We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20 real cover charge for our worst experience in Rio!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Jack

Banana Jack
Rua Jangadeiros 6, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-010, Brazil
+(55)(21) 2521-9055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,251 of 8,661 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Chester, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“20 real cover charge for our worst experience in Rio!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We walked in our 1st night and they advised 20 cover each. We were looking for a beer so didn't go in. We were looking for entertainment our 3rd night so decided to go for the entertainment and dinner. (No entertainment accept "spin the wheel?"). Girlfriend ordered wine and I ordered a Stella draft from menu 340ml, which arrived in a 25cl glass so I assumed they must adjust the price from the menu price.( they didn't) I ordered chicken Caesar and girlfriend ordered grilled chicken with side Caesar. Two tables arrived and left while we were waiting so we asked one of our 3 waiters (whom we had to wave down for service each time) to check the kitchen. One waiter came out with mine which must have been waiting on the counter for a while and 2 minutes later the other waiter came out with our other order. The chicken was fine (not very hot) but we couldn't eat the salads because of taste and very poor lettuce fir Caesar. We asked for our bill and since the salads had barely been touched the waiter asked if any problem. We showed him the lettuce which looked 'bad'. He came back with the bill, adjusted for the cover charges, which was at least a gesture. This place was all around poor unless you like the 'wheel of fortune'. Never again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    66
    30
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Okay food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nothing was terrible but it wasn't great either. We only went there because we were with someone who really likes these type of restaurants (Chili's, Applebees, etc). It was fine for what it was. Probably won't be returning - not with all the fantastic restaurants around!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
543 reviews 543 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
“A complete disaster in Ipanema”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Banana Jack is located in Ipanema, near its very famous General Osorio Square, where on Sundays you can visit the traditional "Hippie Fair". If you are not aware, you may get inside Banana Jack. I won't waste my time reviewing this authentic tourist trap. Just run away!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Milk shake de Nutella”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food is so so, "junk" style. The atmosphere is not that cool (just too dark), but you can have some fun when they roll the Roullete and you wish to have something for free! One thing is worthwhile: the banana with Nutella milkshake, you won't find it anywhere else.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food, but service is a total disaster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Banana Jack offers an interesting informal ambience and good burger options for those missing good portions of burgers, hot dogs and french fries. They also put up some tables outdoors sometimes (and call it Aloha Jack -- kind of a sister restaurant) with torches lit which look great. However, their service is really bad. My dish took so long to come to the table and in the end I was almost cancelling it when the waitress said that it was ready and if I cancelled it, they would have to throw it away. Then I agreed to wait 2 more minutes and it came. Luckily, other 2 friends had ordered desserts, so I wasn't eating alone. Other than that, it's a good option in Ipanema for those seeking burgers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Jack also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Banana Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Jack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.