We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BE WARNED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Jack

Banana Jack
Rua Jangadeiros, 6 - Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-010, Brazil
+55 21 25219055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,225 of 9,756 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“BE WARNED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The staff could not be nicer. Everyone was very welcoming and eager to help. However, the food, and beer is terrible. The hamburgers need a lot of help and quality of meat is not good. Ordered their banana beer by mistake. It was not bad, expect every time you take a drink you start look for the fried banana chips you swear are right there, but cannot be seen. Happen to go on the night they were providing live music and additional 10R per person that I am sure was not justified as the band was not very good. LOUD, but don't think anyone told them just because you play bad loudly does not make it better.

Entire dinning experience needs some help, but if all you are looking for is a quick starch-full meal on or after the beach. Good place to try.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    94
    42
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Go Bananas !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I (young-minded 50's !) went here on 5 of the 8 nights we were in Rio. It wasn't just convenient (30-second walk from our apartment) but very good value for money and 'different'.

The average age was well under 30 but it's certainly not like UK 'young people' bars.
Very good attentive service, huge portions (they actually provide a second plate on the basis that people share *) and while most of the selections are burger based (a large variety) there are alternatives such as chicken breast and beef tenderloin. This is NOT a burger joint.

Two large-portioned meals plus 2-3 drinks each came to about 35GBP (50USD) for the two of us.

* You need to share the banana split, it's HUGE, and less than 6GBP.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Aloha Jack so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had dinner there last night - it was okay. It is outside, younger crowd. Drinks served in small plastic cups our server was inattentive. There was nothing special here and you can find better food and drinks else where. Someone was running around in a gorilla suit, not a couples type place, its better with a crowd.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best nachos in Rio de Janeiro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This restaurant is attached to Banana Jack. Stay in front, in General Osorio Place. The name is Aloha Jack. Excellent service, pleasant climate, thematic open (no chance of getting there on rainy days). I consider, the best nachos in Rio de Janeiro. Portion for 2 people. great Price

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“20 real cover charge for our worst experience in Rio!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We walked in our 1st night and they advised 20 cover each. We were looking for a beer so didn't go in. We were looking for entertainment our 3rd night so decided to go for the entertainment and dinner. (No entertainment accept "spin the wheel?"). Girlfriend ordered wine and I ordered a Stella draft from menu 340ml, which arrived in a 25cl glass so I assumed they must adjust the price from the menu price.( they didn't) I ordered chicken Caesar and girlfriend ordered grilled chicken with side Caesar. Two tables arrived and left while we were waiting so we asked one of our 3 waiters (whom we had to wave down for service each time) to check the kitchen. One waiter came out with mine which must have been waiting on the counter for a while and 2 minutes later the other waiter came out with our other order. The chicken was fine (not very hot) but we couldn't eat the salads because of taste and very poor lettuce fir Caesar. We asked for our bill and since the salads had barely been touched the waiter asked if any problem. We showed him the lettuce which looked 'bad'. He came back with the bill, adjusted for the cover charges, which was at least a gesture. This place was all around poor unless you like the 'wheel of fortune'. Never again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Jack also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Banana Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Jack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.