We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet haven but close to the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Quinta Rosa to your Saves list
Quinta Rosa
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Santa Cristina 104 | Santa Terasa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro CEP 20241-250, Brazil (Santa Teresa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #59 of 250 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Barnet, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet haven but close to the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Was in Rio de Janeiro recently for this year’s Carnival and stayed in the Quinta Rosa Recidencias. Elena the manager who greeted us was really friendly and helpful and she spoke English!!

Our room, which was clean with modern style furniture, overlooked a lush garden and a small, longish bath-tub like swimming pool. Better still if you happen to get up early in the morning, as we did, you will be rewarded with a view of a beautiful sunrise over the distant Guanabara Bay with the Sugar Loaf Mountain and surrounding buildings silhouetted in the foreground.

Quinta Rosa is up the cobbled Rua Santa Catarina, in the Santa Teresa area. The underground Metro Gloria is not far away downhill and we found taxis inexpensive. We did walk up the slope a couple of times and once even braved going up on one of those motorbikes which we found awaiting passengers at the bottom of the road (seemed quite safe)!

Breakfast though was a climb further up the road to the sister hotel, Quinta Azul. However the fare, including fresh fruit juices, made going the extra distance worthwhile. Other unexpected pluses were the free WiFi and complimentary drinks.

All in all we were very happy with our accommodation and with the service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, General Manager at Quinta Rosa, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending your precious time to fill in this feedback.

Every guest is a Valued Guest, and we were delighted to be your chosen pousada during your recent stay in Rio.

We sincerely appreciate every detail mentioned about your stay with us!

Kind regards,

Elena Oliveira
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed at Quinta Rosa for the Carnival - great location in Santa Theresa, with a local atmosphere away from the main tourist drag of Copacabana. We particularly enjoyed the garden with its views of Pao Azucar and the bay - if you rise early enough you will be treated to a spectacular multi-coloured sunrise. The lap-pool in the garden is handy to work off the pounds gained at the churascarias and kilo restaurants. Staff were cheerful and very helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, General Manager at Quinta Rosa, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are all very glad to know that you have enjoyed Quinta Rosa, its location, facilities and service.

Santa Teresa is really ideal for an exciting stay or just for relaxation and activities.

We sincerely hope we can host you again in anear future.

Kind regards,

Elena Oliveira.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed in Quinta Rosa in May 2011 over a long week end and were quite (not to say very) disapointed by the quality of the room/mini-appartment we got. It did not look anything like the pictures (apart from the bathroom) and was quite dark and humid (located in a sort of basement). The premises were not particularly well looked after and although the few people we met were friendly enough, we cannot say that they were overly present or service minded. Very overpriced in relation to what it is!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, Front Office Manager at Quinta Rosa, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Client,

We feel we need to respond your commnets, so this way we have the opportunity to defend ourselves.

Indeed, your comments do not reflect in any way a real opinion on our Pousada, we would like to inform you that we have big rooms exactly how it shows on our website pictures. And there is no basement around or even closer to the rooms.

Elena de Oliveira
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Quinta Rosa in late November 2011 and loved every minute of it. This was our first visit to Rio and we wanted to avoid the tourist drag. The residential area of St. Teresa turned out to be perfect. It's full of culture, art, and local life, and it's a 5 minute taxi ride to Lapa - Rio's vibrant party scene. The room at Quinta Rosa is spacious and has good facilities - we even had a view out of our window onto the Sugar Loaf (as well as favelas, which, by the way, are no cause for concern. It's all perfectly safe and, if in doubt, just grab a taxi when coming back from late-night out).

Our hosts, Elena and Sandro were really great. Very helpful and always fun to chat to. I was particularly impressed when Sandro helped me register at a local gym for the duration of my stay, even taking me there in his car.

Quinta Rosa has only a small number of rooms, but they have a sister B&B, Quinta Azul. We used to go there in the morning to have breakfast as it offers a cosy patio and beautiful views. Elena manages this one also, so you'd be in good hands.

All in all, a great place to stay in Rio!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moviemakerlondon, General Manager at Quinta Rosa, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Quinta Rosa Residence.

We greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding our service, atmosphere and beautiful gardens.

Sandro is very happy to know you liked very much his service.

We all look forward to welcoming you soon!

best wishes,

Elena Oliveira
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Last minute trip to Rio proved very challenging finding traditional hotel. Decided to try B&B, in particular something close to central business district. Quinta Rosa reviews were good so gave it a shot. Could not have been more pleased. Wonderful staff--thank you Elena for all the help. Great location with many charming, local restaurants in immediate area. Definitely recommend Quinta Rosa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Having stepped out of a suite on a 16 day cruise from Europe my fears of accommodation from my last trip to Rio were allayed when I checked into this historic piece of Rio's past in Santa Teresa. The views of Sugar Loaf were superb only surpassed by the ambiance and setting. The discrete staff were happy to assist in any way they were able. The lap pool was exactly what was required for some gentle exercise and our bedroom was spotless.
Will be telling all our friends back home about this great place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

It was hard for us to find a good place to stay in Rio, we have checked a great amount of hotels in Copacobana, Ipanema and so on.. but when we saw Quinta Rosa on Trip Advisor, we have decided that we want to book a room there. After our trip we can honestly say that Quinta Rosa is a marvellous place to stay! The area of this residence is very beautiful, there is a nice garden with a terrace and swimming pool, the territory is closed via keys and there is a guard. But actually Santa Teresa is very calm and safe area in Rio (it was also one of the main points for us in order to stay there). Every day we saw a fantastic sunrise right from our window with a view of Sugar Loaf. In a room there was everything necessary: a big comfortable bed, a wardrobe, towels, fridge, free wi-fi internet, condition, hair dryer, two tables, tableware and so on. It was cleaned every day. The breakfast was also nice, there were different fresh juices and fruits, eggs, various kinds of bread, cheese, ham, yogurts, ect. Elena, her son and assistants are very attentive, always helped us in many questions. They speak good english unlike others we have met in Rio, so there were no misunderstandings. Before our arrival Elena has suggested us to book a transfer and she has found for us a guide who speaks Russian which was very kind of her! Also if you need to change money, there is no problem. Quinta Rosa has a pleasant and domestic atmosphere and we had a great pleasure to stay there! When we decide to go to Rio again we will choose Quinta Rosa for sure! Thank you very much! Lina&Natalia

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Rosa

Address: Rua Santa Cristina 104 | Santa Terasa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro CEP 20241-250, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinta Rosa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a pool overlooking the Sugar Loaf Mountain and featuring free Wi-Fi connection, Quinta Rosa Boutique is a 10-minute drive from the Santos Dumont Airport. Copacabana Beach and Ipanema Beach are 20 minutes away by car. A apartment for up to 4 people, located next to Lago dos Guimaraes( Center Santa Teresa) . 2 Bedrooms (one are en suite), with double bed in both of bedrooms (with possibility to make a twin beds), kitchen with stove, refrigerator and kitchen cabinets, living room with sofa and desk and TV LCD, air conditioning, wifi Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Quinta Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Rosa Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.