroundings. The client orders their meal at the counter and when it's ready we bring it to the table. Unlike other fast food options, our food is delicious and healthy and you can have an adult drink with your meal. Monday to Saturday - 11:30am to 11:00pm.
Istan, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful restaurant with excelent cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

It is fast-food system, but you can notice that the food is very delicious cooked! Very good price!! Good price for travelers too. You can easy remember the Asia Pacific cuisine there.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    55
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Something different...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The restaurant was not difficult to find by walking there, we can understand how it might be difficult for a taxi to locate the place. There is a small plaza that intersects the path at one point.

We began our lunch with special vegetarian FILO spring rolls. The rolls were edible, but the filo was saturated and dense with oil, which took away from the flavor of the appetizer.

On the recommendation from previous reviewers who ordered the Pad Thai-- we ordered a Pad Thai with chicken and a Pad Thai with shrimp.
The dishes were quite delicious, but...the noodles were over cooked, the dish lacked crushed peanuts, and the very important ingredient of cilantro (coentro) was missing. The prices were reasonable and the food was fresh. I think that the dishes need a bit of tweaking, and things will be great!
The woman at the front counter was professional and attentive. We also simple atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at My Thai, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
You are quite right in that we are a short walk from the Botofogo Metro station but all a taxi has to do is take a right at the end of Rua de Passagem and a second right onto our street to find us.
We are investigating how you could possibly have received a Pad Thai without peanuts as we always serve ours with scallions, a wedge of lime and chopped peanuts on top.
We choose to serve Pad Thai with scallions and not cilantro (unless asked) so as not to deprive those who have an allergic reaction to cilantro from the joy that is Pad Thai and which we are happy you found so Delicious.
We are tweaking and will continue to tweak. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“About my thai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I totally agree with another colleague who left a comment that the Mai Thai does not deserve to be considered number one in the city. The food is quite good, the place is ok, but actually is a good restaurant for a quick meal and really not worth it go this far to eat there. But again, the food is good and the prices are reasonable. If we consider that THAI food is expensive in Rio, in this case It might be a good option to go a bit far.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at My Thai, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Far. How far is far? How far is “this far”? How far should one go for what your colleague described as a “Decent”, “Honest”, “Cheap” option and for what you call “Quite Good” food? But, you don't have to go far at all. We deliver!!! We look forward to serving you in your home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great casual dining, couldn't have had better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We walked easily to this restaurant from the botafogo restaurant! We were given a three appetizer, three main course deal. The food was quick and tasted amazing. Very reasonably priced too. Good atmosphere and nicely designed. Will definitely return when I come back to Rio!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Nothing more than a decent option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It is a joke to have this restaurant as "the best restaurant" in Rio (at the time of this writing). I live just three blocks away and went there twice during the last year. There are far better options, event at walking distance (as Miam Miam for international food and Yorubá for brazilian food, both two blocks away).

Although My Thai is a cheap and honest option, it is mainly for people from the neighborhood. No tourist should mind taking a cab to Botafogo to eat Thai food here - the two good Thai restaurants are in Leblon: Nam Thai and Sawasdee. My Thai is so much NOT oriented to tourists or gourmet food that it closes on Sundays, something used in Rio only for simple day to day meals oriented restaurants.

All said, you should come to My Thai only if you are passing close to it and want a Thai fast food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelTM, Owner at My Thai, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We are glad you enjoy our food which is what we are all about – an alternative to the luxury Thai options in town. The suggestion that tourists should not be interested in a “cheap and honest” or "decent" option is strange to us. We are interested in your definition of a tourist as we seem to get plenty and they do seem to enjoy the ability to relax in our restaurant and take their time over a meal without feeling harassed by a waiter filling their glass or trying to turn them out. The absence of a maitre d', hostess, sommelier or waiter hovering about seems to relax people. The suggestion that Sundays might be reserved for Tourists or Gourmands is also a curious one. Our Sunday closing is in part with our policy of trying to keep the prices reasonable for high quality food (double labor costs on Sundays) while not charging a 10 to 15% service charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed My Thai also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to My Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.