We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Hostel, could not be more better...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisetonga Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lisetonga Hostel to your Saves list
Lisetonga Hostel
Ladeira Ari Barroso, 15 | Leme, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-060, Brazil   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excelent Hostel, could not be more better...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Best place I ever stay, i could not find any minuses on this place, extremly kind and hellpfull stuff, friendly atmosphere, and they were trying to do anything for me to feel like home :) Perfect location, just two minutes walk from the Copacabana beach, safe neighborhood - police was everywhere you can look.. Place look awesome, i love this design, it has soul!!... I wish that once, there will be place like this in every city!! :)) PS: They have incredible scooter tours, its a best way to explore the city!!!! It was one of my best experciences.. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    71
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
54
126
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Last January I visited Rio de Janeiro with a friend. After a long search we decided to pick this hostel, because of the very good comments.

It was very easy to find, just up the hill at Leme and we shared a dorm with 8-10 other persons. Everybody has their own locker, so thats very handy.

Breakfast every morning was excellent. Also the kitchen is very nice and has everything to cook and you can keep your stuff in one of the fridges. Very handy.

The staff was excellent, loved them so much. Unfortunately Thiago left (I saw). He was the bartender and made excellent cocktails every night. Also he prepared one night food and shared it with us. Also the other staff is so friendly and nice.

The best part was the places to hang out and there were so many fun people in the hostel when we were there. A guy from Uruguay, a family from Finland, people from Australia. One night we went out to Lapa with a big group and I had such a fun night.

Staying in this hostel was very very good. I think it was the best hostel I've ever been too. Thanks to all the people that were staying here and thanks to the excellent staff! I hope I'll get back soon :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

In my opinion is this hostel best choice in Rio. Hostel has a really good and helpful staff who will help you with everything you need in Rio.
Location is excellent for people who want to go to the beach and also close to Pao de Azucar. Hostel includes good breakfast, own locker in the room. They also have offered to go to town or on a scooter with a guide for a good price and also on places where you will go only hard alone!(http://www.riohappymoto.com).
I cannot write any bad thing on this hostel and I can only recommend for all who will travel to Rio de Janeiro!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubnica nad Vahom, Slovakia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved Lisetonga hostel! It was a great choice to stay there. We met lots of nice people there from all around the world. You can feel friendly atmosphere everywere. Rooms and showers were always clean and the breakfast very tasty :) And the best thing is that it is located only 5 minutes by walk from Copacabana beach. I would reccomend this hostel to everybody who stays in RIO. We will come back again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lisetonga is a great hostel. Good vibe, good facilities, great staff (and v good bar men by night!), even a parrot!
The rooms were good, the bathrooms were good and the breakfast was great.
Great kitchen if you want to cook and good communal spaces plus acai just up the road!
Rick had great information on places to go and where to get your bus etc. and organising airport/Ilha Grande transfers.
It's walking distance from Copacabana and lots of shops. The hill didn't bother me particularly, apart from a couple of return journeys where it felt slightly longer than usual - prob the capis and beers in my legs though...
There's a safe cash point literally, 2 mins away as well.
It's safe, friendly, good location, good information.
It can be noisey at night but that seemed to be a weekend thing (I don't know many travellers without earplugs! or who aren't out at weekends anyway) and when I stayed they were putting in a new water tank so there was extra noise from the workmen - even with that, I had a great time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Good location, nice atmosphere, helpful staff, very good breakfast. It is not a party hostel but the atmosphere is nice and friendly with many young people staying there so for me it was a perfect place. Location is good, few minutes walk to the Copacabana beach, close to public transport and shops. It's quite easy to get anywhere from there. Hostel is clean and breakfast is superb. I recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I just spent a weekend at Lisetonga and was very pleased with it. It is at the top of a very steep climb (about 10 min from the beach) but the light-hearted can take a moto-taxi to go up for under 1€. The hostel has a chilled-hippy vibe to it and was very pleasant, everyone there was very nice. However, there are very loud parties in the surroundings which might not be the best if you have sleeping problems. I liked it and would definitely go back, the price is also very good!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisetonga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisetonga Hostel

Address: Ladeira Ari Barroso, 15 | Leme, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-060, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 495 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated, chalet-style house, just three blocks from the beach. We have spacious dorms and private rooms and four beautiful social areas. Come and join us for breakfast on the terrace or chill out in a hammock in the tower lounge with a spectacular view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Lisetonga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisetonga Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisetonga Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.