We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

*Award Winner* Ipanema Designer 1 Bedroom

red occasional chair: coffee nook
red occasional chair: coffee nook
red occasional chair: coffee nook
living room with large LCD flatscreen, DVD player, and Ipod dock
living room
living room
living room / dining area
Rio de Janeiro
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mariaorti...
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment, ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I visited Rio for the Rio+20 Conference. Needless to say, all the hotels were extremely pricey, and I really appreciated that the owner, Michael, didn't raise the price that he had listed (as many other had done).
This apartment was perfect, clean and tastefully decorated.
The location is ideal, 5 minute walk to restaurants, shops, buses, metro stop, and it's next to a hospital (but the road is overall quiet). Take a 10-minute walk and you are on the beach!
Gabriel, the manager, was super kind, and replied to all my questions in a timely and professional manner. The guard at the door is also super sweet and helpful.
I will definitely recommend this apartment, this was a truly lucky find!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2012
It was a pleasure to provide for your accommodation needs through the Rio + 20 Conference Maria. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Brisbane
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 29, 2012
We were so pleased you had a great visit with us Greg. Hope to see you again! Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
PriceKM
Stilwell, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great 1 bedroom - clean and modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Our trip was great, as was the apartment. The place was wonderful - clean, quiet and easy to access. Great neighborhood and both Gabriel and the doormen were super. Our daughter arranged a "Meet the Parents" for her friends from the consulate one evening and everyone commented on how nice the apartment was and asked how we found it. She stayed over one night and found the sofa bed just fine. I'd definitely return.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2012
We are so pleased the apartment met all your needs Kate. We await your return!! Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Dawn_Nade...
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Apartment in a Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Loved, loved, loved this great little apartment! Booking was easy. The location was awesome. It only took 5 minutes to walk to the beach. We were also within walking distance to Copacabana and Leblon and some wonderful restaurants. We especially enjoyed the Terzotto (sp??) Coffee Bar when we didn’t feel like making our own breakfast.
The apartment itself was very clean, modern, and well-equipped. There were a couple of TVs so we didn’t have to fight over what to watch – which came in handy when it rained. We also made use of the two ipod docs.
Michael, the owner, and Gabriel, the local manager were very courteous and helpful. It was our first trip to Rio and it was reassuring having them available to answer our many, many questions.
We would love to return with our teenagers but the size of the apartment is not appropriate for a family of four. However it is absolutely perfect for a couple or single travelers.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not big in enough for to return with my whole family
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you Dawn. Hope to see you again soon! Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jared-12
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Expectations not fulfilled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Positive:
location of the apartment is good
Gabriel was very helpful
reasonable price for an Ipanema apartment
building was safe

Negative:
towels and sheets weren’t clean on arrival
apartment wasn’t spotless (refrigerator, a lot of dust under the bed, closets,…)
a lot of human hair that wasn't ours

We were disappointed in the fact that Michael (the owner) wouldn't let us write a review. When he asked us how our stay was, we gave honest and constructive feedback. Afterwards we asked for a link so we could put our feedback on the TripAdvisor website but he replied that he didn't want to impose upon us to write a review because we were not completely satisfied with our visit. So although we explicitly asked for a link to be able to write a review, we got nothing. I gave this apartment an average rating but this some very poor behaviour. Michael, if you don't want to get negative feedback make sure that your apartment meets certain standards instead of censoring feedback that is not 100% how you like it to be.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Overall cleanliness
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments Jared. At all times we endeavour to provide the hightest quality service as the ratings by multiple past guests clearly show. Very recently, we have gone through some maid staff changes resulting in temporary interruptions in our usual service. We are happy to report that all issues have been addressed and corrected. We always encourage feedback as demonstrated by your review and we are happy for the opportunity to do better. We continue to be the leading rental property for our category in Ipanema. We would be pleased to serve you again in the future. All the best, Michael.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Rabiya and Shez
Canada
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
3
people found this review helpful
4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2012
Thank you Shez and Rabiya. It was a pleasure to serve you!! Come back soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Sao Paulo
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
3
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2011
You are always welcome Cecilia. Abracao. Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$99
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Michael F
Speaks English, French, Portuguese
Listed since : Nov 2010
Response Rate: 20 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing