We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream house, and you get a thigh workout walking there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Bianca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Guesthouse Bianca to your Saves list
Guesthouse Bianca
Rua Murtinho Nobre 35, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20.241-050, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Dream house, and you get a thigh workout walking there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Sanata Teresa is a village inside a city. It's like being in a European cobblestoned haven of quiet and this majestic house looks don on the noise below.

When we arrived a TV show crew had taken over the house filming the final episode of Louco por Elas and the white house had been painted a pinkish colour. That, together with giant dogs lolling around and a pair of parrots in the palm tree outside gave it quite a Durrell-ian feel.

The decor in the house is Wallpaper magazine standard. Features include a stunner of a chandelier which some annex of Versaille is probably missing, white marble and many pretty stain glass windows. The parquet flooring was especially lovely.

The room was large, comfortable and the bathroom was tasteful with little touches like a jar of cotton wool. Breakfast is either help yourself to fruit and coffee of take a voucher for the cafe round the corner for a cheese roll, juice and coffee.

The village itself is high up above the Gloria area of Rio. There is not enough to distract in Santa Teresa for more than a day so be prepared to walk up and down hills or a never ending staircase or take taxis and occasional trams.

This is a different perspective on Rio life and one not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
93
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at Guesthouse Bianca for 5 days. we loved the experience to stay in Santa Teresa! We felt pretty safe, was our concern before arrive but for our surprise, I felt safe not only in Santa Teresa but in Rio as well. Could not be a better decision to stay at Guesthouse Bianca. The house is amazing, beauuuuutiful, the rooms is well decorated, our bedroom were big and very comfortable, the bathroom were brand new. we stayed at the mango tree room. They cleaned our room every day. We really felt at home. Guido is a very nice guy and very helpful. We loved to stay there and definitely we will come back again. Thank you Guido for having us at your place. Luciana & Gino :)

Room Tip: I loved our room, mango tree room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Guesthouse Bianca is a beautiful old house in a charming neighborhood at the top of Santa Teresa, on a leafy street with a park, museum and gardens nearby. The host and owner, Guido, made us feel as though we were his personal guests. He was willing to spend time with us answering questions, chatting over coffee in the morning, and helping with anything we needed help with. The place is at the top of a hill off a winding cobblestone road and seems, when you first arrive, off the beaten track, but there's bus and metro service at the bottom of the hill and a wonderful little cluster of bars and restaurants just a couple of blocks from the guesthouse. Our stay at Guesthouse Bianca was our last stop on our trip to Brazil and the place itself was the highlight of our time in Rio. The beautiful views, the lovely garden and peaceful surroundings are some of our best memories of our trip.

Room Tip: There are only 3 or 4 rooms and I think only two of them have good views. I'd check into this b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

"Bianca" guesthouse is one of the most beautiful places i have ever stayed in.
my husband and i have stayed there for 3 nights, and we wish we could have stayed longer.
we loved the tastefully decorated house and rooms, and the relaxed vibe just from staying there. The air conditioned room was spacious, with a small balcony, excellent bed and sheets, a hammock and the best view and sun light you can get in a room. our private bathroom, even thou just outside the room, was spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast served in the guest house is fruits and coffee plus we got a breakfast coupon for a sandwich squeezed orange juice and coffee in the best place in Santa Teresa, 30 seconds walk from the guest house. the breakfast place is also full with character, good food and great view and we enjoyed it very much.
Guido, the host, had both patient and good answers to our question, he made us feel very welcome, and hes also a very funny guy and he is a joy to talk to.
we loved Santa Theresa neighborhood , it was a very good location to us, close to Lapa, and it was easy getting anywhere we wanted to in Rio.
We would definitely return to "bianca" when we will return to Rio.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Wonderful house and we loved Santa Teresa, the pefect choice for our needs. Our room was simple and not full of the mod con's but was comfortable and clean, and we would definitely stay here again if visiting Rio!

Guido is very welcoming and accomodating, and was very helpful and even allowed us to wait in the house after check-in, as we had a late flight booked home.

Two things to be aware of that I wasnt unaware of there were 2 large dogs in the house and my partner was a little scared but once the dogs know who you are they are fine and secondly I didnt know that breakfast was provided off site (at a nearby cafe) and on the first morning, we had no idea and not wanting to be rude after 30mins off talking to Guido he then took us for breakfast, on another occasion Guido was out and hadn't left us vouchers for breakfast.

But they are just minor hicups which wouldnt stop me from choosing to stay here, its like a home from home - I felt like a resident and I sure a very different experience to staying near the touristy beaches and not something we wanted to be in the middle of.

The Feijoada and capirinhas at Bar do Mineiro were to die for (we went 3 out of our 5 nights! and still talk about it now)! also a very nice coffee shop a few doors up, you need to go up set of stairs and outside seating they do the best sandwiches and coffee we had in Brazil.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the guesthouse for 5 days over New Year's. Guido was a very accomodating host. We made all arrangements over the internet and he was quick to reply to all questions. He arranged for pick up at the airport. When we realized we did not have metro tickets to go down to the Beach for new year's eve (there were sold out) he quickly phoned around and found a pair from a neighbour. We stayed in the sugar loaf room and found the balcony and ensuite bathroom very comfortable. The Santa Teresa area was peaceful and the house is beautiful; if you like staying in character places this is for you. We found the metro easy to use. We would return here if we ever come again to Rio.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

Guesthouse Bianca is the best place to stay in Rio. The house is a million dollar luxurious mansion -- beautifully decorated, marble, old world hardwoods, stained glass. Very private rooms with modern amenities; new bathrooms and kitchens. Beautiful garden. Next to a fantastic park with a 360 degree view of all of Rio. Convenient 10-15 minute walk down cobblestone streets to the Gloria subway stop. Wake up to the birds in the mango tree with Sugar Loaf in the backdrop. Absolutely fantastic at a most reasonable price. Rio is not just touristic Copacabana Beach, yet it's no problem to get to Copacabana from this Santa Teresa location. Highly highly highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bianca

Address: Rua Murtinho Nobre 35, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20.241-050, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Bianca is one of the only places in all of Rio de Janeiro from which you can enjoy a true bohemian neighborhood, the chic beaches of the south, the bustling city center, the infamous viewpoints, and the non stop nightlife - all from the luxury of a private home surrounded by a tropical garden.  The newly renovated home was built in 1932 and is located on a quiet residential street in the heart of Santa Teresa, considered by many to be the most charming cultural and historical neighborhood in all of Rio.  Guests are only a 5 minute walk to countless restaurants, bars, shops, bus and tram stops, and just a 10 minute walk to Rio's ever expanding metro system. The three rooms are exquisitely appointed and furnished, two of which boast stunning views of the Bay of Guanabara and Sugar Loaf.  The private guest entrance is through the lush garden, where you can find mango, coconut and goiaba trees, bromeliads, orchids, not to mention countless tropical birds and the occasional monkey. All of the rooms have elegant private bathrooms, inlaid hardwood floors, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and free wireless Internet. On the ground floor, guests have their own dining room and a self-catering kitchenette where they are welcome to prepare light meals and drinks.  Guesthouse Bianca's gracious host, Guido, is a native Cariocan and has lived in Rio all his life.  He speaks English, French and Italian and is always available to give tips on Rio, or join guests for a homemade piece of cake or a cachaca on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse Bianca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Bianca Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Guesthouse Bianca Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Bianca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.