We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisetonga Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lisetonga Hostel to your Saves list
Lisetonga Hostel
Ladeira Ary Barroso, 15 | Leme, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-060, Brazil (Leme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Natal, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Im so glad I stayed at Listonga. Its located in a really nice old colonial style house right near the beach in Copacabana. Everything was very clean, the staff were amazing and the owners even went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable. When you are there you are not just a client, they treat you like family. They always offered honest advice about what to do and see in Rio (instead of shove packages and high prices down your throat), and when I had a flight at 5am the next day after I had already checked out they even went out of their way to help me out and make sure I was comfortable before and getting to the airport! Amazing, I give them an A+ and would recommend them to everyone!

Room Tip: There is a 4 bedroom room with its own terrace, its worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    55
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
44
101
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

LISETONGA is the place to be - and my best hostel experience in Rio!!! A nice, safe and cozy hostel, individually and lovingly furnished, also a great building, and only 5 minutes walk from Copacabana beach and a lot of bus stops! I immediately felt at home and made friends with both the helpful staff and the other travellers. It's like a big family who cooks together, watches movies together in the nice patio or goes out at night!The rooms are clean and colorful, they have lockers and some even have balcony. There is a beautiful rooftop terrace with hammocks and you can rent bikes! They have internet for free, but you can also ask the staff for any information you need! The breakfast is delicious and diverse! All in all I highly recommend this hostel and its owners for a great Rio experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed at Lisetonga Hostel for one week and it was awesome!!!! The neighborhood is very safe and Copacabana is only 5minutes walk away. The rooms are very clean, cozy and amazing - my room even had a balcony with a great view onto the ocean. The owners and staff are superfriendly and always have great advices to experience the "real" Rio. My best hostel experience in Brazil.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spend 6 great days here. For me it was a good place to day and discover Rio´s beach and other attractions from here.
Next to the very clean Hostal the people have been very friendly and helpful when finding my way around in the "marvelous city". Certainly a good pick when coming to Rio!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

i already visited rio for 3 times and lisetonga hostel ist the one i could recommend. the stuff is so nice, doesnt matter wich kind of problem you have the stuff will help you. they have one of the best kitchen i saw in whole brasil, the doorms are really clean, its not expensive and i could recommend it to everybody who likes to stay in a nice place! i forgot, the breakfast is also very good!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We started our 3 month trip through south america in Rio and decided to stay at Lisetonga Hostel. We were a bit afraid when we read about the hostel being down a favella. In cooperation with this Hostel we booked an economic airport pick up and arrived savely. Finally I think this is one of the safest neighbourhoods you can stay in Rio. It is very close to the beach, to public transport and the hostel is situated in a really nice colonial building, cordially decorated and it offers a nice patio as well as a tower lounge equipped with two hammocks. Staff was really friendly and helpful, breakfast was what you can expect for the price and facilities were in good condition. I really can recommend you this hostel and hope you are going to have such a great time as we had!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Originally, I was supposed to stay at the hostel for two weeks, but I continually extended my stay until the end of my visit to Rio de Janeiro. Staying at the hostel was one of the best decisions I have ever taken. It is my family in Rio: they made sure to help me in any and every way possible. Also, being so close to the favela allowed me to see the hidden face of Brazil. The beach is no more than five minutes from the hostel and oftentimes I would go there to read. Transport is nearby, shops, supermarkets and entertainment is often around the corner. After a while the hill becomes nothing to climb and I've even toned my legs a bit. I really recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lisetonga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisetonga Hostel

Address: Ladeira Ary Barroso, 15 | Leme, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-060, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated, chalet-style house, just three blocks from the beach. We have spacious dorms and private rooms and four beautiful social areas. Come and join us for breakfast on the terrace or chill out in a hammock in the tower lounge with a spectacular view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lisetonga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisetonga Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisetonga Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.