We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, pricy, (too) small portions ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vero

Vero
Rua Visconde De Piraja 260, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-000, Brazil (Ipanema)
+55 (21) 34978754
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 8,677 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Ipanema
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty, pricy, (too) small portions ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Good icecream, but the portions are very small - fitting exactly the cup, nothing sticks out of it :-( so, cost/benefit ratio is only so-so. The icecream tastes good, but they miss on the experience aspect: no wafer cones and lab-measured portions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    41
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Best tiramisu Ice cream I have ever tasted anywhere (including Italy). They also have amazing choices of chocolate ice creams, but I would stay away from white acai, or at least ask for a taste before buying

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“best icecream shop in ipanema”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Yummy Italian gelatos with amazing flavors ! We almost went every night. Very friendly, english spoken young staff ...Highly recommended !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An Ice Cream Addicts Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I would eat ice cream every day if I could, and I only like the good stuff. Don't give me chemical flavors, fake colors or a sugar rush! In Brazil, where desserts tend to run on the sickly sweet side, I'm always skeptical of every ice cream spot. But Vero knows what they are doing.

They have sophisticated flavors with a local twist. My favorite was the 70% chocolate with Brazilian cachaca/rum. The coconut sets new standards. Even a traditionalist can't argue with the stracciatella.

At something like 9BRL a scoop and 12 for a double ($4.50-6USD) I wouldn't necessarily take every kid in the neighborhood. If you're just looking for "Ice cream" they squirt the stuff out of machines on nearly every corner for about 6BRL ($3)

One other thing to know, they make all of their ice cream right in the shop. There's a monitor to prove it. Sometimes when I arrived a bit early (10:30 in the morning!) for my first ice cream fix, the very helpful moca (waitress, sales clerk, etc.) would disappear through a door and I'd see her reappear on the screen, talking with the woman mixing up all the ingredients. Sometimes the moca would come back and tell me that the flavor I wanted would be ready in about an hour. And it was always worth the wait.

Unfortunately there aren't any tables for lingering over your treat. You'll have to make do with a few benches. Their website, in Portuguese, says they're open Monday-Saturday from 10:30-10:30 and on Sundays from 11:30-10:30.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“What a refreshing change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Sick and tired of all of the frozen yoghurt places? go to Vero, a true italian gelatto store, with a very brasilian touch. they only use fresh ingredients, and some would surprise u. one that surprised me was aipim with coco. lots of brasilian fruits. a bit pricey, but home made and worth it.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vero also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Vero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.